Water Bottle - Chapter 4 -A continuation of The Green Door Prompt (Day 17 of the Freewrite Challenge - The Goat Ate My)

in #freewrite5 years ago

Original Picture I used for the 1st prompt

Last paragraphs from part 16

     I arrived at a side door to the first factory and stepped inside a break room. Bottles of half drunken water littered the tables. I walked to the table and picked up a warm water bottle and twisted in my hand. I froze as a lump lodged in my throat. Beads of sweat formed on the brow of my head as I read the initials M.L. I dropped the bottle as took a step backwards... 5 Minute Timer

Chapter 4

Day 17 - Prompt - The Goat Ate My

     I arrived at a side door to the first factory and stepped inside a break room. Bottles of half drunken water littered the tables. I walked to the table and picked up a warm water bottle and twisted in my hand. I froze as a lump lodged in my throat. Beads of sweat formed on the brow of my head as I read the initials M.L. I dropped the bottle as took a step backwards. "Maria Lakes," I mouthed, and ran a hand over my face. Calm down. M. L could stand for anything. Get a grip, I thought. I needed fresh air. The room had become stuffy and thick. I pushed through the door and gulped fresh air. I wiped sweat from my face.
     "Maria," I said. "I should have been there." I thought back to the night I found her dead. Even in her death stares with pale and blotchy skin and blood matted hair, I found her beautiful. In many ways Maria had reminded me of Doyle, trim and fit with a magnetic pull. Her and Doyle possessed high cheek bones, long and dark eye lashes, and a face devoid eye rings. Do all the woman that had been murdered look like Maria? It was a question I needed to answer when I got back home. There had to be some factor the killer used to judge his victims. What was the common denominator? Why did the killer choose those women?
     I sighed and touched the camera hanging around my neck, reminding me of my duty at hand. I shoved the thoughts aside and grabbed the door handle and swung the door open and stopped. I could here people talking and laughing around the corner of the building. I crept closer.
     "The goat ate my homework," a deep male voice said. "Can you believe my nephew had the nerve to tell my that?"
      "What did you nephew say when you confronted him?" a woman asked. "Was he sur-"
     The talking stopped as I stepped around the corner. There was a group of five, three men and two woman. "Hi," I said, and they eyed me with suspicion. I gave them them a friendly smile.
     "Can I help," the woman with orange curls asked. She was hefty woman with a pudgy face, and the corner of lips wrinkled when she talked.
     "My name is Ted Rogers," I said as I extended my hand. The woman looked at my hand and back to my eyes. I drew my hand back, somewhat embarrassed. Bitch
     "What do you want Mr. Rogers?" Her green eyes were hard as she read the guest pass clipped to my shirt.
     "I'm taking pictures of the factories for an article me and my colleague are writing about future space industries."
     The other woman spoke up. "Oh cool." She was thin and fit. Auburn hair swooped and hung just below her shoulders. She had the same high cheeks bones and long lashes as Doyle. "My name is Mindy Lyons."
I thought about the water bottle.
     "Are you freelance?" The man standing to my right asked. He was tall and thin with a crocked nose and uneven eyebrows, large dark rings circled his eyes. The man was young. No older than thirty five, and it was clear he was in a lot of stress.5 minute timer

Note

     I missed a couple of days, because I returned to work. The three weeks I had off was nice. Awesome actually. However today I struggled, but I got it out. I was able to work the prompt into the story, I hope it is believable. I hate stopping in middle of a scene, but oh well. It is what it is.

     If you read it, wow! Thank You.

      I made no corrections to errors. Only corrected misspelled words, and inserted markdown tags. I also marked the word when I first used today's prompt.

Links To Previous Parts of The Green Door
part 1, part2, part 3,part4, part5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9, part 10, part 11, part 12, part 13, part 14,part 15, part 16,

If Rather Read by Chapter Here Are The Links
Chapter 1, Chapter 2, Chapter 3

The Story Prompts - The Green Door

PromptsPromptsPrompts
1. Describe Your Front Door7. Your Greatest Journey13. Roadblocks
2. History8. Hazardous14. Stetson
3. Sleeve9. Plan15. Sequence
4. After Midnight10. Lucky16. Warm Water Bottle
5. Not Yet11. Cyberspace17. The goat ate my
6. Camel12. Habitat

I want to give Thanks to the @freewritehouse

I want to give Thanks to @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/water-minerals-bottle-plastic-cap-19659/
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

I missed you but if it comes to the reading it was easy to read and be back into the story. They all have initials M.L.? I wonder what you mean with the list underneath with "prompts" At 15 you used sequin it says: the goat ate my...? Good to hear you enjoyed your holidays

Posted using Partiko Android

Still following the story and looking forward to the next bit.

I know I’ve pointed it out before, but I really do find the grammar errors distracting – far more distracting than misspellings.

I'm going to take a day or two here soon and go back over them and fix what I can. I find it distracting to LOL!

Hello @shanedustin, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you. love what the crypto magazine is doing. Awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16