Mini Heart Shaped Galettes filled with Mixed Berries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

So, I have another berry galette recipe for you guys today!

DSC_0527.jpg

It just so happens to be National Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Day today, and I know that the tarts I'm sharing have absolutely no rhubarb but that's because it's not really our thing. Sorry, but pure berries is just the way I prefer to do it. I don't think you'll miss rhubarb at all when you taste these though!

DSC_0439.jpg

These sweet heart tarts are so easy and I love how rustic they are too. No fancy tools required to get these lovely shapes and I made mine into hearts but feel free to do circles or even squares if you prefer. They are pretty quick and they only need a little bit of hands-on time.

DSC_0379.jpg

So, when I made these they smelled so good that got everyone excited. We decided to just throw caution to the wind and have a pie and ice cream party in the middle of the day, disregarding any thoughts of spoiling dinner.

DSC_0393.jpg

New motto -> Life’s short so eat dessert first. I think that’s a motto we should all consider living by don't you?? The kids were so excited and I got a thumbs-up from the entire gang for these.

PicMonkey Collage.png

These are fun, delicious, and perfect for basically anytime of year if you have access to frozen berries. I hope you make them.

DSC_0341.jpg

As always, the recipe is available upon request, and I always give an upvote for the first one.



Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

1.Lavender Vanilla Bean French Beignets ( FOOD PHOTO SHOOT )

2.Candy Filled Donut Holes & Malted Chocolate Marshmallow Fluff (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

3.Chocolate Rocky Road Ice Cream w/ Marshmallow Swirls (No churning!) (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

4.Easy Chocolate Ice Cream with Brownie Batter Bites (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

5.Rainbow Vegetable+Hummus Pizza w/ Everything Bagel Pizza Crust [VEGAN] (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

6.Gingerbread Figgy Pudding Cakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

7.Miniature Corn Dogs without the Stick! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

8.Easy Oven Baked Fries and North Idaho Fry Sauce (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

9.Killer Ninja Green Monster Smoothie! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

10.Fast & Simple Ramen Upgrade: Thai Peanut Chicken Noodles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Beautiful pies and photos. I would love to get the recipe for the crust!

Alright, definitely @lakshmi! Here's the recipe for these tarts ->

Ingredients
For Crust:
3 cups all purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon salt
6 tablespoons lard, coconut oil, or vegetable shortening
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) ice cold butter, cubed
1/2 cup ice cold water
For Filling
2 1/2 cups fresh (or frozen) mixed berries
6 tablespoons sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch
juice from 1/2 a lemon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of salt
1 egg and 1 tablespoon of water for eggwash (optional)
Instructions

  1. Combine flour, sugar, and salt in the bowl of food processor and pulse. Add butter and lard and pulse a few times more until crumbly. Add water and process until the dough comes together, adding more water if necessary. Turn out onto lightly floured surface and divide into two halves. Flatten into disks and wrap each in plastic wrap and place in fridge for 1 hour or until you're ready to use it.
  2. While pastry is chilling, make filling. Combine all ingredients for filling in a large mixing bowl and gently toss berries to coat.
  3. Heat oven to 400 degrees F (200 C) and line 2 baking trays very well with parchment, foil, or silicone pads (it's a guarantee these tarts are going to leak.)
  4. Roll out one half of pastry dough on lightly floured surface and use a knife to cut a rounded triangle shape (alternatively, you can just make circles to keep it simple.). Spoon about 1/4 cup of filling onto crust in the shape of a heart (see pictures). Fold about an inch of the edges all the way around filling. Use a large spatula to place on baking tray and repeat steps until all tarts are made.
  5. If desired, brush edges with eggwash for browning then place in oven and bake for 15 - 20 minutes until edges are golden.
  6. Remove and cool for about five minutes before serving. These are great topped with vanilla ice cream.

I like the way you take care of your followers :)

Thanks for noticing that @funnyman. That's all part of it of the steemit experience. I actually wish I could do a better job.

Thank you , I will give it a try!

rhubarb's not my thing either - unless raw

I understand, not everybody likes it

You had a midday pie and ice cream party and the @sandstorm wan't invited? LOL. These look great @gringalicious, I can see why everybody loved them.

You have proven to be a consistent awesome commenter. Thanks so much @sandstorm

Wow, thanks a lot for the kind words! I'll miss a post here or there, but you know how busy it can get on here at times. I do my best @gringalicious to drop by and see what's 'cooking' as often as I can. You're on the daily short list of must go-to accounts :) Have a great weekend, you and the crew!

Yes, it is crazy busy. You have a great weekend also

Haha, you know it! Thanks a lot amiga, I will!

Looks delicious!
I want some! ;)

Oh, I wish I could serve you up some. Maybe someday? Thanks @realmeandi

Thanks so much @oriniklev. I really appreciate you taking the time to comment!

It's a pleasure 🙂

Looks delicious!! I'm going to make this weekend! Thanks for the post!! Followed to find more fantastic food ideas!!

That is so awesome, a new follower. Thanks so much @massivepothole, I love the name!

Amazing. I am going to follow your blog.

That's so sweet, thank you @steemfuzzy!

Have to give this a shot...I can only imagine if it looks like this how tasty it will be...yummm :)

Thank you so much @vj1309!

strawberries are yummy...... thanks as always

Awesome!! This made me hungry.

You deserve a:

(Any avocado-related food post there from you?)

I do love avocados and I'll see if I can add them to a recipe soon @deveerei!

Great, will look forward to that! I'm actually intrigued, the only way I eat avocados is by adding milk and sugar to them. That's it, we don't use that for cooking here in the Philippines (except for the elites and chefs).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52