Day 43: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: campingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago

Imgur

Please welcome our newest freewriter @navaneeth

Every day, I am inviting you to visit one and leave some comments and votes. Today, please visit @deaconlee

Prompt: camping

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.

  • Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.

If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Your Input is Needed!!!

Wandernrose7 and I are thinking of doing a radio show on the MSP channel. As part of the show, we like to read some of your guys fabulous freewrites. We do need your permission to do so. Give me some feedback on that. Sounds like fun?

I am thinking of including some kind of wording in the prompt that you give permission for us to read the freewrite on air when leaving a link in the comment section - unless you state that you don't want it read. I guess there is also the choice to have the author's name on air or to just say a freewriter.

Tell me what you think. And you laywer types out there maybe can help with the wording to make it all legal and such.

Writing help

Our fellow freewriter @arbitrarykitten has a business here on Steemit. Several editors are offering to edit and format your post for a small fee. Check out their intro post

And a free app: Grammarly. A lot of us are not native English speakers and I am finding it a helpful app. It will underline spelling and grammar mistakes. Just remember that is is not always right -especially if you use complex sentence structures. Here is the link

Finally, remember The Most Dangerous Writing App. You set the time - 5 min - and start typing. Don’t stop!!! It will destroy what you wrote if you stop for more than 3 seconds - and backspace does not count as writing on the app. If you are prone to stop and think - this app forces you to keep going. You can make corrections after the 5 minutes are over.

Money

There are several people who offer SBD for free on this platform! How great is that!!

Here are a few

@sydesjokes - he rewards his followers with SBD for any kind of interaction with him- comment, vote, resteem.
@craigcryptoking- he does a giveaway a few times a week. All you have to do is to be the first, or fourth or eight commenter.
@danielsaori - he does a comment contest. A new challenge every week.
@rexusmo - I think a few of you have started to leave links to your post. Every day, he has a cheering up post. You leave a link to a post you are proud off and you might get a reward. Keep trying!!

If you like this and want more people to come out and play - resteem!

Remember to check your voting power. Do not vote for a while if you are under 90!
https://www.steemnow.com/

Also, I would love it if you all check out each others #freewrite and spread some love :)

@ackhoo @ahmadmanga @ana-maria @arbitrarykitten @alvinauh @alxgraham
@bashadow @bloghound @brisby @byn @btcnoodle
@chuazm @citizenzero @creationofcare @cecicastor @cikxaijen @celestal
@deaconlee @deemarshall @dennisauburn @dmcamera
@ecoinstant @elizacheng @ellievallie @eggstraordinair
@f3nix @fitinfun @felt.buzz @fishyculture
@gniksivart
@improv @iyanpol12 @imcesca
@janine-ariane @jayna @jewels3 @jie28 @jjwriter85 @jkiw @johnwjr7
@littlenewthings @littlescribe
@long888
@marcoriccardi @marillaanne @melinda010100 @miniature-tiger @mydivathings @maverickinvictus
@nathanthewise @navaneeth
@omra-sky
@preparedwombat
@rainbowme @raj808 @rok-sivante
@shanibeer @sharoonyasir @simgirl @snook @stinawog @sayee
@tezmel @themerrylotus @theprettysoul @thereikiforest @topkpop @tpkidkai @tegoshei
@valorforfreedom
@wandrnrose7 @whatilearned @whatisnew @wildwoman
@yomibolo

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

Weekend Free Write November 25, 2017

Bittersweet

Protect Nature

Cactus - Guava - Grapes

Weekend Freewrite 3

SteemUSA Potential

Joel Salatin - Interview and Blog Post

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider uprooting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Hey there!

I think you should reach out to writers whose work you want to read. No "opt-in if you include your link in the comments". That way lies madness and bad feelings. But "hey, we really like your work and want to include it on an episode" lies good feelings.

thank you for your feedback. I am still playing with the idea and am trying to figure out a way to make it less work. So, basically, I am thinking that I would love to choose from all freewrites unless someone really doesn't want to be included. That way, permission is implied and I don't have to hunt down everyone. If it becomes too time consuming, it is not sustainable.
But you are thinking peoples feelings get hurt if they are not included? Which probably all regulars will be included one way or another.....

I think you should start a discord channel, then post the daily prompt. That way, you need not notify every member each day. It is less time consuming for you. Those who are genuinely interested will join the discord and participate daily. thanks for making it special for all of us

That is one way to go. And I don't have to give everyone a prompt. It is on my blog and by now, people can and often do find it on their own. Reading and commenting on everyone's post is more of a community and friendship building action and soon, I will only be able to that some of the days. right now, I am off from some of my obligations and can spend the time. Keeping it here keeps activity on the blockchain, we can vote on comments and new people can find us.
I don't think I have the time to manage a discord channel on top of what I do. Believe me, there will be days where either people have to find the prompt and also, others will step up and help to nurture the newcomers along.

Also links should be inserted in the discord channel so that you can easily check it out

Rather, someone who didn't intend to give permission (since sometimes these are fairly raw) would accidentally have allowed you to use it, and then there would be a fuss about opt-in (which is something we all hate that Facebook does)

My counter-proposal would be that people need to give permission to use it. It should be the same amount of work for you, a little more for them, but they're actively opting in.

hmm. true. It already is published for the world to see if it is here on Steemit. We shall see. I still have to work out all the tech stuff. I am so not familiar with all of that.
And then get started with those who already are on board....

Ya. But, while something may be out there for all to see, perhaps it is not the work they want featured. Or, contrariwise, perhaps they feel differently about work being read aloud than being read on a screen. Or broadcasting Or or or. I think people's sense of ownership over content changes when others begin using it, and explicit permission should be sought. Whether it's legal or not, isn't the issue so much as whether it's NICE ;) I think people would feel extra nice being asked. I know it's an extra dollop of work, but perhaps you could solicit a helper! :P (I might be persuaded)

I will take you up on the helper offer :) This has turned into quite a time commitment. But I do love the community that is developing. But there are days when I don't get to my own freewrite..... And that is why I am trying to find an easy way. Some already have said they would like it. so, maybe some will give permission and other's will be asked..... And actually, I would love it if people read there own work. But i don't know all the tech stuff yet.

You let me know! I'll be happy to reach out to people when you're ready to get up and running!

Hi guys.. @marcoriccardi just published his italian freewrite pov about pasta... Im still laughing..i know it's a bit off-topic but It deserves a look 🤣
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@marcoriccardi/pasta-5-minute-freewrite-day-40

I really like how your freewrite sometimes coincides with my situation. Here is my entry for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@iyanpol12/got-invited-for-camping-5-minute-freewrite-challenge

The radio show sounds great. I am more than happy to have any of my things read. I would think that because the pieces are published publicly, that there should be a problem reading them aloud as long as you give the source, but that's out of my realm of experience.

Anyway, here is my freewrite for today!

"Camping?" he said, looking at her suspiciously. "You seriously want to go camping with me? You never want to go camping. Hell, you don't even like going for walks outside!" (to be continued)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@byn/camping-for-a-change-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-camping

Oh no, I haven't even gone to the page yet and I'm already starting to dread the wrath of @byn lol.😮

Hahaha, you know me too well. I guess I need to start switching things up :)

Don't change a thing @byn, I love it and deserve it! 😄

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71