THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS #20 - Wild Chives

in #food8 years ago

Since our move last year to Northern Arkansas, we have found a whole lot of wild edibles that we were previously unfamiliar with. Two main reasons for that exist. For one, many different varieties of plants grow down here that just are not found in Wisconsin. The other reason is that earlier in my life, I just didn't care much about free food.

I know that sounds strange and weird, that someone wouldn't care much about getting some free food, but, unfortunately, many people live their lives that way. These days, though I am no expert, I am learning, applying, and sharing knowledge about the wild edibles that exist all around us!

IDENTIFICATION

Wild Chives look a lot like the garden varieties, but can often be shorter, from what I've seen. Many of the ones that I have seen are in locations that get mowed at least periodically, so their height may be affected by that. If you have ever seen Chives in a garden, you should be able to recognize them when you encounter them in the wild too.

The shape of the Wild Chives is very similar to the ones that I have grown in gardens, though the individual bunches do not seem as thick. Also, they seem to be spread around in the areas that I see them, so when I find one plant, I usually find a lot more in the same area. The hollow shoots are another dead giveaway, as well as the strong "oniony" scent that Chives carry. I suppose that if I ever do mow any with a lawnmower, the aroma would let me know that I just missed noticing some.

DISTRIBUTION & REPRODUCTION

Wild Chives in the US grow in zones 4-8, so I assume that I have encountered them in Wisconsin as well, but that I probably didn't pay any special attention to them or forgot about the encounter. In Arkansas, I have mostly found them growing in either open fields or along wood-lines.

Since Chives are perennials, they grow in the same place that they are established, year after year. The bulbs below the surface send up the round, hollow leaves each spring and continue to be available for foraging for most of the year here in Arkansas. Though I have not seen the Wild Chives flower, probably due to lawnmower intervention, the plants will flower and produce seeds as well, which is how the plant spreads.

NUTRITION

This food is very low in Cholesterol and Sodium. It is also a good source of Thiamin, Niacin, Pantothenic Acid, Phosphorus and Zinc, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin K, Riboflavin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Potassium, Copper and Manganese.

source

This is another one of those wild edibles that can be readily available, but isn't necessarily going to fill you up. In a time of need, it can provide some nutrition, but the strong onion flavor may not exactly be inviting to most.

USES

Wild Chives can be used the same way that garden Chives can be used. We like to go gather our own rather than drive to the market to buy some. Though I'll probably grow some of the garden varieties too, just because they are easy to grow and I can, having the Wild Chives available is a huge blessing too.

Just this evening I was butchering up my second buck and making some butterflied back-straps for dinner. I had my oldest run outside and grab a handful of Wild Chives to add to the mashed potatoes. The only thing that could have made it any better was if we had grown the potatoes ourselves. But... we were still able to get our hunter/gatherer on with the deer meat and Wild Chive spice!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-chives

Except for the cited nutritional information,



Here's previous THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS posts:


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation.)

Sort:  

As I like to say: free food is good. :)

It really is the best price!

Somebody was just telling me about eating the flowers from chives.....and flowers in general. And here you are telling me about wild chives. I have never eaten the chive flower but I will have to try that.
The flower from the garlic is called a scape fyi. I have not eaten that part because I didn't know....now that I do, and I love garlic, I will give that a try as well in the summer. I'm not a homesteader. I probably should have been. but I'm too old for that now so I get to go to farmer's markets and do a bit of gardening.

I am just getting started in some of this, but I like what I am learning.

My children won't have to grow up ignorant and figure it out later, so that's the best part of it!

nom nom nom

When the flowers bloom for green onions and garlic and/or chives, you can pull off parts for the flower and eat them too. I'll sometimes grab a fistfull and toss it on a sandwich or in something I'm cooking, making for a quick little pop in flavor for more nom nom noms.

I like that idea, sounds great!

Thanks for sharing Joe!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It's nice to still be undervalued at this point!

LOL!

Wild chives are a great thing, down by the rail tracks and boat launch near Three Forks, MT we have wild asparagus to harvest. To me, as my 'inner chef' cries out- Green means pesto! 💯 👍 I'll be getting around to posting some food related content soon, here on Steemit. This first weekend introduction has been one of 'tragedy & hope' (so to speak) ... 1st word problems.

https://steemit.com/gardening/@papa-pepper/the-opportunistic-gardener-how-to-get-free-asparagus-seeds

Papa is a fan of wild asparagus, check out that post I linked above if you have not seen it.

Thanks!

Don't forget to wash them off! Dogs love to pee on those things. Also, watch out for lawn chemicals.

Yeah lots of dogs but no chemicals.

We wash, we wash!

I just love this series of yours, this is wonderful and I wish we were taught that food grows and does not come packed in plastic!

Thank you for this as I have learnt a lot from your posts and I have asked my cousins who lives in the village to educate me about the edible plants around here, which are not a part of the store vegetables!:)

I think that it is best for ALL OF US to learn what wild foods we can eat that grow around us.

Financially, it makes sense, and if things ever get really bad, we won't have to starve!

Maybe that's the strong onion odor I smell when I mow!

I assumed I was mowing wild onions. The odor is extremely pungent.

Very interesting that I happened to mention that!

Thanks!

Great post! I've eaten my fair share of wild chives over the years, but I can usually get more than enough for my needs trough my garden :) Here in Norway they are listed as in invasive species, and the government wants to get rid of them from the wild, but they are really easy to find, especially along the coast, so that project is not working all that well for them.

I'm a big user of chives on my potato mash as well. It really gives an easy side dish a lot of taste.

That sounds like something that the government would be up to, and no surprise that they are losing!

Thanks for your comment and support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65761.91
ETH 3385.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62