Mr. Turner - Chapter 4 -A continuation of The Green Door Prompt (Day 14 of the Freewrite Challenge - Stetson)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Orignal Picture I used for the1st prompt

Last 3 paragraphs from part 13

     I raised an eyebrow. "Now?"
     "Of course," she said and blushed. "Unless you don't want to."
     "No, I do, just give me a few minutes to take a shower and get dressed." I took my coffee with me and hurried upstairs and jumped in the shower... 5 Minute Timer

Chapter 4

Day 14 - Prompt - Stetson

      We took Doyle's Minivan and drove to the outskirts of the city, following the GPS into the Industrial Park. The factory was bigger than I anticipated. Three huge aircraft hanger style buildings line up in a roll with a fresh coat of silver painted. Standing at the edge of the property was a two story office building with a large parking jammed packed with cars.
     "So what's the plan?" I asked as Doyle pulled into the parking lot and parked between two vehicles.
     "We go in and get information," she said, shoving the gear shift into park.
     I opened my mouth to protest, but stop as she looked at me with a twinkle of mischief in her eye.
     "Here I made these last night." she reached in the consul and brought to name tags.
     "We are freelance journalist and we are doing research into the private space industry."
     I looked at the tag. "Press pass, Ted Rogers." I glanced at Doyle. "Really? Ted Rogers?"
     Her face grew serious. "You don't like it." she swallowed and looked away, blushing.
     "Doyle I was just joking, your brilliant."
     Without lifting her head she said, "thank you." and hopped out of the minivan with a notebook and leather duffel bag on her shoulder.
     "What's with the notebook and bag?"
     "A list of questions," she answered. "We have to play the part." she walked around to the passenger side and slid open the side door and grabbed a Canon EOS Rebel Camera and hung it around my neck. "Here is the story we are freelance journalist. We are working together on a project about the private space industry and its future impact."
     "Sounds like you have it all figured out." I had to admit Doyle was good, intelligent, she was cut out for this type of work, even if she blushes and gets embarrassed easy.
     She blushed and batted her eyelashes. "lets go."
     I followed Doyle inside through the double doors, and setting behind a desk was a lady in her mid fifties with orange curls resting on her forehead, possessing the greenest eyes I've ever seen, and smiled as we approached.
     "Hello, my name is Maryann. Welcome to Spacecore. How can I help?"
     Doyle smiled and extended her hand. "Jocelyn Daniels and this is Ted Rogers, freelance journalist. We were hoping to speak with the CEO, Mat Turner."
     Maryann searched up and down with her eyes, trying to judge if we were legit. I could see the hesitation in her eyes. "Give me a second please." she spun around in her chair, stood up, and her heels clicked as she disappeared through a door at the far end of the room. A few seconds later she returned. "He can see you now." and pointed at the door she had come from. "I warn you he can be quit arrogant."
     I shot her look and she stuck her nose in the air and returned to her desk.
     Doyle nudge my shoulder and I followed into the office. To my surprise Mr. Turner was nothing like I had expected. I was expecting a computer geek or nerd or something. Mr. Turner was anything but. He was a hefty man who wore a black Stetson hat, dressed in a black suit with matching leather cowboy boots, smoking a large cigar, columns of grey smoke rose and blanketed the ceiling. Texas oil tycoon, I thought.
     "Mat Turner is the name," he said, extending a large hand. Surprised by deep voice I almost took a step back. "Most people call me Turner."
     Doyle took his hand... 5 Minute Timer

5 Minute Timer

Note

     I randomly picked a prompt for the weekend single prompt freewrite challenge and landed on Stetson. That was good, it was easy to work in. I hear the word Stetson, I think of hat. I had missed the freewrite yesterday, and hopefully I don't miss to many. But I have to admit, even though the prompt was easy I had to force myself to get words out. I hope this doesn't suck. If I was to guess I would say I'm about a quarter of the way through the story, and the challenge at this point is keeping the story moving without boring the reader. I have read many longer projects that people have wrote and a common problem I see, is around the middle of the story it bogs down and gets slow. To many scenes like the one I just wrote. Every story needs these types of scenes, but if you aren't careful you'll fill half the story with boring scenes and bore the reader. Writing a short story pacing isn't as important, but with longer story it has to be taken in consideration. My story bogged down this round, and the last round, and hopefully I can get the story back on track. Beauty of the first draft is, it doesn't have to be perfect. The editing rounds is what brings to life the magic that lives in stories. First draft is to get the story out as good as possible without spending to much time worrying about errors.

     I couldn't find a suitable picture for today's freewrite, so I used a picture closes I could get with with the prompt. It is very hard to find good pictures.

     If you read it, wow! Thank You.

      I made no corrections to errors. Only corrected misspelled words, and inserted markdown tags. I also marked the word when I first used today's prompt.

Links To Previous Parts of The Green Door
part 1, part2, part 3,part4, part5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9, part 10, part 11, part 12, part 13,

If Rather Read by Chapter Here Are The Links
Chapter 1, Chapter 2,

The Story Prompts - The Green Door

PromptsPromptsPrompts
1. Describe Your Front Door7. Your Greatest Journey13. Roadblocks
2. History8. Hazardous14. Stetson
3. Sleeve9. Plan
4. After Midnight10. Lucky
5. Not Yet11. Cyberspace
6. Camel12. Habitat

I want to give Thanks to the @freewritehouse

I want to give Thanks to @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/door-green-old-pierre-entry-3197460
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

I was not bored, what bored it to one person doesn't need to be boring to someone else. I wonder how you know at what part your story is by now.

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty
Thanks for all The Awesome Comments. That is cool. Thanks. And to answer your question, it's just a feeling. I have written about fifteen novels and many short stories and I have gotten into a routine and I know my style and the way I write. When I set down to write I don't know if it will a novel or short story, until about the end of the first page, then I can tell by following the characters. I learned never to force a story. Some stories are meant to be short and some long. Now that I think about it, its kind of hard to explain, its a gut feeling.
Thanks

Following your story... 👍👍👍😉😉😉

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 436: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: sequence.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20181231160123.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45