THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS #11 - Purslane

in #food8 years ago

This one has been a coming for a while, so I figured I'd better get it out there. Let's start off with identification for this one. When I had made my Dandelion post i mentioned finding some weeds while working, and claimed to have found Dandelion, Wood Sorrel, and Purslane. I thought that there were a few varieties, but I was mistaken. The plant pictured that I had consumed was Spurge, a poisonous lookalike. With a little knowledge, you can easily avoid making the same mistake.



POISONOUS LOOKALIKE : SPURGE


Now I'm not sure how poisonous it is, but I ate a few of the plants and don't recall any signs of illness or death. As I said in the intro to this series, I'll eat the plant pictured prior to posting. I'm certainly not an expert, I'm just on an adventure, learning along the way, and steemit is a way for me to share that adventure with you.



ANOTHER LOOKALIKE, ALSO NOT PURSLANE


To properly and accurately identify actual Purslane, it's important to know that it's an annual succulent. Succulents have parts that are designed to store water, so they are often thick, fleshy, and juicy. Note the thickness of the Purslane stem pictured below.



PURSLANE


IDENTIFICATION

I previously had the misunderstanding that there were a variety of purslanes, including the two lookalikes pictured above. Though the lookalikes grow in a similar fashion and can be found in the same areas, they are not Purslane and are not succulents. Purslane has stems that are both thick and smooth. If it has little hairs on it, it's not Purslane. The leaves and stems are both edible, and the leaves are smooth on the edges. Purslane will spread along the ground, branching out from the root. It will die back at the end of the year and regrow new plants from seeds.



PURSLANE "WEED" GROWING IN A POT


FLAVOR

I would liken the flavor of Purslane to that of juicy Swiss Chard. It definitely tastes like it belongs in a fresh garden salad.



MORE PURSLANE IN ANOTHER POT


USES

To enjoy Purslane as a food, most who are familiar with it either eat it fresh in salads, or cook it in stews or soups. There have also been cases of people using the plant medicinally.



BEAUTIFUL, DELICIOUS, & FREE

NUTRITIONAL BENEFITS

  • More Vitamin E than Spinach
  • More Beta Carotene than Carrots
  • Excellent source of Omega-3 fatty acids
  • Phosphorus
  • Potassium
  • Magnesium
  • Vitamin C
  • Riboflavin
  • Considered by some to be a superfood

If you've never tried Purslane, I would recommend it, just make sure that you accurately identify it first.


For an incredible EDIBLE OUTDOORS recipe, click HERE


Here's previous THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS posts:



proof-of-purslane

Sort:  

Purslane is a superfood. Awesome. We have it coming up finally this year. Seems late, but maybe I'm remembering wrong.
There's horse purslane too. It's almost identical, but has round leaves and is pretty bitter. I found out the hard way. :/
We love this time of year because we can go out and pick it in the years. We don't really cultivate it so much as we let it go crazy when it starts and make sure it's going nicely before we start munching. Good stuff. I was just thinking about doing a post on this stuff today, but looks like you beat me to it. :)

My Purslane just recently came up too. Also, if you have something to share about it, do a post on it. I wouldn't consider that wrong, just don't copy my article when you do it. Thanks again!

lol, you mean I can't start copying your stuff and reposting it?

ugghhhh purslane again?! LOL
Still a great post! keep em coming!

No, it's purslane finally. Now that I've made a real post about it, I'm done (talking about it, not done eating it.)

Love to see the Gardening posts. great work! I wrote a post on Purslane a couple weeks ago. you nailed it.

Yeah, I don't have much time to check out what others are up too, but I saw that. It was on my to do list, so hopefully it's good overlap. I'll keep eating what I find and sharing it on steemit. It was neat to see @kepo777 growing Goji Berries from seed; I was up to the same thing. Thanks for the support. Maybe I'll see you in the woods sometime.

i love Pursy!! i just discovered it last year in an awesome seed mix for greens that is locally mixed here in oregon - YUM!

Thanks for the article. Apparently it does grow here and the local extension did an article on adding it to crop choices. I'll have to keep an eye out for it.
http://msue.anr.msu.edu/news/common_purslane_weed_it_or_reap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64