Lavender Vanilla Bean French Beignets ( FOOD PHOTO SHOOT )

in #food7 years ago (edited)

So you know how I said it's National Jelly-Filled Doughnut Day?

DSC_0679.jpg

Since jelly inside doughnuts isn't my kinda thing, I thought I'd just do some other kind of filled doughnuts!

DSC_0648.jpg

These are doughnut’s cousins with a snoody French name, but they are basically just squared doughnuts. My grandma likes to make natural lye soaps and recently our friend brought her this huge bag of lavender to use in them. It was more than she needed so, of course, my first thought was to use the extra for something edible! And what better to pair with it than vanilla bean, yum!

DSC_0702.jpg

I’ve always liked the smell of lavender in lotions and things but I’ve never tasted it, so I was very pleasantly surprised that it’s delicious, especially with a beignet and a load of vanilla frosting!

DSC_0738.jpg

If you aren’t a big fan I guess you could skip it but I think it really sets these off. At the very least you should try adding just a tiny bit. It is very strong and if you add too much it will probably make you feel like you’re eating shampoo, but if you get the right balance it’s so good with these.

DSC_0680.jpg

My mom and sister especially loved these! I'm thinking you will too!!!!

DSC_0740.jpg

As always, the recipe is available upon request, and I always give an upvote for the first one.



Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

1.Chocolate Rocky Road Ice Cream w/ Marshmallow Swirls (No churning!) (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

2.Easy Chocolate Ice Cream with Brownie Batter Bites (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

3.Rainbow Vegetable+Hummus Pizza w/ Everything Bagel Pizza Crust [VEGAN] (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

4.Gingerbread Figgy Pudding Cakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

5.Miniature Corn Dogs without the Stick! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

6.Easy Oven Baked Fries and North Idaho Fry Sauce (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

7.Killer Ninja Green Monster Smoothie! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

8.Fast & Simple Ramen Upgrade: Thai Peanut Chicken Noodles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

9.Homemade Classic Vanilla Bean Cannoli (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

10.Philly Cheesesteak Nachos in a Skillet (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Da-Da-Da-Damn Gringa! I bet this one is bomb. 💥

Probably the most tempting sweet I've see you post thus far.

The presentation and your photo op skills are kicking butt too!😎

Hehe, thank you so much @itsmein3d! I'm super happy you like this post.

Your posts make me so hungry every single time. This is bad for a diet lol. Oh my, I'm so excited for cheat days!!! I don't know how people go without 'em! Even better than donut day, whatever day you can pick pizza AND donuts ;)

Loading...

Oh and may I have the recipe for these delicious bad boys?

haha you are right - very bad for diet :D

I once ate some lavender dark chocolate, this was the first time I tasted lavender, I had always loved the fragrance but never tasted it.
From that day on I knew lavender could be a secret ingredient in some very mystical recipes of which this is a very fine example!

They look absolutely delicious, another great job Tori!

Wow, what a great comment! Super well thought out and executed. Thanks for all of the effort!

omg i cant look at these donuts anymore, all these things are making me really crave one!! and these look sooo good! have you heard of cronuts? omg!!

Yes, I have heard of the 'cronuts.' They sound dangerous to me, LOL. Thanks so much for the consistent awesome comments.

I have never done this, but if I could pull a favor: I finally got my sister to join. Could you take a look at her intro post FULL OF HOPE. I would really appreciate it

yeah sure :)))) I'm trying to get my sister to join as well!!

Wow! Looking delicious!!!!

Really delicious

Oh my goodness, those look so yummy. :D I'd love the recipe if its not too much trouble please. :D

Yes, of course! The recipe is posted at the top of the comments. Thanks @frostyamber!

Thank you very much. :D

One question, when you say 2 tablespoons of heavy cream, is that the same thing as whipped cream or is heavy cream something else? Just making sure, need all the help I can get when it comes to cooking. :D

Girl.. you always knows how to make me hungry! so delicious!!

I'm so glad to know you like this recipe @pointtojoin!

Definitely taste it like dancing on the tongue

So glad you liked this post @mirzacho!

These look amazing

If I do say so myself......they ARE! Thank you so, so much @songbird!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54