January Garden Journal - Indoor Garden Project - Part 10

in #dtube5 years ago


Well January sure flew by!
Time for the SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge #9 - January (just about missed out)Find Out More Here.
It's been a cold one here in Saskatchewan, Canada, but that didn't bother me, for I bought my gardening indoors!

Quick Tour of Our Indoor Garden - Click the image above.

We started this indoor gardening project to supply us with fresh greens for the winter and it has done that very well.
Want to track the progress of this project?

Gardening for Food Security Indoor Gardening Project

Part 1 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning

Part 2 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning-part-2

Part 3 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-3-the-experiment-worked

Part 4 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/video-tour-gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-4

Part 5 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/why-i-brought-my-gardening-indoors-indoor-gardening-project-part-5

Part 6 - https://steemit.com/dsnapx/@porters/gye4b7sv

Part 7 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-garden-project-part-7-a-walk-thru-and-making-cuttings

Part 8 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/k4yhd5b7

Part 9 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/5x0x3oz7

We have lettuce growing and in any empty spots in the pots I stick in some green onion cuttings- regrowing them from scraps.

Green Onions Grown From Scraps

green onions growing from scraps in pot of lettuce.JPG

I added a lovely Poinsettia to add some color to the indoor garden.blue jay in lettuce and pointsetta to add color to the indoor garden.JPG

The other big thing in our indoor garden right now is the Cannabis plants (now that they are legal in Canada.) We had a couple of mother plants growing and took some cuttings from it for growing out in the covered garden for the summer.
then we let them flower and they are starting to set nice bud.

Cannabis Mother Plants Now Turned to Set Bud

side view cannabis plants showing buds thickening.JPG

Close up of One of the Buds Starting to Form

single cannabis bud upclose Jan 31.JPG

The cuttings are really growing well. We have them in 4 inch pots but will soon be potting them up into one gallon pots to try to maximize their growth.

2 pictures of cuttings showing good growth.JPG

JJ Watching the Birds Outside - Poinsettia and Amaryllis Adding Color Inside

Jake looking out window by Pointsetta good.JPG

Outside everything is under a blanket of white snow. The birds added some extra color and entertain me watching them out the kitchen window.

Evening Grosbeaks at the Bird Feeder

birds on feeder.jpg

Pine Grosbeaks by Feeder with 2 Blue Jays

2 pine grosbeaks and 2 blue jays at feeder.JPG
We had a real heavy wet snow in October that totally bent our pure Amur maple right down. The snow just keeps piling up on it which makes for an interesting design.

Amur Maple Bent By the Weight of the Snow

evening pic maple bent over with snow in front of greenhouse.JPG

I've got my seeds all picked out and will be starting some in February.
We want to buy one more grow light for our sun room to utilize all the growing space in the winter. Then I will start some Cool Breeze cucumbers (they do well growing in pots) and some Zucchini for I love Zooddles with my pesto.

Thanks for stopping by!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

#awesomediycontent
Nice indoor garden video , you have not let winter defeat you. All the best for Feb and the rest of 2019🙏

All your plants are looking good. I've had some setbacks here but your posts are very encouraging. We got a clone from a friend that had thrips. Before I realized what was happening they infested everything. We are now for the most part starting our indoor efforts from scratch again.

Oh nasty!
We bought a plant in that had scale on it and it infected my price fig tree and all my coleaus had to go.
I took cuttings of the fig tree to keep it going but the main plant was badly infected.
I thought I was rid of them then the other day I noticed some on the banana plant so it had to go.
I kept a pup from it though.
Hope the rest of the growing season goes well for you!

Wow. I love your Canadian winter garden. So cool.
You must be very excited about the cannabis plant.
I would love to try growing one and of course try it out for health purposes also, since I love natural medicine.

Thank you for sharing. I really enjoyed it.

You're most welcome!
I'm really enjoying growing the cannabis and so happy it is now legal in Canada.
We have used the oil medicinally and attribute it to saving our dogs life.
also it is the type of medicine that works for my husband for pain relief.
We will definitely be keeping a stock of oil in the medicine cabinet.
Are you a member of the Natural Medicine community?
If you have an interest in all things natural healing, you can read the introductory post here. I'd also love to welcome you on Discord here

Your indoor garden starts to look pretty full, @porters. Nice!
I'm so jealous of your bird feeder. Did you make it yourself?
I have several in the garden, but the birds seem to be not interested. I'd love to see such a gathering in my garden.
I assume, they prefer the food of the chickens we have in the back of the garden...

Yes we made the bird feeder ourselves. It is in the winter when there isn't much else around that the birds flock to the bird feeder. We start feeding with the first snow fall and make sure there is always lots of feed there through out the winter until everything is revealed again when the snow melts in spring. We feed with black oil sunflower seeds.
If you have chicken feed out back they probably do prefer that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43