The Plan - Chapter 3 -A continuation of The Green Door Prompt (Day 9 of the Freewrite Challenge - Plan)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Orignal Picture I used for the1st prompt

Chapter 3

Day 10 - Prompt - Plan

     Jail is a lonely place. Never in my life had I ever wanted to go home as bad as I did setting on that cold bunk in the city jail. I was surrounded by idiots eager to prove their manhood to each other. It amazes me the barbaric instincts men revert to when stuffed into a cell together. They become animals. As much as I hate to say this, my time in the slammer was cut short. The murderer had struck again. Another police officer was found dead in her apartment with her head bashed in. The murderer had used a rock that officer Mindy Wells had used as a paper weight on her desk. Her son dug up the rock in the front yard and given it his mother as a present. The irony.
     That night in my bed I slept deep and undisturbed. The next morning Doyle had had brought over donuts and joined me at the table.
     "When are going back to work?" Doyle asked.
     "I don't know."
     "I'm sorry you were hauled away to jail," she said, looking down at her hands wrapped around the coffee cup. "If you don't mind me asking why did the police suspect you?"
     Dr. Smith, I thought, but kept my suspicion to myself. "I don't know."
     She nodded. She knew I was lying. "So what are you going to do now?"
     God I wanted to kiss her and have her tell me everything was going to be alright. Each day I can feel our attraction growing, but I would never tell her my feelings. Doyle was sweet woman and her friendship meant to much to me to ruin with failed love. "I'm going to find who murdered Maria Lakes."
     She eyed me. Her soft brown eyes sparked under the kitchen light, and on the left eye I noticed a small spec of yellow-ochre embedded on the edge of the iris. I wondered if anyone else had ever noticed it. Doyle glanced away, her cheeks blushing. "I'll help you," she said. "But we'll need to make plan.
     "A plan," I mouthed.
     "Yes. We need think like a detective, and find out who she knows. Her habits. You said she had been acting nervous a month before her murder. The question is why?"
     I nodded. Doyle was right. We needed a plan. Then I shot Doyle a glance. I didn't remember telling Doyle Maria had acted nervous prior to her murder, but then again there were a lot of things I didn't remember. Is Doyle the.... stop Jonathan. It's Doyle we're talking about. I never fail to disgust myself.
     "So, what do you think," she asked.
     "I don't want to drag you into trouble Doyle. We could get arrested for tampering with a police investigation or something."
     "Well then we better not get caught, huh?"
     "Um..." I bit my bottom lip. "Alright, but where do we begin."
     She pointed at the window.
     I turned and looked out the window. "What?"
     "First part of the plan is we need to see if the police had missed anything in her house."
     I spun around wide eyed and gulped. "Are you serious?"
     She nodded."Only if you're serious about finding her murderer."
     I laughed, and I don't even know why. I was scared out... (5 Minute Google Timer)

Note
      I haver missed the last two days of the freewrite challenge due to family dinners and stuff like that, but today I had found time to continue. I didn't get as far as I wanted to, but there is always tomorrow. I already know this isn't going to be a short story as I had originally tended. I can tell by the flow of the story. The problem I am facing is structuring a larger formatting for a longer story using prompts. It will be a challenge, but I like challenges. I usually like to write in third person limited, especially for larger works. Third person is more versatile. I have nothing against first person, it's great, but when I started this idea of a challenge using prompts I figured it would a short story and I had this idea of a man telling his story revealing the truth of himself through hypnosis. however the prompts has led my down a different path.

     I marked where the timer went off.

     If you read it, wow! Thank You.

      I made no corrections to errors. Only corrected misspelled words, and inserted markdown. I also marked the word when I first used today's prompt.

Links To Previous Parts of The Green Door
part 1, part2, part 3,part4, part5, part 6, part 7, part 8

If Rather Read by Chapter Here Are The Links
Chapter 1, Chapter 2

The Story Prompts - The Green Door

  1. Describe Your Front Door
  2. History
  3. Sleeve
  4. After Midnight
  5. Not Yet
  6. Camel
  7. Your Greatest Journey
  8. Hazardous
  9. Plan

I want to give Thanks to the @freewritehouse

I want to give Thanks to @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/door-green-old-pierre-entry-3197460/
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 130 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hello @shanedustin, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Been there and read it too. About Doyle.... you make it complicated (to me)... reading this part I would say: I do not trust her

Posted using Partiko Android

Doyle is complicated. I don't trust her either. I don't plan stories and just follow the characters, I don't think she is the killer, even though she could be, but there is something deeper going on with her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46