Eyes of Fire

in #story7 years ago

True Horror inspired by last nights events.

The lights flickered once. Twice. Then darkness. The hums that affirm your connection to the world suddenly cease, and your ears entertain a subtle buzz to remind you how accustomed you are to the sound of electricity, and how much noise there actually is in the world.

The breaker was halfway across the property in the shed.

I stumbled around the corner for the flashlight. “I need you to come with me to the shed,” I told Chad.

We stood on the deck as I swept the property with the beam, looking for eyes reflecting back at me.

“Where’s the shed?” Chad asked. I pointed the light through the yard to the peeling brown paint of a tired wall. “All the way over there?” His innocent honesty defied his protective manliness and made me smile.

“Yeah,” my voice soft to not disturb the silence. “C’mon, we need to hurry.”

It was too dark for shadows. Not a cricket chirp nor a brush rustle broke the overbearing quiet.

I noted the humor in how you walk slow when outside in the dark.

The light wavered and was gone. I paused in the translucent black nothing. I hit the big black piece of plastic with my free hand and it blinked in shock that I had awakened it at such a late hour.

Two more tentative steps preceded by long sweeps of the area and it went out again.

This time I smacked it twice. How dare it be disobedient at a time like this.

We continued on, slowly but steadily.

The woods held its breath.

I flashed toward the billow that caught my attention, then rolled my internal eyes- the hovering white mass was just Chad’s exhaled vapor, suspended like an apparition in the still night.

I allowed myself more ease with each step nearer the shed.

My breath caught and I froze upon reflecting a pair of orange eyes.

“There’s something there“ I grabbed a handful of Chads sleeve and fixed the light on the eerie eyes.

“Where?”

Right there, in between the trees.”

Chad adjusted his height and followed my gaze down the glow of the light path. “I don’t see anything.”

I grasped the handle tighter as if that would help him see. I watched hard, poised for any movement. It's orange eyes glowed fiercely.

The creature stared directly at us.

“Right there,” I whisper yelled, “look right in between the v of that tree.” How could he not see it!

The thing did not move. Just the occasional blink to break the stare.

I held the beam steady.

“Oh! I see it!” I felt his tension leave, “It’s probably just a raccoon.”

“It’s way bigger than a raccoon! Look at how far apart it’s eyes are!”

Chad did not respond.

I kept the light trained on the eyes of fire. I took a tentative step toward the shed. I still needed to turn the power on. Thoughts raced furiously- in my mind the creature was an alpha wolf who leapt across the half acre in just a few effortless bounds. My brain considered the math- speed times distance divided by probabilities…

I'm not one that's easily startled. Unless I'm alone. When it's quiet and dark, and no ones around, sometimes my mind can get away from me as my imagination makes everything bigger.

But I wasn't alone. This was justified!

We crept closer to the shed, Chads sleeve grasped tightly in my hand; my breath just as tight in my throat.

I didn't watch where we were going. I watched the creature.

My heart beat in my skull.

My senses straining at full attention.

Suddenly the creature stood tall and moved towards us.

“Fuck that.” I yanked Chad backward as he laughed in response. “Oh hell no, hurry!”

We quickened toward the darkened shape of my house. “Is it coming after us?” He asked.

The light still shone in the creatures direction but the orchard was now in the way. “I don’t know!”

Up the stairs, into the house and secure the door.

We breathed for a moment.

I felt Chad laughing silently. I couldn’t determine if it was at me or the situation.

“That's definitely not a raccoon.” I affirmed, now safely behind inches of wood and plaster. “With it being all the way on the other side and it’s eyes so fa-"

Thwack

The crack of the metal screen slammed against the door.

td.png

Images via Pixabay and Creative Commons

shaded line.jpeg

animated-dividing-line-image-0032

animated-arrow-image-0314 Why I Quit Steemit, and Why You Should Too

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

The Recipe for Steemit Success
~
A Deer Named Kitten and Your Comfort Zone
~
Eliminating Toxic People is the Best Gift you Can Give Yourself
~
The Dangers of Dishonesty
~
Argur With A Tree and Be a Better Writer!
~
ATTENTION: All Creative Writers, Publishers and Artists!
~
To Keep Her, (Steemit)You Gotta...
~
Stop the Senseless Murder of Inspiration and Creativity!
~
Everyday Erotica 3
~
Help me celebrate my birthday with jokes and memes!
~
Rescue Kitten Photos Shoot- Gizmo
~
How Important is Touch, Really
~

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

I love you guys, I really do :) And I truly appreciate your support :)

upvote resteem follow.gif

Sort:  

Nice piece, @arbitrarykitten. Your writing grabs me, and that's not easy.

Thank you so much. That truly means a lot to me :)

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Hi kitten, could you please link to the post of medicine you ve mentioned, I can't find it

Oh, you mean the post about the AMA ad FDA? Yes, https://steemit.com/story/@arbitrarykitten/10-things-i-learned-from-being-a-victim-of-the-american-medical-association

Hope it gives some insight to why they do what they do...

Good luck!

Congratulations @arbitrarykitten! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

"Based on a true story" are always the best ones! Very entertaining... as usual!

I am totally transported by this piece.

Thank you. Hearing that means a lot <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56905.43
ETH 2398.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26