Breaking Up Hurts. There's a Pill For That and it's in Your Cabinet

in #health7 years ago (edited)

When the one you love rejects you, there is no pain in comparison. A broken heart physically hurts.

The pain is real.

The same areas of your brain are triggered during a romantic breakup as during physical trauma. Neurological imaging from functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging (fMRI) scans show that pain caused by a loved one hurting you activates the pain centers of your brain as exactly as when you break an arm, have a toothache, or severely burn yourself.

Located an inch behind the forehead, the anterior cingulate cortex perceives the pain from a heartbreak the same as that of bodily harm. We say "I'm crushed", or "he/she hurt me" because the feeling is literally painful. Neurologically all pain is recognized the same by the body. This holds true for animals as well. They feel pain when abandoned or rejected by their owners or pack.

Taking this into account it doesn't seem so farfetched to learn that the pain of a breakup can be reduced by taking Tylenol.

In addition to lessening the pain of rejection, researchers found that acetaminophen change peoples moral judgments. They become less indecisive and internal emotional and moral conflict is quieted.

The ability to induce subtle shifts of perspective gives new meaning to Tylenol's slogan- “Feel better.”

Images via Creative Commons and Sutherland Labs

shaded line.jpeg

animated-dividing-line-image-0032

animated-arrow-image-0314 ATTENTION: All Creative Writers, Publishers and Artists!

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

Stop the Senseless Murder of Inspiration and Creativity!
~
Recognize and Destroy your Limiting Behavior to Success!
~
August 21 Eclipse is making people crazy!
~
A Deer Named Kitten and Your Steemit Comfort Zone
~
Eliminating Toxic People is the Best Gift you Can Give Yourself
~
The Dangers of Dishonesty
~
Argue With A Tree and Be a Better Writer!
~
Everyday Erotica 3
~
Help me celebrate my birthday with jokes and memes!
~
The Recipe for Steemit Success
~
True Horror! Eyes of Fire

I love you guys, I really do :) And I truly appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

upvote resteem follow.gif

Sort:  

The image of the ripping heart pretty much sums it up.

Yes, very appropriate.

This is a fascinating find. I never would have imagined a simple Tylenol could help ease the pain of a breakup...

The trick now is I have to find a friend and ask her if she would like to take part in a social experiment; Date for a few months and then break up. One of us can use Tylenol and one can not... see who recovers faster.

Or might be taking it too far.

So what happens if you two are so perfect for each other and cannot bear to split? Will you take the pill for the sake o' science?

Breaking up is hard to do, takes on a new meaning in your post. No matter how old, how young or whether male or female the hurt is the same. Having been around the block a few times I can attest to the suffering. I can remember being 8 or 9 years old and being rejected by the girl I fell for in a big way. I have always worn my my heart on my sleeve so have had my fair share of heartbreak. These days, after many years of marriage I can say that those extremes of emotion have settled down a bit. Rejection however always hurts. Next time I will try a Tylenol. Have a great day.

Being in a happy marriage is actually so very good for your health. Married men live longer (probably because they have us ladies to care for them) :p

I hope your day is beautiful <3

Thank you very much for your reply. You are quite right we do owe so much to our wives. We would be lost without them. (At least I would) 50th anniversary next year so we must have done something right. :)

Oh wow! That is big. Congratulations in advance <3

Brilliant post.I didn't know that pain from a breakup was as real as physical pain. Great explanation. Upvoted and resteemed

Interesting, huh?!

Thank you <3

good post.
upvote.

Thank you <3

And wonderful meeting you :)

I feel full body pain from inflammation for every little thing. I love that you are sharing a reality here; that we can ease our emotional suffering by easing our physical symptoms sometimes (and vice versa).

If so, not diagnosed and mild according to what I know about it. My body has always been highly reactive to stress. I suspect it's more trigger of body memories of physical abuse.

I'm the same way.

They would probably diagnose it as such. It feels like a dismissive blanket statement to me.

I am wondering which actually hurts worst, the emotional or the physical. A headache can disappear in couple minutes to hours even without medicine. Breakups are deeply rooted. Physical and emotional medicine are needed. Sometimes after the heartache and physical scars heal and leave, that feeling of rejection lingers on for the rest of lives.

In the end though, if some Tylenol can help ease some of it, pass me a pill. The emotional can be dealt with time.

I'm still reading these studies, they began in 2009 but there's been many experiments.

If the pill can ease the initial physically pain, you can focus on the emotional- and can do things to slowly ease that while not having the physical in your face overpowering...

If only there was a pill! I would invest every dime I have!

Tylenol is proven to help the pain, take the edge off. That's pretty amazing news if you think about it!

Interesting story I have tried so many things, I always give to much,and when things don't work out the pain is much too, But I'm running to the bathroom to get some Tylenol right know 🏃🏻💆🏻‍♂️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52