The Green Door (Day 4 of the Freewrite Challenge - After Midnight)

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day One - Prompt - Describe Your Front Door

     Dr. Smith sat back in his chair and scratched the black stubble on his chin, studying his patient. "Jonathan I would like you to describe your front door."
     "Huh? Why?" I asked, I was already aggravated by his questions. I come here for help, not to be interrogated.
     "It will help me understand your motivations. In other words it will help me understand why you do what you do."
      I inhaled and flared my nostrils, trying to sooth the anger. I could feel it boiling in pit of my stomach. Why does this man want know why I do what I do?
      "Jonathan, please describe your front door."
      I nodded, biting my bottom lip, and flashes of green popped into my mind. "OK. It rectangle, just like every other door I ever went through, you know just like the door there," I said, and pointed at the oak stain door on the other side of the room, with it's fancy designs, as if Dr. Smith thinks he some special person or something. And an image popped into my mind, of me ripping down the door and pouring gasoline on it, and pissing on it as the door went up in flames. I hate that door, and every time I walk through it my gut wrenches.
      Dr. Smith forced a small. "Go on."
      I rolled my eyes. "Like I said it is rectangle, and it has two squares at the top and two squares at the bottom, and two rectangles in the middle of the door. It has brass knob, but not a round knob, but a handle."
      "Very good Jonathan. What color is your door?"
      "Green."
      "Hmm..." he grunted, and scribbled in his notebook. I hate that notebook.
      "What?" I asked.
      He crinkled his eyebrows. "Excuse me."
      "You said hmm, what does that mean?"
      Dr. Smith took a long hard look at me, and then looked down at his note book, and scribbled.
      "A note," he said, and continued to scribble.
      "Why?"
      He laid his notebook on his lap and with a patient smile, he said, "I'm a Psychiatrist Jonathon, and it is my job to keep detailed notes on my patience. Now tell me why did you decide to get a green door?"
      I looked up the ceiling as I laid on my back. Why had I gotten a green door? It's ugly as mud, and yet I refuse to change it's color. "I don't know," I said.
      Dr. Smith studied me for a moment, and scribbled in the stupid notebook of his. Dam that notebook, I ought to rip it out of his hands and stomp on it.
      Dr. Smith narrowed his eyes and cocked his head. "Why do you want to stomp on my notebook Jonathon?"
      "Um..." I was tongue tied, I hadn't realized I said it out loud.
      "Do think I am judging you, Jonathan?"
      "Um... I... don't know. That's thing I don't know anything anymore." (5 Minute Google Timer)

Day Two - Prompt - History

      Dr. Smith rubbed his chin, that stupid prominent chin, cocked his head and narrowed his eyes, making contact with my pupils. "Jonathan do you know why your here?"
     I fought the urge to look away. "Um... I..." I stammered, for some reason I couldn't remember. Why was I here? "I'm sure you'll give me a history lesson," I said.
      Dr. Smith let my remark roll away without so much as twitch. "Jonathan you work at the observatory across town correct?"
      "Yes. Write that in your history book."
      He grunted, and scribbled. Dam him. "And do you remember what happened last week?"
      "No," I said, and broke from his gaze, aggravated that no matter what smart remark I made it never effected him. "Should I?"
      "Jonathan It is very important that you try to remember. I'm here to help you Jonathan." he laid his notebook in his lap. "Now I want you to close your eyes and try to remember last Wednesday. You went to work and showed up at your office. Now try to remember what you saw."
      I bit my bottom lip. I didn't like where this was going. Who cares about last Wednesday?
     "Close your eyes Jonathan and think about that day when you arrived at work."
     I squeezed my eyes shut, fighting the urge to jerk them open.
      "Now keep your eyes closed and listen to my voice Jonathan. Relax and be comfortable. Let your body sink into the cushions and as you listen to my voice focus your attention on last Wednesday night as you arrived at your office. Let your subconscious mind imagine that night and recall what you had seen. Relax and listen to my voice. As you listen focus your attention..."
     I tried to fight his voice, but I was falling, sinking deeper into the cushions as relaxation overcame me. I was somewhere between sleep and awake. I could hear is voice directing me, telling me to relax and focus, and deeper into the cushions I sunk, drifting into the subconscious mind. I was standing outside the observatory, and lying on the concrete steps leading to the entrance was a mangled shoe... (5 Minute Google Timer)

Day 3 - Prompt - Sleeve

     I was standing outside the observatory, and lying on the concrete steps leading to the entrance was a mangled shoe, a white ladies tennis shoe. I thought of Maria Lakes. She wore the same style. I focused on the black scuff marks running the length of the shoe as I knelt down to pick it up. I twisted it in my hand and yelped and dropped the shoe. Small droplets of blood was splattered on the heel. My gut churned as bile rose up my throat. I squeezed my eyes shut, this couldn't be real. I flared my nostrils as I inhaled and the air was ripe with copper smell. I swallowed the bile and forced my eyes open.
     "Please let her be OK," I whispered, repeating, "please." over and over.
     I walked in a wide arc to avoid the shoe and let myself in through the entrance. Maria's desk stood just to the right of the foyer, her computer was on, but no sign of Maria.
     "Maria?" no answer.
     "Maria are you here?" I listed. Silence. Against my better judgment I walked forward, it was the only time I could remember hearing my footsteps echoing off the walls. I rounded her desk and stopped. My jaw opened, slack with terror. My eyes widen as tears spilled over the lids. Maria lay naked and face first in a pool of blood, her skin blotch and pale. I wanted to scream. I wanted to run and call for help. But my body locked, refusing to obey the commands from my brain. A gargled moan escaped my lips. Bile rose up in my throat and bitter tasting greenish brown fluid ran out of my mouth, rolled down my chin, and dripped to the floor. I couldn't breath. The pressure of the air pressed down on me was to much and stumbled backwards, my hands finding support on her desk, and right before I past out I saw her t-shirt on the desk, and pressed down on the sleeve off her shirt was a paper weight, a glass pyramid, and underneath was a note. Then I was falling. Light flashed as my head hit the concrete floor, followed by a loud ringing. I thought about her body lying naked in a pool of blood and the her shirt with the paper weight on the sleeve. I gargled as the corners of my vision blurred... (5 Minute Google Timer)

Day 4 - Prompt - After Midnight - describe the room you are in

2

     It was after midnight before I made it home. The session with Dr. Smith had been hard. Conjuring up old memories wasn't easy. What good had it done? I told Dr. Smith everything the police had already known, and they're still no closer in catching the killer when the killer killed his first victim Maria's Lakes. According to the police mangled shoes have been turning up all over the city. Ten murders in two years, all committed with a paper weight and all women, and still nobody has a clue who the killer is. The killer was careful to never leave any trance of their identity, methodical with every scene, always leaving just enough evidence to taunt the police and always leaving some kind of written message at the scene of every murder. The last victim was a police officer Stephanie Taylor. According to the channel three news the murderer had left a message on her computer and emailed the the note to all the police officers in her department. The police theorize the killer had picked Stephanie Taylor for the sole purpose to taunt the police.
     I slung the keys in the bowl on the coffee table and flopped on the couch, and messaged my temples. I should be at the observatory gazing up at the stars, but I wasn't in the mood, and took a personal day. I wanted to be as far away from there as I could. Maria's blotched and pale body was fresh in my mind. Every time I close my eyes I could see red the blood in her hair, matted to her skin on the back of her next, standing in stark contrast to the blotch pale skin. and the hole on the back of her crown, shaped like a diamond.
     "Stop it," I said, and hurried to the kitchen and chugged a a glass of water. "Maria, if only I was there on time you would be alive."
     I made another glass of water and returned to the couch and flipped on the TV. I lay there for a long while. Sometime during that time I drifted to sleep.(5 Minute Google Timer)

Note
     Two days in a row I didn't get as far as I wanted, but I want to stay true to the five minutes timer. I'm doing this to exercise my mind, and increase the power of my imagination. No craft or art can be created without imagination. I love testing my limits. If I can find where my limits are than I can push beyond them and increase my limits. I want to perform best to my abilities in all areas of my life. I don't just want to live my life, I want to dominate it and sculpt life to the image I have in my head. I want to push myself to farthest limits, and then maybe I can create true master pieces in life.

     I knew this was going to be extremely hard when started the challenge, trying to write a coherent story, using prompts. I can't quit. I will not give up. It may not be any good, but at least I didn't quit. I am not a quitter. I may loose here and there, but in the end I will complete what I have started.

     If you read it, wow! Thank You.

      I love doing the daily #freewrite challenge. I love the way it exercises my mind, by not giving me time to second guess myself, forcing me just go with the flow. Love It!!

      As you can read I had stopped mid-sentence. I want to do an experiment, and do something just kinda like the #weekendfreewrite. Each day when there is a new prompt I will continue from where I had left off, and I will keep adding to story each day, five minutes at a time, until the story is finished. It will be cool see where the story goes and how many prompts it will take me. Hopefully it goes on at least till the end of next week or more. Let the journey begin.

      I made no corrections to errors. Only corrected misspelled words.

The Story Prompts - The Green Door

  1. Describe Your Front Door
  2. History
  3. Sleeve
  4. After Midnight

I want to give Thanks to the @freewritehouse

I want to give Thanks to @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

https://pixabay.com/en/door-doorway-entrance-window-old-3152809/
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

I think you're going great with this. Uncle Bruni gives it two thumbs up. 👍👍

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 202 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

@trufflepig
Wow! Thanks a lot. I'm lost for words. Thanks

Huh? Seems like I already voted on this post, thanks for calling anyway!

As I am reading, I have myidea odf where this is going, lol, but this is your story....

I couldn't find a post for Day 3 so couldn’t comment directly there.

Looking forward to the continuation.

@thistle-rock
It makes me happy you took time to read. To tell you the truth I have no idea where this story is going, I'm just following the characters and writing down what they do. Thanks for reading and leaving a comment.

I am looking forward to your Day 5! I wanna know what happen next! You did an awesome job connecting the prompts!

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 422: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: not yet.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20181119125715.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much.

The image of Maria would always be with me too. With 10 murders now, I hope this person will be able to help the cops catch the murderer.

Me to. I don't have a clue who the murderer is. I just writing as I go a long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25