#DailyFreeWriteChallenge: Day 109 - yard sale

in #freewrite6 years ago

Come one come all to the greatest yard sale in all the land where you can find doo-hickeys galore. there are busted old couches and t-shirts with stains covered all over them. Right here are my childhood action figures. Power Rangers were my favorite but now they might be yours! No they aren't dolls mom, they're action figures! Don't mind the cobwebs covering most of everything. They're harmless and so are the spiders crawling around inside of them! Oh, just make sure not to burst the sac of eggs or else we'll really have a problem. Baby spiders are much cuter than full grown arachnids but i'd prefer to only do business with creatures that have 2 or fewer limbs

So, what tickles your fancy? What are you looking for today? Just shopping around? I can sell you this poster for hmmmm $1.99! No? Too much? Well then get off my yard! Haha just kidding please come back and buy something I need to pay my way through college. Student loans really start to take a toll on you after graduation. It's all fun and games until you're living back home at 25 and trying to figure out how you're going to pay the government $50k that you don't have. Maybe next time i should consider applying for some scholarships!

You sir! I see you checking out my antique hourglass. What do ya say? $3? Hmmmm $2.50? Okay, okay. you drive a hard bargain... SOLD! To the man in the blue suede hat! Wait! That's mine too! You want it to be a packaged deal? No sir I just can't part with my 7th grade Halloween costume accessory. Hmmm. $1 you say? Well...that is about a fraction of what it originally costs but if you consider the depreciation of 10 years sitting inside of this damp garage then I think i might be coming out ahead...SOLD!

How about you mam, is there anything that I can find for you?

yard sale.jpg
Photo by Jack Douglass on Unsplash


This post was written via The Most Dangerous Writing App in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest. Today's (Day 109) prompt is "yard sale". If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here.

Sort:  

Love it! Had me smiling. That line about going home at 25 with $50k in debt was too real. Lot's of people are in that same boat. I know some people in the 6 digit debt range for school...insane. Can't wait to see the next :)

Thanks for reading! it's insane how prevalent student debt is in this country while the value of a college education is depreciating!

Yeah, it's not about the education anymore, it's about making sure people are in debt when they get into the real world. Could you imagine a generation not saddled with crazy debt? Things would change. That's for sure.

i'd prefer to only do business with creatures that have 2 or fewer limbs

Swallows
Humans... have.... 4?

You monster!

Haha that's the beauty of a #freewrite! You never quite know what you might say!

Very vivid description..I could almost see the stuff on sale!

Thanks for reading!

This was a great freewrite. That app will kill us all LOL I've done it a couple of times, and it gave me a panic attack using the phone since that's how I steem. I love the part about the teddy bear.<3

Thanks for reading! It's definitely terrifying to use but it keeps me in the spirit of the #freewrite so I really enjoy using it =)

It definitely unleashes a different part of our creativity, doesn't it?

Isn't that the truth that many young adults find themselves back at mom and dad's after college. it takes a lot of yard sales to pay off the loans!!

It's a struggle for sure! If only there was a system in place that truly prepared young adults for the real world without sending them into crippling debt before they even get a chance to start their lives!

You'd make a good auctioneer! lol. Its great stuff. Your direct way of putting forward thoughts is good skill.

Thanks! I've always thought that auctioneering would be fun! Maybe I should consider a new profession...

I always thought it would be better the have 50k in the bank then be 50k in debt, so I became a postal worker for 31 years. Now I'm retired, creating #freewrites on Steemit. What a country!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85