Pomegranate, Watermelon, & Mint Slushies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Happy National Watermelon Day! Cheers!

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately and my head hits overload every once in a while. Sometimes it seems like there is just so much pressure and unknowns to consider. The future is like this eerily blank canvas that I have no choice but to paint on. It may end up a big blob of mess or it could be an art piece, but either way I’m holding the brush and it’s up to me. Please tell me everyone has these kind of days.

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (2).jpg

Well, on days like those it’s nice to make simple recipes that don’t require much difficulty but still take up my time and keep my head busy. Sometimes I just need that to keep from over-thinking everything.

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (4).jpg

These slushies have a bit of summer fruit, a bit of winter fruit, and some spring fresh mint so I guess they are kind of an all season drink. They will cool you down if it’s summer or they’ll make you think of summer heat when you make them during the winter.

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (5).jpg

I took way too long trying to photograph these because, that’s right, I was over-thinking things and all of the beautiful slush melted into a flat looking drinks. Just imagine them with mounds of slush on top for me because that’s what they did look like.

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (12).jpg

I made them with raw sugar and even used that to make pretty rims on the cups. I also used frozen watermelon that I froze over the summer. It was mostly seedless but not quite so I still had a few seeds in these slushies but the kids didn’t mind just spitting them out. I heard a rumor once that watermelon seeds are poisonous so I looked it up and found some people that actually recommend eating them because they are healthy. I’m not really sure about that but I promise that you won’t grow a watermelon in your belly if, like me, you fail to catch all of the seeds. My brother-in-law said that I should spike these and I thought I’d mention that you can if you want to I just don’t live around people who are big on drinking and I’m not old enough yet.

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (9).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Creamy Chicken Taquitos + Cilantro Avocado Hummus (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Mint Chocolate Chip Semifreddo Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Chocolate Chip Raspberry Filled Cupcakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Almond White Chocolate Vanilla Truffle Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Creamy Alfredo Chicken and Rosemary Lasagna (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Chocolate & Vanilla Malted Pudding Brownie Trifles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Jalapeno Popper Bacon Cheeseburgers + Homemade Buns (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Chocolate Covered Potato Chip Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

  10. Quick and Simple Teriyaki Beef Meatballs (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (11).jpg

Sort:  

🌷Mmm, this is definitely worth a try! :) can I have the recipe, please?

I'm thrilled to share it with you @nomads! 😁 😁 😁

Ingredients
4 1/2 cups seeded watermelon cubes, frozen
1 cup pomegranate arils (about 1 large pomegranate)
1/2 cup sugar in the raw plus more for cups
2 cups cold water
handful of fresh mint leaves

Instructions

  1. To make the sugared glasses, dip the rims of chosen glasses into warm water and then into a shallow bowl of raw sugar. Allow to dry for at least 30 minutes
  2. Pour arils and water into a blender or food processor and blend for about a minute. Pour through a mesh strainer and press as much liquid out of seeds as possible then discard seeds.
  3. Pour juice back into blender and add watermelon, sugar, and mint and blend until smooth but thick like a slushy. If you 'd like it thicker you can add some ice as well.

🌷Thank you!!!

Smoothies from you have the yummies!!

Haha, I'm so happy you think so @fullofhope! 😂 😂 😂

That sounds so good right now! 👍😃

I know, right? It's hot this summer. Haha, thanks Lovely!😋😋😋

Wow, just simply amazing photography and what a fantastic idea, just mind blowing

Super glad you like it @noboxes!

Really nice shots. I like the colors, the reds and greens and different angles. Aaaah, just beautiful shots...looks refreshing too :-)

I am going to make one today! Yum!

That sounds like a great plan @lifes-a-donut! Thanks! 😜😜😜

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Join @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396, or delegate/donate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead!

Please upvote this comment! We will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: dropAhead to focus on curating posts, core of the project!

I've never been big on watermelon, but your pictures of it in a glass look like there worth trying!! Upvoted and following!!

Yeah, my Dad is not a big watermelon guy either, but he likes this recipe. I hope you give it a try @jamie-smith and thanks so much for commenting

Pomegranate and watermelon perfect combination!

nice recipes and best shake water ma loon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36