- Chapter 3 -A continuation of The Green Door Prompt (Day 12 of the Freewrite Challenge - Habitat)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Orignal Picture I used for the 1st prompt

Last 3 paragraphs from part 11
     "No." she flipped to the next page. "Blank." and used her thumb to leaf through the pages. "Rest of it is blank." she creased her eyebrows, resting her chin on her hand.
     "Well?" I asked. "What do you think?"
     She closed the book. "Only one way to find out." and walked into the livingroom and sat at her desk and opened her laptop. She pressed a button... 5 Minute Timer

Day 12 - Prompt - Habitat
     She closed the book. "Only one way to find out." and walked into the living room and sat at her desk and opened her laptop. She pressed a button and the Google Chrome search engine popped up.
     I watched as she typed in the address. "What's dot onion?"
     Doyle shrugged. "I don't know."
     "Me either." I watched as she pressed enter and the results page popped up: No results containing all your search terms were found. I looked at her and titled my head. "What does that mean?"
     "I don't know." she said, and typed into the search bar - what is a dot onion site? the page loaded and the first results explained the Tor network hosts onion sites. That Tor stands The Onion Router.
     "Tor?" I mouthed. "I've never heard of it."
     "I've read about people surfing the deep web," Doyle said, typing on the keyboard.
     "Deep web?"
     "Yes." she pressed enter. "Some people call it the dark web. I don't know much about it."
     "What are you doing?"
     "Downloading the Tor browser."
     "Oh." I watched as she downloaded Tor and installed the browser on her laptop. "Here we go." and doubled clicked her mouse button. Tor opened up and she typed the website into the address bar, and pressed enter.
     I watched as the screen as the page popped up. "What is that?" I asked pointing at the picture that filled the screen. It looked like a oblong inflatable balloon of some sort. I read the words underneath the picture. "Inflatable space habitat." I furrowed my eyebrows and looked at Doyle.
     She had the same confused look and scratched her head as she flicked the mouse wheel and scrolled down. "It's an article about space habitats."
     "Type in the other websites," I said.
     Doyle type and another article about inflatable space habitats popped on screen, again we gave each other a confused look. One by one she typed in the websites and they all were about space habitats, until she got to the last website. She typed in and a black screen appear. We looked at each other, and shrugged our shoulders.
     "Odd," I said. "Scroll down."
     Doyle scrolled down. At very bottom of the page in small print was a quote. Doyle leaned forward and squinted. “Everything you can imagine is real. ― Pablo Picasso."
     A shiver ran through my spine. Is the killer real because I could imagine? Is this a message to us? Is this a clue? or is just some random quote that whoever made website liked? I didn't know. It had been a strange day. It boggled my mind what space habitats and Pablo Picasso had to do with solving Maria's murder.
     "What do you think?" I said, pacing her living room floor.
     "I'll go through and read the articles and see if anything pops out to me. Then I say we find were the company is located and check them out... 5 Minute Timer

Note

     Today I took a little more than five minutes. I had began earlier today and got about two minutes into the freewrite and there was a knock at the door, family bearing gifts for the kids. We had a nice time. After they left I reset the timer and done it again, so in other words, I kinda cheated and done a eight minute freewrite.

     The prompt for today threw me another curve ball. I hope I was able to make the prompt work. I hope it doesn't send me down some path and the story covers to much ground and lose control. I have done that many times. Several years ago (long while ago now that I think about it) when I first started to take writing seriously I would get forty or fifty thousand words in a story and find myself nowhere else to go, because the story was to spread out and to many things going on at once. I've done that several times, and till this day I have three or for unfinished works around forty thousand words setting on the shelve collecting. Yeah it sucks when that happens. I think ever serious writer has done it. It's part of the learning curve, and its a good learning tool. Teaches what not to do. And if I'm not careful the same thing will happen here.

     The only thing that I could come up with in the heat of typing was space habitats. I just watched a documentary on living in space about two days ago, and the documentary showed that Bigelow Aerospace had made inflatable habitats. Really cool. I want one.

I couldn't find a suitable picture for today's freewrite. The picture is closes I could get to search.

     If you read it, wow! Thank You.

      I made no corrections to errors. Only corrected misspelled words, and inserted markdown tags. I also marked the word when I first used today's prompt.

Links To Previous Parts of The Green Door
part 1, part2, part 3,part4, part5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9, part 10, part 11,

If Rather Read by Chapter Here Are The Links
Chapter 1, Chapter 2,

The Story Prompts - The Green Door

  1. Describe Your Front Door
  2. History
  3. Sleeve
  4. After Midnight
  5. Not Yet
  6. Camel
  7. Your Greatest Journey
  8. Hazardous
  9. Plan
  10. Lucky
  11. Cyberspace
  12. Habitat

I want to give Thanks to the @freewritehouse

I want to give Thanks to @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/matrix-code-computer-pc-data-356024/
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

Ok, I'm gonna have to read this whole masterpiece when it's over. Great job.

💌Prompt brought to you by Bruni💌
Webp.net-compress-image (2).jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-433-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-roadblocks

hahaha @shanedustin, did the Tor....i mean the onion (router) made you weep or popped out your eyeballs?

Finished this freewrite with a suspense thriller like thing....great work @shanedustin.

You could rewrite your stories on the shelf? Read them and write them new with what you wrote in your mind or delete and add something new.

Posted using Partiko Android

I plan on going back once the story is finished and go through the editing stages. Usually I would never show a first draft to anyone, but this is the freewrite challenge and decided to against my will.

Yup... It feels like you are losing control... I mean from where did the 'space habitats' come into a murder mystery??? Hope next prompt aids you in reconstructing your narrative. This challenge is getting exciting.!!!

LOL! I about lost it there. The the things about prompts you get thrown a curve ball. That will most diffently be edited out later. Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40