March 2019 My Garden Journal Entry

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

It’s Spring!
We are a ways away from spring blossoms but I forced some bulbs to enjoy indoors.

Hyacinth blossoms

hyacinth blooms.JPG

The nasty winter weather has finally broke and we are getting some warm spring days, quickly melting the snow.

The animals (our dog Bruno and cat JJ) are enjoying getting outside and the birds are becoming more active as you can hear in the video below.

The dripping you hear in the video is the sound of me catching the melting snow off the roof in buckets.

One of the first chores I’ll be doing outside is pruning the trees that were damaged by the early heavy snow fall

Amur Maple Tree Bent and Broken by Weight of Snow

broken branches on Amur maple tree winter and fall scene.JPG

Our indoor garden continues to provide fresh greens daily

Fresh Picked Salad Greens from the Indoor Garden

fresh indoor garden pickings for salad.JPG

Lettuce Green Onions and Herbs in the Indoor Garden

lettuce green onions and hyacinth in indoor garden.JPG

The fig cuttings rooted and are growing well, also the Banana pup I salvaged from my bug infested banana tree (mother plant was discarded).

Banana Pup

banana pup.JPG

Fig Plants and Cannabis Plants from Cuttings

fig and canabis plants from cuttings.JPG

I use the yellow sticky cards you see in the photo to catch bugs
We harvested our first crop of cannabis plants and now have the cuttings under the grow lights and growing well.

Pepper and Cherry Tomato Seedlings

young tomato and pepper seedlings.JPG

I’ve got a few pepper seedlings and cherry tomato seedlings started.
I like to get an early start on the Tiny Tim tomato to have as snacking plants on the deck.
I also grow the Tiny Tims with the Pre-K kids for they grow so well in containers and we can send a fruit producing plant home with the kids at the end of the year. Some of these seedlings are backups for the Pre-K in case something happens to their plants.

Testing Seed Germination of Older Seeds in Shallow Trays on Heat Mats

testing seeds in shallow trays potted young seedlings.jpg

I have some older seeds that I planted in these shallow trays to test the germination. If they sprout I dub them into separate pots – this saves space on the heat mat.
So right now I have tomatoes, peppers and celery started.
Next on my list to start is parsley then broccoli, cauliflower and cabbage.
I start my cucumbers and squashes indoors too, to get a jump on the growing season.
Then April I can start some sowing outdoors.

See the whole series of the Gardening for Food Security Indoor Gardening Project:

Part 1 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning

Part 2 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning-part-2

Part 3 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-3-the-experiment-worked

Part 4 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/video-tour-gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-4

Part 5 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/why-i-brought-my-gardening-indoors-indoor-gardening-project-part-5

Part 6 - https://steemit.com/dsnapx/@porters/gye4b7sv

Part 7 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-garden-project-part-7-a-walk-thru-and-making-cuttings

Part 8 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/k4yhd5b7

Part 9 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/5x0x3oz7

Part 10 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/g8xh0kq2

Part 11 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/lessons-learned-in-my-gardening-for-food-security-indoor-garden-project-part-11

This is my entry to @simplymike ‘s SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge

All pictures were taken with my Canon Powershot A495

Thanks for stopping by!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Love to see all your indoor garden pics. The hyacinths are beautiful. So ready for spring and seeing some greenery come alive. Love the sticky yellow card for bugs.

Me too! It was great to have the indoor garden for we had a really cold winter and didn't get out much but I love to be outside and seeing those little green shoots sticking their heads out - soon enough!

The hyacinths drew me in straight away @porters 🌸 gorgeous! And smiling too at your banana pup - Im reminded not all of the world has to tackle bananas with a machete. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

What! Tackle bananas with a machete! Do they really grow that abundantly over there?

haha... they really. really do. In big clumps of about 4 metres tall.....

Lucky you! and I struggle to keep one little pup growing!

The scent from the hyacinth must be lovely! But the best photo was the one of the sticky yellow card. so much green and variety!

I totally love the smell of the hyacinth and have some right beside me at my desk in the office.
Ha, it's funny you chose the picture with the yellow sticky card, I always find it hard to get good photos with those grow lights in there making it more yellow than green or pink under the LED light.

Your indoor garden is definitely doing great, @porters. I was surprised to see there was still so much snow. Fortunately, you can have that indoor garden.

I couldn't get my hands on Tiny tim seeds this year. i'd love to try them. I do have some other dwarf pepper and tomato plants, though, I'm curious to see how they will do this year :0)

Ya! Winters are long here! Funny you couldn't find Tiny Tim seeds they are so common here. I wonder if I could send you some. I have an extra unopened package. DM me in discord if you would like me to send them to you.

I needed to have them shipped from the Uk, and shipping costs are pretty expensive, so I decided to settle for my Red Robin tomatoes :0)

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

That banana pup looks like it's doing good. Your plants all look happy. I noticed at my place yesterday. Where I had done some foundation work last fall. That the tulips that got disturbed are just starting to come up. But now I've got six tulips instead of the one small clump that was there before!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes are plants are doing much better this year since we put some grow lights up for the winter. Well there you go your digging around divided your tulips for you! We still have a ways to go before we will see tulips outside - still have snow on the ground.

The greens look great. We have tried, at various times, to indoor garden, but we seem to either get too much of some and not enough of other plants.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

This is the first year of doing the indoor garden and I try to pick plants that are productive for we have very limited space under the lights.
I also experimented and actually dug out some of the smaller plants from the garden and bought them in so we would have fresh greens right away. It was so successful that I'm going to plan my garden this year with having a later sowing of plants that i can dig out and bring indoors - keep the fresh greens happening year round!

Wow, looks like you have a great start to the season with your indoor garden! Those greens look super yummy. :) Hope all that snow melts off soon so you can start warming up. We're a bit ahead with the weather here, so we just started putting some stuff out in the garden beds. I'm going to try to get up a post today to join in the fun with you all! Happy growing!

Oh! Lucky you to be out planting in your garden beds! I was so happy to have the indoor garden this year but will be even happier when I can get my hands in the dirt outside! glad your joining in for the Garden Journal fun!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

These flowers are amazing, my grandmother too plant them, they look so good everywhere

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47