THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS #14 - Wild Lettuce

in #food8 years ago

Wild Lettuce? Yes, even lettuce once roamed the open prairie, and, if you keep your eyes open, you just might find that some is still out there. Lettuce is another one of those plant, that although many have been cultivated by mankind, many other varieties still exist in the wild.


IDENTIFICATION

If you have ever allowed some of your lettuces to go to seed, then you’ll recognize the shape of the stalk and seedy top. This is what first tipped me off. I thought, “Wow, that plant looks just like some of my lettuce did when I let it go to seed.” Upon investigation, I found out that it looked so similar because it was a lettuce that had gone to seed, it just happened to be wild.

Wild Lettuce Stalk

A large plant is a little easier to distinguish from the little ones. Many other plants can look similar to the wild lettuces when they are young. As always, accurate identification is crucial when dealing with wild edibles. Many plants can make you sick, and some could kill you. I’d recommend locating a local expert to help you explore what is good to eat outdoors in your area.

Wild Lettuce Leaf

The leaf of this kind is distinct and serrated, and when broken off, a white sap will ooze out. Leaf shape can vary though, as multiple wild varieties still exist.


USES

It is worth noting that the uses for Wild Lettuce vary. Of course it can be eaten as a food, but some varieties has also been used medicinally. Apparently, the sap may have a mild opium-like effect, and has been used to treat a number of aliments. Some Native American would even smoke the resin. Always consult a physician before using any plant medicinally.

Side Salad Anyone?

The flavor is definitely similar to some of the varieties that I have previously grown in my garden. “Bolted” lettuces have a certain bitter flavor, and bolted wild lettuce is no different. Once it has that slightly bitter flavor, it maybe better to cook it or mix it in with other greens. I a survival situation, just eating the leaves raw will provide you with nourishment.

Wild Lettuce - Another Option for Outdoor Edibles

I like mixing it up anyway, and haven't cooked this variety yet, though, if it winds up being anything like my Edible Outdoors Stir-fry, I'll be more than happy to cook some up.


NUTRIENTS

Wild lettuce can be a source of multiple vitamins and minerals, most notably Fiber and Vitamin A.

Wild Lettuce Can Be Hard See Mixed In With Other Plants

It has long been used as a food source worldwide and also as a medicinal plant.


PROPAGATION

Wild Lettuce reproduces itself from seeds. Collecting some of these seeds is a great way to establish a wild garden in a more convenient location. It's never a bad idea to have some extra food on hand.

Wild Lettuce Gone To Seed


Here's previous THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS posts:



proof-of-lettuce

Sort:  

interesting post. There are endless plants that we can forage out there to be discovered . Its a very worth while skill to have and a good way of getting out into nature . Free healthy food ........ that's not something you come across very often these days : )

I'm all about the free healthy food. Better for the body and better for the wallet too.

Wow. I had no idea there was such a thing as "wild lettuce." Thanks for the links to your other posts, too! There is so much to learn!

Yeah, domesticated animals and cultivated plants have an origin in creation. Some varieties are still out there.

Feel free to learn all that you can from those previous posts. There'll be more to come. I've got some good ones going about plant propagation too.

Didn't know that letuce can make you high :o

Apparently, the sap may have a mild opium-like effect, and has been used to treat a number of aliments. Some Native American would even smoke the resin.

Many still use it as a sedative to help with insomnia. Some even call certain strains "Opium Lettuce".

We have all gotten so used to shopping at the supermarket, or even growing our veggies in the garden, that we often forget that all food was once "wild". Thanks for reminding us to look around.

I prefer to "shop" in the woods. When I'm outdoors, I'm constantly munchin' on somethin'.

Awesome post. If you wanted to go into hermit mode and live in the bush, that would definitely help keep some food in the tummy:)

If it comes to that, I'll be ready. Until then, I'm getting full just practicing. Did you and your boy check out the papa-pepper song yet?

Looks great and its i have never really heard of wild lettuce! You might like my fresh watermelon cake I made today :)

Sounds good, I'll check it out. THANKS!

Great post! That looks just like dandelion.

Similar leaf shape to be sure.

Hehe. So wild lettuce was part of my smokable herb blend called Pillow. It is a strong sedative when smoked. I added mullein to smooth it out, but my customers were saying they prefer smoking it just before going to bed.

I tried eating it and it was too bitter for my tastes. I will eat dandelion leaf, but that is as bitter as I go.

Great write up and series! Cheers.

Mullein is a good one too. It was the first plant features for my Helpful Herbs & Plants with a Purpose series. I've smoked some of that myself back in the day. (Of course back in the day, I smoked everything.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28