Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Hey Steemians!

So I'm writing this from my new house and even though I'm not all moved in yet, we're working on getting things set up. Today I wanted to do a throwback recipe from something my pregnant sister was craving back when we lived in Chile.

Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal Puffs.jpg

One of her cravings was really random; peanut butter Cap’n Crunch. That’s pretty random, right? I knew there was no way we were going to be able to find anything remotely close down there unless I made it. It’s hard enough just to find peanut butter there. It was clear since we moved there that there is a general dislike of peanut butter in Chile's culture so the hope of finding a peanut butter breakfast cereal is pointless, haha.

Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal Puffs (5).jpg

Well, as I’m always up for a challenge, I decided I was going to make her some Cap’n Crunch. I think this recipe was similar enough to curb the craving. She said she likes it even better actually.

Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal Puffs (8).jpg

This recipe is really simple you guys, although it does take a few minutes to roll it into balls. I tried 3 different methods of doing this. First I tried simply pinching off pieces and rolling them into balls. That was taking longer than I had patience for so then I decided to roll it into a sheet with a rolling-pin, cut criss-cross lines to make 1/2 inch squares, then roll the little squares into balls. You could also roll small sections at a time into skinny snakes and cut them slice and bake style.

Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal Puffs (9).jpg

However you want to do it, you really just want to get it into little pieces in order to get lots of crunch on all the edges. That’s what makes it taste so much like the real thing. It would be a lot of fun to do it with kids helping. I mean, how cool is it to get to make your own cereal?

Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal Puffs,.jpg

It turns out that it’s also a lot of fun to photograph this cereal too. I probably annoyed everyone in the house to death with all of my rapid clicking and crazy fascination with pouring milk onto cereal. I know we’ve all done it a million times as kids so I don’t understand why it’s so much more fun when cameras are involved. There’s just something about the way it splashes over the cereal. Huh.

Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal Puffs (3).jpg

So basically you just really need to try making this. It’s totally worth the time and if you have any amount of sanity you can’t help loving it. Plus it’s gluten free if that matters to you. Oh, and you can give it your own funny cereal name, put it in an empty cereal box, and then paint the name on the box. You’ve got to try it!

Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal Puffs (6).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Chocolate Chip Raspberry Filled Cupcakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Almond White Chocolate Vanilla Truffle Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Creamy Alfredo Chicken and Rosemary Lasagna (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Chocolate & Vanilla Malted Pudding Brownie Trifles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Jalapeno Popper Bacon Cheeseburgers + Homemade Buns (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Chocolate Covered Potato Chip Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

  7. Quick and Simple Teriyaki Beef Meatballs (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Frozen White Chocolate Caramel Frappuccino (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Smoked Salmon, Cream Cheese, & Capers on Sourdough Bagels (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal Puffs,.jpg

Sort:  

Looks amazing! Can I have the recipe please? :) How's the new house btw? :D

Of course @rkrijgsman! Thanks!

Ingredients

1 2/3 cups peanut butter
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
2 tablespoons coconut oil
1 1/4 cups sugar
1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
2 1/2 cups corn flour
2 cups oat flour (gluten free if needed)
1/2 cup rice flour

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (160 C) and line one or two baking trays with parchment or silicone pads.
    Warm butter, coconut oil, and peanut butter in a microwave safe bowl or saucepan over low heat until very soft. 2. Mix in sugar until very smooth then add salt, vanilla, and soda. Add milk and flours and stir until well mixed.
  2. Roll into small balls the size of most puff cereal and place on baking tray. This part can be a little time consuming so if you have extra hands around you might consider recruiting.
  3. Bake for 15 - 20 minutes, depending on your oven, until golden brown and perfectly crunchy, stirring halfway through.
  4. Cool completely before serving.

So easy! Gonna try this one out this weekend. Thank you for sharing :)

😋😋*A quick note in case the dough being crumbly, as I know this can happen. My suggestion to fix it is to first add a little more coconut oil (1-2 tablespoons) and once you’ve got that mixed in start adding a little more milk as needed until it becomes a bit more workable. 😋😋

Never will thought making your own peanut butter involve milk. Thanks for showing this.

Great! Thanks for sharing the recipe, they look delicious.

It seems to be hungry when I eat a bowl. ; )

Looks delicious!

i will follow your account to see how are you doing;) please follow me

looks nice

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Join @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396, or delegate/donate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead!

Please upvote this comment! We will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: dropAhead to focus on curating posts, core of the project!

I love Captain Crunch. You have motivated me to make it to the store!

I hope it motivates you to make your own?

I had no idea you could make cereal at home. Captain crunch, watch out, Gringalicious is in the house!

Haha, yes it is possible and I've proved it. Thanks for the support @noboxes!

awesome! you know your average store bought cereal is made from the worst quality GMO grains covered in poison and mixed with artificial vitamins that the body cant really do much with.

now you can put good quality ingredients and actually have a healthy breakfast!

Thanks for sharing this!

You are so welcome and you are so accurate about the store bought. I hope this encourages you to make your own @eco-alex. Great commenting

if i ever ate breakfast i would!
i fast half the day it seems and eat a good lunch and dinner..
I know they say breakfast is the most important meal of the day but i guess we'r all different! i just can't eat before 1pm! I drink lots of lime water until then!

i could have it for dinner though!

Looks pretty good, BUT no cinnamon? :(

Nope, but feel free to throw some into yours if you want @awareentity. Maybe I'll do cinnamon toast crunch next time, YUM!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36