Chocolate Chip Black Forest Sticky Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Goooooooood morn-IN!!!!

I made something really, really yummy for you that involves yeast and cherries……need I say more? Please tell me you are among the group of awesome peoples on the planet who agree that chocolate and cherries are a match made in heaven. Like, it doesn’t get better than waking up to this yumminess!

Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns (2).jpg

So just fyi, “black forest” basically refers to anything chocolate-cherry in case you’ve never heard of it as a flavor before. I don’t remember the first time I heard of it but when I did I fell in love immediately (…..which is what I’m hoping will happen when you taste these!). It seemed like a new thing since I’d never heard of it before then, but apparently it’s from a classic German cake recipe that dates back to like the 20’s, so I guess I just don’t get out much.

Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns (3).jpg

All I know is that I heard the name and my brain went straight to a song called The Dark Black Forest that was on a dance dance revolution game that my siblings and I used to have for Playstation. My little brothers are major game nerds but I never really got into video gaming much when I was younger. The ones that involve dancing though, those were so much fun to me. We would play them for hours after school with our friends and see who could get the highest score. (I kinda think you have to go and listen to this song now. Just let it play as background music while you finish this post.) Omg, hearing it makes me so happy and nostalgic! I feel like the good games went out of style forever ago, but this one was a classic. Would I sound really old if I said they don’t make em like they uses to?

Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns (4).jpg

Speaking of things that have gone out of style, I have to ask …..did flair jeans die? I personally do not like skinny jeans, but that seems to be becoming more and more the mandatory uniform for this decade. I think it’s even worse in Chile. Seriously, you can’t walk down the street without seeing a dozen people wearing pants so tight that they might as well just paint their legs. I did almost no shopping when we lived there because of that, preferring to shop when we visited the States, but eventually I knew I was going to need something so I'm happy to be here now. I’m already not a big fan of shopping in the first place. Sorry for the total side tangent guys, I’m shutting up the babbling, I promise.

Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns (5).jpg

Okay, so morning buns. I have name confusion when it comes to these. When I made caramel pecan rolls a few months ago I had the hardest time deciding what to call them because in my house everyone defaults to calling them “caramel cinnamon rolls” and these are ”cherry cinnamon rolls”. I decided on ”morning buns” because it seems like “sticky buns” are usually with caramel and “rolls” are usually with cinnamon and brown sugar, but I’m still confused a little.

Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns (6).jpg

Some of my trusted taste-testers liked these even more than cinnamon rolls, believe it or not! I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned the fact that cinnamon rolls are kind of a huge deal in my family. My mom has made her famous rolls for years and the kiddos usually ask for them for their birthdays instead of cake. The ones who liked these more than cinnamon ones said it was because the bittersweet chocolate and tart cherries help to give it a more balanced level of sweetness, whereas cinnamon rolls tend to be over the top and wind up making you feel like you never want to eat again.

Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns (7).jpg

I was inspired to make these because our cherry season seemed so short last year and feel like I almost missed it and I don't want to do that again this year. If it came down to a choice I’d honestly pick berries first over cherries but I’ve really been loving cherries this year more than I remember. I think they are also the perfect thing for the weekend. I just wanted to at least make something to showcase them while it’s still summer here.

Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns (8).jpg

One more thing, something awesome about this recipe is if you make the dough and let it slowly rise in the fridge overnight it’s a really fast fix for breakfast and the perfect way to show how much you love someone when they wake up to them. I’m telling you, these rolls could win hearts!

Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns (10).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Healthy Snack Time 3-Ways! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Pomegranate, Watermelon, & Mint Slushies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Creamy Chicken Taquitos + Cilantro Avocado Hummus (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Mint Chocolate Chip Semifreddo Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Chocolate Chip Raspberry Filled Cupcakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Almond White Chocolate Vanilla Truffle Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Creamy Alfredo Chicken and Rosemary Lasagna (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Chocolate & Vanilla Malted Pudding Brownie Trifles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Jalapeno Popper Bacon Cheeseburgers + Homemade Buns (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns..jpg

Sort:  

Wow! May I request the recipe pls?

Loading...

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Join @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396, or delegate/donate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead!

Please upvote this comment! We will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: dropAhead to focus on curating posts, core of the project!

This would be so good with my coffee this morning! Fantastic food photography, just amazing

Thanks @noboxes! So glad you liked this post.

Looks tasty

Thanks @moksamol! So happy you like it.

This is my fave post of yours so far, hands down. It's gorgeous and funny and sweet. No wonder you're so popular on Steemit! 😍

Oh, thank you so much @chessmonster! You're such a great Steemit friend!

The feeling is mutual, Tori. 😊

OMG! This looks so delicious! :)

I have never seen anything in my life look so delicious, thats insane

Wow, thanks for the huge compliment @moderninvestor! Steem on!

I'm not really a fan of cherries and chocolate when combined. But they do look too good to pass on.

Totally cool @shaz, we all have are tastes. Thanks for reading though!

yummy


Upboat is a friendly half-human, half-robot which hopes to help promote the better posts of Steemit by trying to ensure they get the recognition they deserve.
@UPBOAT looks for numerous signals before deciding on who to UPBOAT and is likely to summon our robot friends to share some robot love with you to show affection.


I've been at sea for 4 days and have given 53 upboats!
PLEASE HELP @UPBOAT STAY AFLOAT ON THE STEEMIAN SEAS BY DELEGATING SPARE SP OR PATCH WATER LEAKS BY UPBOATING.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37