A Deer Named Kitten and Comfort Zones

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

kd2.JPG

My property borders a state wildlife refuge on two sides. I have an acre backyard with two dozen fruit trees, a dozen blueberry bushes, nuts, wine grapes, strawberries, you name it. As you can imagine it’s known on critter Yelp as the best buffet in town.

Soon after I moved here last summer a doe befriended me. She had a late season male fawn, much smaller than the rest. She would frolic and play with me when I was outside, or grub on the decadent orchard findings, while her son curled comfortably in a patch of grass by my back deck just under my bedroom window.

kd1.jpg

I called him my Kitten.

And was truly honored that this Mama trusted me enough to bring her hunters dream so close.

They disappeared for the winter and spring, but one day last month I was overjoyed to see that the fuzzy nub antlered buck who was curled under my window was Kitten! Following his Mama’s lead he plays tag with me to the amazement of my boys who never believed me because last years antics always seemed to occur during school hours.

kd3.JPG

When Mama kicked Kitten out so she could use the nursery for her new offspring, he knew he had a home in my backyard. He knew it was safe; that a “friend” lived there.

Steemit is becoming a comfortable online home to many of us. The support and encouragement we so freely give and receive here just feels really good. The financial rewards nurture this out of us, yes, but regardless of the reasons Steemit is a warm community to many of us, and as we form our “tribes”, we feel a sense of belonging which is difficult to find in today’s society.

We feel comfortable within our tribes, and begin opening up. We feel compelled to share on a deeper level. This allows us to be ourselves, and reach out in ways we never would have considered elsewhere in the online world.

Had Kitten not felt “at home” in my yard, he never would have stretched the stay away from humans stigma the animal kingdom generally adheres to. He never would have danced with a human.

Stretch your legs out and dance with something new this week. You just might find a new style you’d like to master.

kd4.JPG

Images via Yours Truly 1st, 3rd and 4th 2017, 2nd photo taken 2016

shaded line.jpeg

animated-dividing-line-image-0032

animated-arrow-image-0314 Why I Quit Steemit, and Why You Should Too

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

Eliminating Toxic People is the Best Gift you Can Give Yourself
~
The Dangers of Dishonesty
~
ATTENTION: All Creative Writers, Publishers and Artists!
~
To Keep Her, (Steemit)You Gotta...
~
Stop the Senseless Murder of Inspiration and Creativity!
~
Everyday Erotica 2
~
Everyday Erotica 3
~
Help me celebrate my birthday with jokes and memes!
~
How Important is Touch, Really
~
Rescue Kitten Photos Shoot- Gizmo
~
Heat Exhaustion Kills- what to watch for

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

I love you guys, I really do :) And I truly appreciate your support :)

upvote resteem follow.gif

Sort:  

Ohhhh, another animal magnet. I love watching wildlife, except if it's watching them run away from my camera, lol. Now I know where to go for my berry pickin' too, hehehehe. Thanks for sharing the great story and photos. Glad you were able to show the boys what really happens with those critters and you.

LOL!

I know! When you're looked at funny by your own offspring after mentioning you played tag with a deer, you begin a quest for VIDEO PROOF! Which of course looks like a grainy capture of bigfoot, but, hey...

Lol, whatever works though. Am used to getting weird looks by my teen, followed by head nods

Don't forget the eye rolls...

Awww I love this!!! Do you tend to all those plants or are they wild?

It all pretty much takes care of itself. I keep up with the grass for accessibility, and bring in bees in the spring, but other than that they are all so old they kinda do their own thing just fine :)

That's so amazing!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Critter Yelp, haha, Kitten knows a good meal when he sees one.

I'm glad you found your Steemit tribe. You belong here.

He's a smart one. Of course he is- look who he hangs around ;) lol

The tribe here is a good one :)

Thank you <3

Lol @ Critter Yelp :)

_Rob

I've heard rumors it's the latest talk of the woods.

.)

My backyard is a similar haven, and it brings me a lot of joy to see doe and their fawns venturing only a few yards away from the back porch because like your friends, they know it's safe. Last year's fawns showed up as four-points this summer, brothers who hop around and spar with one another, just about to join the rest of the bucks and disappear. Meanwhile mama has two more spotted fawns following her around. The other night they were playing and she was trying to move along to the next patch of wildflowers and they weren't coming. She turned around, stamped her foot at them, snorted, and they ducked their heads and ran after her. I laughed and thought, huh, motherhood is the same across all species! Thanks for sharing pics!

What an honor to have the visitors come to your back yard. She will soon bring someone new to visit with you. Thanks.🐓🐓

She introduced us to her newest little one the other day. Still new- has the spots <3

Awe! They are so sweet when they have their spots. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54