THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS #12 - Elderberry

in #food8 years ago

Elderberries are one of those foods that seem to have been much more popular years ago. These days, it's not really a household name, though perhaps it should be. I've enjoyed finally being able to taste it, and wish I hadn't missed out for so many years.


IDENTIFICATION

Once you know what you're looking for, Elderberries aren't too hard to identify. I wish I has taken some pictures earlier this year when they were in bloom, because everywhere you now see a berry is where a little white flower used to be. As I drove around earlier this year, I noted everywhere that I saw a big bush covered in white clusters. This seems to be the easiest way to tell from a distance where the Elderberries are growing.

The Elderberry bush grows thick and branches out in every direction. It's a member of the honeysuckle family. It has opposite compound leaves that can vary in number, but seven seems to be pretty common. Some claim that it can look similar to Water Hemlock or Poison Hemlock, which can be deadly, so be careful. It is also worth noting that although Elderberry flowers and berries are edible and delicious, the rest of the Elderberry plant is poisonous.

The flowers and berries are pretty distinct, even when the berries are still green.


USES

The berries can be enjoyed fresh or dried. They are tasty little morsels and dry similar to raisins. We added some to our pancake batter when making the Pumpkin Blossom Fritters. Besides adding them to batters, they are good sprinkled on salads or mixed in with other fruits. Another common use is enjoying it in pies or as a jam.

The edible flowers, called elderblow, can be sprinkled on top of foods as a delightful garnish. They can also be used for fritters. Just dip the whole cluster into your batter and fry. Since I enjoy tea, I was pleased to learn that you can also make a tea from elderblow. Using Elderberries as a food can be as simple as eating them fresh, or they can be used in a wide variety of recipes.

Elderberry is also a common medicinal plant, and can do wonders for boosting the immune system. As always, there may be potential side effects and I am not giving professional medical or nutritional advice; I'm just sharing about a plant that I love to eat.


NUTRITION

As far as nutrition goes, it's high in Vitamin C and a good source of Vitamins A & B6. Iron and Potassium are two of the minerals that it provides in abundance, and it also brings some Calcium, Phosphorus, and Copper to the table.


PROPAGATION

Since Elderberry grows into such a thick plant and can fill in the under-story near the edge of the woods, it can be difficult to access and pick. Around here, it's mixed in with Poison Ivy and Blackberry bushes, creating a potentially dangerous harvesting experience.

Thankfully, it propagates easily. I've already covered one means of Elderberry propagation here in a recent papa-peppers guide to plant propagation post. The ease of propagation means that if you find some growing wild, or have a friend that has a plant, you should easily be able to get your own Elderberry bush growing in a spot of your choice. An easy to access and harvest location close to your own house will allow you to be able to enjoy all the benefits of the Elderberry without too much effort. Harvests will be increased if you are able to mix varieties, but they should produce something on their own.


CONCLUSION

The Elderberry is a delicious and prolific plant with several uses and benefits. It'll become a staple in our diet, and one day I expect to have a whole row of them growing in our homestead, due to the ease of propagation. If you haven't met this plant yet, you may want to check it out. Down is Arkansas, the harvest is just barely beginning.



Here's previous THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS posts:



proof-of-elder

Sort:  

I've heard that you don't want to consume the seeds in large quantities. I've only used them for processing. Elderberry juice is amazing

Yeah, it's best to cook them first to disarm the glycosides contained in the seeds, but some folks enjoy them raw too, with seemingly no side effects. Large quantities of anything can through things off, but some things can get dangerous. Good point!

Big fan of what you do @papa-pepper really cool! Elderberries! <3 Upvoted and now following, we have just released our first edition. Come say hi and I hope you enjoy it. Look forward to seeing more of your work.

Living in Florida, we have a lot of things that fruit...and a lot of things that would kill you if you tried to eat it. But since I'm down here I've had a growing fascination of the edible things that grow wild. I'll be following you to learn more!

that looks good :) yummy!! I don't think I have ever tried this :D

I didn't until this year. We think that they are great.

My Grandmother used to make Elderberry and Apple jelly. It was and always will be my favorite jelly. Good post.

Thanks, good to hear, and good to bring back some memories for you. I'll try making some this year.

Great post again, I love your blog, keep going! -upvoted

do they smell similar to gooseberries ??? I NEED TO KNOW


I only had some ones that I was drying that got rained on last night. These smell like sweet raisins. I wouldn't compare it to gooseberries, so I'll say NO. Hold on, let me smell some gooseberries again just to check.

your dedication is admirable to say the least.


No, not similar. I still don't know what to tell you for scent. @calaber24p if you "NEED TO KNOW", I go pick some gooseberries and mail them to you and you can try to figure it out. Private Message your mailing address to papa-pepper on https://steemit.chat and I'll send them out today if you want. Let me know...

Well, on my end, it was a delicious joke @calaber24p !

Man..... more research. I'll check.

haha im only kidding :)

thanks for this awesome post and for the inspiration of how to shape a steemit account! where are you located? we have mostly red elder here, but some blue as well.... we harvested and dried some last year, and i also made a glycerite

I'm in Arkansas now, used to be Wisconsin. Where are you at?

Coastal Range of Oregon

I ate elderberry jam. Delicious

I'll have to make some this year. Was yours homemade?

Girlfriend cooked jam

Nice... sharing with friends.

I made some delicious elderberry syrup the other day with elderberries i foraged. I froze them first to make them easier to remove, and then juiced them once i picked them off the stem and got rid of most of the twigs and stems leftover. Then i juiced them along with an apple and some ginger, and simmered with honey, boiling it down until it was a nice syrup consistency. Awesome in greek yogurt, or on waffles.

Excellent. Planting food producing plants and reaping a harvest has its own kind of rewarding feeling, but foraging certainly gives you a good feeling too. Man, it sounds like you know how to make some serious syrup. I'll let my wife know. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52