THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS #2 - Lamb's Quarters

in #food8 years ago

#2 - Lamb's Quarters
Lamb's Quarters is another common plant/weed that I have seen all of my life but never was able to appreciate as a food source until recent years. Supposedly, it was a very common item on family dinner tables many years ago, but has lost popularity over the years since it is not readily available at the local grocery store or supermarket. There have been those more self-sufficient types that have been munching on it for centuries though, and now I have joined their ranks. Lamb's Quarters is most commonly used as a spinach substitute, and I really enjoy eating it raw. The texture of it as your teeth cut through it does remind me of spinach,l and the rich, green color is also similar. It can also be enjoyed steemed (intentionally spelled incorrectly ;) #steem) or added to soups. The leaves have a certain shape to them that has lead to the nickname "goosefoot". The plant itself is an annual that grows fast, and reseeds itself prolifically. The word on the street it that this is just another weed, but I've changed my mind, and really enjoy it. To me, it's just another great example of free food that normally goes to waste. If you want to do some research on perhaps finding and eating some for yourself, I believe that the scientific name of the plant pictured is Chenopodium Album.

#steem #steemit #papa-pepper #food #nature #survival #prepping #edibles

Sort:  

Steemed lamb's quarters are yummy I bet.

Yes, steemed indeed.

Cool. Free food!

That's my favorite kind. I'll be posting some more free food in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60915.52
ETH 3364.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48