Gingerbread Figgy Pudding Cakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

You wanna know something absurd?Yesterday was National Gingerbread Day!

DSC_2616.jpg

Please excuse the French but (WTF????) Sorry, but I'm strongly of the opinion that gingerbread belongs almost exclusively in December so to celebrate it in June just doesn't register in my mind. On the other hand, I'm realizing that there are times in life when you just have to learn to go with it so today I'm sharing a very out of season recipe.

DSC_2619.jpg

Alright, so tell me I’m not the only one who grew up listening to that line about "figgy pudding" in the lyrics of "We Wish You a Merry Christmas" and picturing a bowl of purple custard. Anyone?

DSC_2618.jpg

I kind of always felt that line “we won’t go until we get some.” was a little demanding and that figgy pudding must be really something to merit it. I have to say that my attempt at creating the infamous dessert was actually really good.

DSC_2622.jpg

You also have to keep in mind that the time period of this song, there weren’t 24-hour supermarkets open a few blocks away where you could swing by and grab a cake mix. No, they had limited resources and dried fruits were a novelty that most people reserved only for special occasions so no wonder the song alludes to the fact that they weren’t willing to leave without their figgy pudding.

DSC_2624.jpg

In essence, figgy pudding (and pretty much any pudding mentioned prior to this last century) is referring to a cake. A fruit cake actually. Traditionally they used the things they had like dried fruits, dry breadcrumbs, some basic baking ingredients, and a touch of alcohol, to make a dessert that was affordable during the winter time. It’s a bit unusual in our modern Christmas dessert line-up but I have a thing for tasting historically based foods.

DSC_2645.jpg

And a surprise twist in the recipe, I made them with gingerbread cookie crumbs instead of breadcrumbs. I think it made these extra delish and so did browning the butter. Oh my goodness, and the glaze, wow! Just try not to start drinking it when the smell it in your kitchen. The glaze is a must!

DSC_2665.jpg

As for the cute little toppings that are probably familiar to a lot of you, those are holly leaves. I felt so dumb when I went out in my own backyard and realized we had a huge holly tree that I had neglected to notice for a longest time. They were perfect for finishing these cakes off. The only thing is, it’s summer here, so there aren’t any berries on the holly tree so I decided to just use some fondant for the "berries". You have to admit that these look so classic, like they jumped right out of a Christmas Carol or Little Woman!

DSC_2659.jpg

Okay, so I feel like I’ve completed just about every priority on my bucket list now that I know what figgy pudding is, haha jk, but it was fun to try.

As always, the recipe is available upon request, and I always give an upvote for the first one.



Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

1.Miniature Corn Dogs without the Stick! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

2.Easy Oven Baked Fries and North Idaho Fry Sauce (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  1. Killer Ninja Green Monster Smoothie! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Fast & Simple Ramen Upgrade: Thai Peanut Chicken Noodles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Homemade Classic Vanilla Bean Cannoli (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Philly Cheesesteak Nachos in a Skillet (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Simple Strawberry Turnovers using Fresh Strawberries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT) & Finally 30,000 SP

  6. Coconut Milk, Mixed Berry, and Greek Yogurt Smoothie

  7. Melty Penne Pasta with Gouda, Ham, & Zucchini (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. MAYAN CHOCOLATE CHILI MOLTEN LAVA CAKES - Food Photo Shoot

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

upppp.gif

That's a cool gif, thanks so much for taking the time to comment @condra

I was thinking about making some gingerbread for National gingerbread day. Agreed, feels like an odd time of year for this National day. But come on, who doesn't love gingerbread? May I request the recipe? Would love to give it a try :)

Loading...

Looks like Christmas came early ... Simply stunning pictures @gringalicious .. would love to have a bite of that pudding

I would love to get you some. I am in the states in the moment and I have been entertaining the idea of shipping. It would be a huge process to nail down quality control etc. but it's an idea. Thanks for commenting @bitrocker2020

That would be great if it were possible. However by the time it actually reaches me in South East Asia .. it would be just in time for Christmas . 😂😂 Looking forward for your next awesome post

Yeah, you have a point there. Down in Southern Chile, it is the same way. It takes for ever if at all.

These are SURELY some of the best #Food #images I've witnessed. Actually put me in a "holiday" mood, even though it ain't the Holidays !

Supreme photography - at least I felt so.

Hope u keep up this FINE work .. Kudos to you.

And, btw I am going to make this figgy pudding.

Will be watching
(Followed u )

it looks like delicious

Looking sow good wanne start eating now !!

Thanks so much for commenting @bjokkeb, I really appreciate it

scrumptious!

Thank you so, so much @gardenlady!

Those leaves are a great added touch. Amazing clicks as usual.

Got me craving! :-)

I am glad I could give you some craving @sidwrites. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment

Followed, upvoted and resteemed

Wow, a trifecta, a follow, an upvote and a resteem, thanks so much @lauzy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51