The Neighbor - A continuation of The Green Door Prompt (Day 6 of the Freewrite Challenge - Camel)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Day 6 - Prompt - camel

     The next morning my head ached, the nightmare gave me a night of restless sleep. I got up and made a pot of coffee and sat at the kitchen table, allowing the strong scent to linger up my nose. Coffee, I thought, thinking about Maria Lakes. She loved coffee. It didn't matter the time of day, Maria always had a cup of coffee within arms reach. I shook her my head, trying to force her out of my head. Even though I hadn't killed her, I felt guilty. I should have been there on time. If I wouldn't have stopped and-"
     The doorbell rung.
     I took a sip of coffee and forced myself to get up and answer the door, it was my neighbor Samantha Doyle. For a moment I was taken back by the brown hair sweeping from underneath her black beret, ending just past the shoulders.
     "Hi Jonathan," she said. "I finished that painting for you." and blushed, her smile crooked. Even in her mismatch jeans and a green t-shirt covered in droplets of paint she held a innocent beauty that most men never took the time to see.
     "Thanks Doyle. I'll come over and get it later," I said, embarrassed by my reaction.
     Holding her hands behind her back she looked down to her feet, I could see she wanted me to invite her in. I wasn't in the mood, but I couldn't rude to Doyle. Doyle's kind and sweet nature made it hard to rude to her. I stepped aside and waved a hand toward the kitchen. "Would you like to come in. I have coffee."
     "Thank you," and quietly walked in and joined me at the table.
     "Black, correct?"
     "Yes," and she blushed.
     I served coffee and sat at the table and an awkward silence passed between us.
     "I got a hammer I borrowed to bash Maria's skull with."
     I jerked, the air caught in my throat, coffee spilled over the brim. "What?"
     She eyed me. "I got the hammer I borrowed from you to fix the deck with. I'll give it to you when you come and get the painting."
     "Oh." I wiped my brow.
     "Are you feeling OK?" she asked, wrapping her fingers around her coffee mug.
     "Yeah, I had bad dreams last night," I said, and avoided her eyes, and noticed the different color of paints that stained the tips of her finger. I thought, innocence.
     "Would you like a camel cigarette to calm your guilt?"
My eyes shot open. "Huh?"
     "Would like a camel cigarette to calm your nerves," she said, and dug in the pocket of her jeans, producing a pack of cigarettes.
     I chuckle. "Yes. Thank you Doyle. The dream has gotten me... (5 Minute Google Timer)

     

Note
      Wow! I love when words flow with ease and the imagination is set free. I wish everyday was like that, if so I would already conjured the world. As you see I stopped mid-sentence, I have to stay true to the timer. That's the fun of it.

     If you read it, wow! Thank You.

      I love doing the daily #freewrite challenge. I love the way it exercises my mind, by not giving me time to second guess myself, forcing me just go with the flow. Love It!!

      I made no corrections to errors. Only corrected misspelled words. I marked the word when I first used prompt.

     Thanks to @mariannewest she gave me some advice how to format this continuation using prompts, by inserting links to the last chapter. So I figured to keep from this getting to lone and save me and other people time I will insert links to previous chapters for those interested.

Links To Previous Parts of The Green Door
part 1, part2, part 3,part4, part5

The Story Prompts - The Green Door

  1. Describe Your Front Door
  2. History
  3. Sleeve
  4. After Midnight
  5. Not Yet
  6. Camel

I want to give Thanks to the @freewritehouse

I want to give Thanks to @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/door-green-old-pierre-entry-3197460/
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

I would love to have the power to fast forward to the future when you have already finished this story. I really like to know who killed Maria... Did Johnathan do it?

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @shanedustin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Seems like he's hearing things :) nice freewrite!

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome :)

Posted using Partiko Android

You got me when he misheard the hammer sentence. Well done.

Thank for the comment. I love doing the freewrites.

Ha! Ha! What Jonathan thought he heard her say. Good one.
Congratulations on your @c-squared upvote! : )

The camel cigarette ... alwaysfound it so weird it was called Camel and the picture is a dromedary... but by now I know a dromedary belongs to the family of Camels too.
Somehow the blushing doesn't fit with the behaviour..

Posted using Partiko Android

I did not know that thought about camels. Awesome.

And thanks for the tip about blushing doesn't fit the behavior. I wish I would read this before I done today's freewrite. Thanks for the insight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46