To Build Your House You Must Destroy Limiting Behavior

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

I was wary about telling people about my idea to build a tiny house as an investment and teaching opportunity for my children. Many thoughts swam through such as people would think I would fail or call me out for being stupid because I know nothing about building.

I squashed these thoughts. They are a prime example of Limiting Behavior.

When tiny houses first came into my reality, I fell in lust immediately. The beautiful photos accompanied with stories of how simple it was to live in this new movement turned me on something fierce. I’ll admit it. I even created a website around Tiny Houses, and sold it for a decent profit a year later.

But it ended up being true love. After the honeymoon period I was still itching to build my tiny house. I drew and erased and drew plans until I had the perfect design to fit my needs. I dreamed different interior designs, researched toilets and showers, and pictured myself living in my tiny house. I decided on whitewashed wood and practiced the technique. I read instructions on everything from insulation to window applications.

I put the ring on it- I was in this for the long haul.

A huge bonus is my boys would learn important building and home repair skills. A plan formed: we begin building the tiny house now, and it will be live-in ready by the time my youngest goes off to college.

I am aware of the potential setbacks of course. As a single mom with no child support I do not have a spare dime that does not go to our absolute survival. So acquiring certain materials for the house, and even getting it started, will be quite the difficult task. However, I am choosing not to let that squash my dream to build my house.

You cannot be afraid to fail. People don’t care if you fail. It happens all the time and how many of your friends’ startups that failed do you think about on a constant basis.

Nobody cares if you fail! Only you! And if you fail, just brush yourself off and start again.

Do not let limiting behavior stop your dreams.

I can't wait until I can begin building my house :) It'll be quite the adventure!

Images with Permission by Tiny Hall House

shaded line.jpeg

animated-dividing-line-image-0032

animated-arrow-image-0314 Why I Quit Steemit, and Why You Should Too

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

A Deer Named Kitten and Your Steemit Comfort Zone
~
Eliminating Toxic People is the Best Gift you Can Give Yourself
~
The Dangers of Dishonesty
~
Argur With A Tree and Be a Better Writer!
~
ATTENTION: All Creative Writers, Publishers and Artists!
~
To Keep Her, (Steemit)You Gotta...
~
Stop the Senseless Murder of Inspiration and Creativity!
~
Everyday Erotica 3
~
Help me celebrate my birthday with jokes and memes!
~
The Recipe for Steemit Success
~
True Horror! Eyes of Fire

I love you guys, I really do :) And I truly appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

animated-dividing-line-image-0110

Sort:  

All the best with your project, @arbitrarykitten. Your tenacity is inspiring! I have no doubts in my mind that you will make the dream of your house a reality. And the next time I fail, I'll remember this post, and that I'm the only one that cares... and that I ought to fail more, until I finally succeed!

Thank you! I'm so glad to hear that :)

Yes, there is no success without failure!

Love this post. Limiting beliefs are real! And it's wild when you realize the ones you have. I did a post a couple hours ago about another limiting thing in our people's lifes. The Sunk Cost Fallacy!

Good luck with the house, there will be set backs and breakthroughs, but in the hand I am sure it will be awesome!

Hi! Good to see you!

The Sunk Cost Fallacy, huh? I'm going to have to check that out...

Thanks for stopping by <3

This post recieved a vote from @minnowpond. For more information click https://steemit.com/steemit/@minnowpond/boost-your-rewards-with-minnowpond

I'm on this path too, but I was thinking more along the lines of: http://www.pacific-coast-cabins.com

Those look cool! Warm and inviting...

They are made of reclaimed redwood and can be disassembled/reassembled in different locations. I kind of love those cabins...

Yea, I really like them

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Tiny homes are a total movement .. there are even tiny home communities.. the cost of housing is driving many out of the market and others want mobility. I am back and forth which to start with airstream or tiny house. LOl

Lol! I want both actually! I have a thing for airstreams ;) Have you seen that tiny one just coming out onto the market?

Good luck with this 'tiny' project. They are rather cool on the pictures, is it best that you aren't 190 cm tall though?!

I'm 157.5 cm tall, so I think I'm golden ;)

Ha! 😜 Good for you and I guess not for me!

I love tiny houses! If I ever ended up as a single mom, this is exactly what I would do.

I wanted to build one but I get tired of things as they are quickly and love to see my girls run around. I would love to do it at a certain age though, when it's just me. that way I'm not forcing anyone to be in my energy if they don't want to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54