Argue With a Tree to Be a Better Writer

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Do you know what makes a writer good?

Can it be found in "Writing 101" books? Well, a bit of it can, like grammar and punctuation.

But that's not what I'm talking about. Those are the basics. That's like the lawyer passing the bar exam. Sure, he can trial in theory. He knows the logistics and rules. But he does not know how to argue effectively. Or how to read a witness. Those are things that will not be taught in books. Those are things that he can only develop by looking within himself, first. One cannot know how to spot a liar lest one has lied themselves. But first he must know his truth- first, admit to himself that he did lie, and second, the deep truths as to how and why.

The key to being a good writer is to be honest with yourself. To know your truth. I can research all day and write about male platypus toenail fungus. Sure, the information I share will probably help someone. And I tend to drop a funny in even the most serious subjects so I might be able to coax a laugh outta you. Hell, I may even make a few bucks.

But it'll be just that. A textbook article on male platypus toenail fungus. There will be no passion. Readers will get their information, cure their duck billed fur baby, and move on.

When you know your truth, who you are and what makes you, well you, you not only sweep all bullshit aside, you set fire to all unnecessaries and let them turn to ash in the burn pile in the backyard. You arson the shit outta all the limiting ideas like "Will they like it" or "What will make it to the trending page" and "What if I add this- will my rewards be greater?"

When you know your truth you will write from your heart. You will write with a fire that burns longer and hotter than that trash blaze out back. Your passion will blast out of the page and into your readers hearts. You will be memorable.

Because you know your truth.

Now toss the platypus article in the recycle bin and go outside and argue with a tree until you know your truth.

Images via Creative Commons and Giphy

shaded line.jpeg

animated-dividing-line-image-0032

animated-arrow-image-0314 Why I Quit Steemit, and Why You Should Too

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

A Deer Named Kitten and Your Steemit Comfort Zone
~
Eliminating Toxic People is the Best Gift you Can Give Yourself
~
The Dangers of Dishonesty
~
ATTENTION: All Creative Writers, Publishers and Artists!
~
To Keep Her, (Steemit)You Gotta...
~
Stop the Senseless Murder of Inspiration and Creativity!
~
Everyday Erotica 2
~
Everyday Erotica 3
~
Help me celebrate my birthday with jokes and memes!
~
How Important is Touch, Really
~
Rescue Kitten Photos Shoot- Gizmo
~
Heat Exhaustion Kills- what to watch for

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

I love you guys, I really do :) And I truly appreciate your support :)

upvote resteem follow.gif

Sort:  

about male platypus toenail fungus

I lol'd here and again when I saw Perry, the second platypus! :). Thanks for the entertaining article.

I'm glad to be in good company, because I also lol'd.

To be fair, to some that may be the most important topic this side of the Nississippi ;)

lol, I'm glad I got a laugh outta you :D

And I was just about to hit 'post' too!

The best blogs are the ones you can't find in a book, like this one for example 😁

You have me blushing :D

Thank you <3

Interesting post. What you explained is the real reason why some authors are more successful than others :)

If you can't be true to yourself, how can you be true to anyone else?

And it truly does show thru on paper and screen- just like when you know someone's lying to your face :)

You have the wisdom of a druid milady! I will take your advice and go yell at a couple of oaks down the street from house! Though I'm positive my neighbors will think I'm off my meds and report me to the cops. @trendhobo

Ah, perhaps I wasn't clear- arguing with is one thing. But when you yell at the tree you will be reported to the Department of Plant and Tree Services for abuse... and then you have a whole set of new problems...

Thank you <3

Haha!! Yeah, I'm still working on that whole arsoning the shit out of my limiting ideas when I write! Steemit's such a fab platform to be working on this though. :)

Dudette, I'm so happy I stumbled upon Steemit! There's no more supportive, encouraging, or positive community out there :)

Yup, 100%. :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83