5 Minute Freewrite-prompt: camping

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Freewrite @mariannewest

image
(my photo)

We left Wisconsin before daylight in the pick up truck with all of our camping gear in the back, heading to the mountains of Wyoming for two weeks. We drove straight through, across Minnesota and South Dakota and arrived in the Big Horn mountains as it was getting dark. We turned off the highway onto a dirt forest service road and pulled off on a level spot to set up the tent and get a little sleep. We were exhausted from the drive.
I hadn't been asleep long when I heard a noise just outside the tent . I shook my husband awake, and whispered "listen, something's out there!" He heard it, too.
Assuming it was some huge bear or Mountain Lion, we made a plan. I was to unzip the tent and bolt for the truck, which was only a few feet away. As I got the flap open, he would switch on the flashlight to light my path and be hot on my heels behind me.
Ok.I quietly unzipped the flap, ready to run, and startled the biggest jack rabbit I had ever seen.
We went on to have many more camping adventures. But we still laugh about that terrifying rabbit!

image

image

Sort:  

Silly rabbit :D

He had the biggest ears!

Sometimes its so quiet that a leaf falling on the tent is scary.

Exactly! Especially after listening to highway noise all day.

Haha the legend of the Were rabbit comes to mind. It's pretty scary sleeping in a tent when you have no clue what is 'out there'.

Yeah...the next year we bought a little truck camper to go back out there again. You just never know about those rabbits!

Ha ha, at least it wasn't a bear! Thanks for letting me tag along on your camping trip @melinda010100 It's good to get out of the city even if only, through someone's freewrite :)

I've had a bear come into camp another time, but it was daylight and for some reason that was not nearly as scary. I was just furious because he ate the entire pan of brownies that I had baked quite perfectly over the campfire and had set on a tree stump to cool! And he wrecked the pan!

So very beautiful!

Thanks, sweetie!

Great writing and super photo ;)))

Thank you! You are always so sweet! 💗

Thanks so much! 💕

Excellent writing & amazing nature

Thanks, my friend!

Thank you so much!

Great times with emotions all around. Love to you

So glad that you are back!!! Hope you had a wonderful wedding!!
And rabbits can be scary!! LOL
Weekend is here!!! Two choices :)
3 prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/5-min-weekend-freewrite-5-prompt-1-the-first-sentence
Single prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-5-single-prompt-choice

I did the pasta prompt! And I will join in more often!! I love having a new daughter in the family.

Great!! And it is wonderful to have another daughter in the family!! Looking forward to your stories. Always so lovely to read!!

You are far too kind! But thanks, anyway!

Haha I can picture the scary rabbit. It sounds like a fun camping trip!

It was my first time out West! And that added to the adventure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44