Lessons Learned in My Gardening for Food Security Indoor Garden Project - Part 11

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

Gardening for Food Security indoor garden Xmas plus overview snap 640 x 360.JPG

This year we invested in some grow lights to turn our sun room into a winter grow room.
I'm very happy with the results and it's really made a difference for us this year, being we have had the longest stretch of extreme cold weather in 80 years! With that we weren't getting outside much and didn't even want to start the car to drive to town for groceries.

This grow space helped fight off the S.A.D. syndrome and gave us our fresh greens and herbs. We're planning to expand into other foods next year or perhaps this year for getting a jump start on some of our container out door garden plants.

Now for some of the lessons I learned from this first attempt at indoor gardening.

  1. Make real good use of that grow space under the lights for it never seems like enough! Our LED light we got covered a 4' x 4' area and we used mostly rectangular pots so they would fit together with no wasted space plus we tried to use productive plants. I had bought in some plants that were in round containers and they took far more space (although I did stack some smaller ones on top of the larger ones) Some plants that didn't need as much light like our chives and arugula were put at the edges stretching that grow area out.

  2. Be very vigilant! Watch for any pests or signs of stress and address them immediately before they develop into bigger problems. I learned that lesson the hard way when I had bought in some coleus plants that were infested with mealy bugs. They spread on to my fig tree which I didn't attend to for it was fruiting. I didn't want to spray it with anything and they became real bad. Because I didn't want to spread the mealy bugs to other plants I took the fig tree outside and being it had become so huge, I just took a bunch of cuttings from it instead of moving it back indoors for the winter. I had aphid problems but I rinsed them off early on when our plants were in smaller pots and easier to manage (that's the one thing about indoor gardening, you can't just take the hose and hose off any bugs. You have to take the plants to the shower or under the tap)

  3. Spiders are my friends! I had put out some yellow sticky cards to capture any flying insects but the spider webs did a much better job at catching the bugs. I had a few small spiders making webs near the base of some of my herbs which caught a lot of aphids before they moved up into the tender new growth. When ever I saw a spider in the house I'd catch it and put it on my plants. Saved a few plants from aphid infestation!

  4. Chick weed is my friend! Often in the outdoor garden I'd consider this a weed in spots but when I had dug out some of my Malabar spinach plants to bring indoors, I also bought in some chick weed with it. It made a lovely natural mulch on those pots of spinach plus they were excellent added to the salads. I will intentionally bring in some chickweed to add to my pots next year. It's easy to do for they will grow from any little part of the plant plus they are very shallow rooted so easy to dig out and place in the pots along with other plants to cover any empty ground.

  5. Mulching helps reducing the amount of watering needed and helps prevent the soil from compacting with less frequent watering. Besides the natural chick weed mulch I had bought in some sphagnum moss to use as mulch on the bigger plants.

  6. I learned that having heat around the roots really makes a difference when taking cuttings or starting seedlings. We were just about ready to give up on the cuttings we took from our Cannabis plants when I put them in a warmer room under a small grow light. Low and behold they took hold and grew into healthy plants! Same was true for seedlings I started. The ones at the edge of the heat mat closer to the window never grew as well as the ones that were warmer away from the cool windows.

  7. I wouldn't purchase the same grow light with the pink and blue led lights again. Now I have found out there are the white LED grow lights I think I would stick with them. That would keep the cost of electricity down and make it so I can tell what's going on with my plants better. It's hard to tell if they are a healthy green color or if the soil is looking dry for everything had such a pink tinge to it. It did make for a lovely picture outside with the pink glow on the snow!

  8. I'm going to plan my outdoor garden to include some late seedlings. I'll start them there to have ready to bring indoors next year. That way I can utilize the natural light and rain outdoors to get a head start and have a continual growth of fresh greens all year long!

See the whole series of the Gardening for Food Security Indoor Gardening Project:

Part 1 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning

Part 2 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning-part-2

Part 3 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-3-the-experiment-worked

Part 4 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/video-tour-gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-4

Part 5 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/why-i-brought-my-gardening-indoors-indoor-gardening-project-part-5

Part 6 - https://steemit.com/dsnapx/@porters/gye4b7sv

Part 7 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-garden-project-part-7-a-walk-thru-and-making-cuttings

Part 8 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/k4yhd5b7

Part 9 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/5x0x3oz7

Part 10 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/g8xh0kq2

Thanks for stopping by!

If you enjoyed this post,
Please don’t hesitate to follow me here on Steemit - @porters

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Fabulous information @porters. Chick weed is my friend too. Literally grows wild in our garden and it has one of the highest calcium contents of all the greens, I've heard. It dies back but then comes back as vigorous as ever. I love sphagnum moss too ~ Actually use it in some of my assemblages as it's so beautiful in a visual sense too.

While we don't have a problem with the cold and snow so much in Sydney ~ I have the feeling it would be easier to control all the bugs by planting some of our greens indoors. Just have to work out a space to do it. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

This is a great blog and resource for growers @porters

This grow space helped fight off the S.A.D. syndrome and gave us our fresh greens and herbs.

Ha ha, I feel the same when pottering about in my greenhouse. That seasonal effective disorder is a real bummer. I get it every winter and it smashes me down.

Luckily winter is on it's way out here :-)

Oh! Lucky you that winter is on it's way out. We are still not at normal temperatures for this time of year although the extreme cold seems to have broke.
Thank goodness I have my indoor garden!

Thank you)) A very interesting way to grow greens))

I'm glad to hear it's going so well. Growing indoors is really a new learning experience for us too. Pests took me by surprise. Still recovering from the thrips. Going about it a little differently this time. I've been thinking about a living mulch for our indoor plants. I'm planning on white clover and maybe some vetch, both fix nitrogen. But something more edible would be good too.

Posted using Partiko Android

The reason I like the chickweed is that it has such shallow roots and makes such a nice addition to a salad. It grows quick but is easily eradicated if you decide you no longer want if growing in your indoor plants.
What kind of plants are you growing indoors?

We are mostly growing greens now. The kids like to grow stuff that might not make sense to grow indoors like green beans. But I entertain that idea too. My daughter started some purple carrots. And we have a few cannabis plants too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Some great advice here my friend! Fortunately we only have 2 months of winter here and no snow. But the fierce African sun is a big problem. We are currently working on a new project to supply tunnels to poor schools in the rural areas, so that they can grow their own veggies for the hungry children and they can sell the surplus to the communities for a bit of an income. Of course we are in the research and testing stage now, but we have great hopes that this would be an answer to feed those that cannot afford to buy food. Blessings!

Wonderful project! I think that is the way to go with the added benefit that if you teach the children how to grow their own food, they will never have to know hunger.
I had a little handout that I turned into a flip book to have it available online that is beginner gardening tips mostly geared for children.
See it at: https://sqribble.net/viewflipbook/9811/2258
There may be some parts that won't apply for you there but mostly it is releavent for all beginner gardeners

Thank you and I will have a look! Blessings!

Great reading materials @porters, thanks!

Hi Hon :)

Just dropping by to let you know that...

The New 20k Delegation poll is out. It would be wonderful if you would support our @steemitbloggers community with your vote.

https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/

Thanks a mil.

I have attempted so many times and my herbs keeps dying. I think the indoor garden is something I have not attempted yet. Maybe this would work for me. Cheers!

Herbs are a good place to start with in an indoor garden. Just make sure they get enough light and watch the watering, some herbs do not need much watering. With that being said there are others that require more water to keep them succulent. Treat them each individually and it's a good idea to group them together by their watering needs (if you are having more than one type of herb per pot)
Good luck with your herb growing!

Hi @porters!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.531 which ranks you at #6368 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 144 places in the last three days (old rank 6512).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 399 contributions, your post is ranked at #192.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70191.58
ETH 3817.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78