Gardening for Food Security - Indoor Gardening - New Project Beginning Part 2

in #gardening6 years ago

sunroom with rocking chair.jpg
As I sat pondering our food sources and how hard it is to find unadulterated foods I decided that I was going to take things into my own hands and expand my growing season here in Saskatchewan, where I garden in a zone 2 area- very short growing seasons - 2 months of summer and 6 months of winter!
I have expanded my garden areas outside but now I'm starting a new project to grow more food inside for the winters.
We had first built this sun room with the intentions of growing food all year long but the sun doesn't come over the tree tops in the winter and we would have to supplement with light to grow year long.
Well I got myself a grow light - 1000W LED Full Spectrum Grow Light
grow light.jpg
I will be mostly growing in rectangular grow boxes to maximize the growing space.
grow boxes 2.jpg
I make my own soil with the 12 year old well composted manure is actually a double manure. It comes up with clover which is a nitrogen fixing plant often used for green manuring. I'll also be only growing very productive plants under the lights to get the most for my growing efforts.

Stay tuned for future posts as I share my new project for gardening for food security.

Sort:  

We have to get some things re-arranged in the house before we can grow indoors again. Hopefully we can get our butts in gear and get the greenhouse ready when it cools down. I think we have that same light, good luck! I'll wait for your updates.

Have you been using your grow light? If so are you happy with your results?

We use the T5 lights for when we grow lettuce indoors and starts during winter. We used a similar light like yours but had to lift it up higher since it burned some of the tall plants.

you do a great job😍

Thank-you1

Gardening for food security - four gorgeous words. Good luck with the light situation!! You don't want to hear about our long growing season here....

Ya, I'm envious of those in long growing seasons but one thing about are long cold winters is that it kills off a lot of the bugs so we don't have as many pests in the gardens and our growing season is very intense with the long days.

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32