Gardening for Food Security Indoor Garden Project – Part 6 – A Walk Thru…

in #dsnapx6 years ago (edited)


This is part 6 of my **Gardening for Food Security Indoor Garden Project ** with a walk thru and sharing my daily to dos and an entry to SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge 8 for December

Today I'll be checking my plants over looking for pests.
I'm set up to make some more DIY yellow sticky cards to catch some pests.

Checking to see if anything needs watering.

I've got some sunflower seeds that I'm just setting up to have as sprouts and a stevia plant that needs potting up.

Once tall Amur maple flattened by heavy snow.JPG

Plus...
A quick peek outside in our winter wonderland to see the icicles forming and to check out the once tall maple that had been spread out over the yard by heavy snow.

Hope you enjoy and if you have any questions I'd be happy to answer them in the comment section.

See the whole series about the indoor garden project at:

Part 1 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning

Part 2 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning-part-2

Part 3 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-3-the-experiment-worked

Part 4 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/video-tour-gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-4

Part 5 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/why-i-brought-my-gardening-indoors-indoor-gardening-project-part-5


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

How warm/cold does this room stay? It has a heat source?

This is attached to the south side of our house opening into our home with two open doorways.
We heat our house with wood heat, an open air design with a high cathedral roof.
We have an inline fan that gathers the heat from at the top of our ceiling and blows it into the bottom of the sun room. There is a thermostat that regulates the fan turning on if the temperature drops below 18 degrees Celsius.

That is a VERY cool design! Thanks for explaining it.

We had intended a similar design on our house also south facing, but alas, chronic illness nixed that...

Sorry to hear that there is illness preventing you from expanding. It looks like you have lots of growing space with all your windows though.

Yes, due to this being a passive solar heated house, I have a lot of prime windows and make the most use of them that I can. But it would have been nice to have a space devoted to that, so I don't lose so much living space for 4 months every year....

I hear you!

Gardening is a new interest of mine. Following and resteemed.

Glad this perked your interest. I plan on doing regular updates on my indoor gardening project.

You have beautiful plants and you take such good care of them. Love the energy 💚

Thank you! I do love gardening and enjoy being able to pick fresh greens all year long.

This is an awesome initiative and we must keep thinking about ideas to promote food security around the globe. Its a great idea for urban gardening!

That's my idea for sharing what I am doing with my indoor gardening project so others can learn from it. I think it will become more important in the future to be able to grow your own food and also be able to grow it in a controlled environment with our extreme weather we have been getting.
I love your post about vertical gardening in the plastic bottles. All good stuff!

Is the roof of the sunroom solid instead of greenhouse panels?
I'm guessing that the front windows are thermopane windows?
It looks like you have a pretty nice setup for your winter gardening!

Our roof is 5 layer poly carbon with a heat reflector in it - keeps it warm in the winter and cool in the summer.

Congrats you won the daily Gogreenbuddy upvote worth roughly 50 cents! Keep writing like this and you will keep winning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47