The Scarlet Tulip

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

I put tulips under the pillows and then I set fire to the house.

I hated tulips. Probably because she loved the stupid things. I hated them almost as much as I hated her. But I couldn’t set fire to her.

That would be illegal.

Why did she do this to me? How could someone drive another human so far? Where is the humanity?

I cut through the woods to the lane and got in my car. Noone had seen me, I was sure of it. I drove a little ways away, then set the car to idle and watched the smoke plume toward the heavens.

After a minute or two, I could see tips of flames tickling above the treeline.

Her precious tulips. What a dumb flower.

What a poor excuse for a human.

At least now she would be busy for a while I suppose. I gathered her to decide one of two paths- stay and clean up. Rebuild her ugly little house and replant those horrid tulips. Or maybe, just maybe, she was smarter than she looked. Perhaps she would get the hint.

She just might make the right decision and move.



I cheated on my spouse and it wasn't the first time.

She should never have told me. Hell, she shouldn’t have shared that secret with anyone.

She had told me after I had known her all of 18 and a quarter minutes.

That was the day my world turned inside out. At that very moment I knew it was my spouse she was cheating on her own with. It felt like I had taken a sledgehammer the stomach.

Trust your instincts. They are never wrong.

People tell me things. People confide in me all the time. I don’t know what it is about me that is so approachable and comfortable. But all my life, people have been telling me their secrets.

I guess that’s why I became an advice columnist for the nations top paper. Syndicated in 21 countries and even on several radio stations.

Hell, my own husband didn’t even know. That was part of the NDA I had signed when I agreed to do it. They couldn’t tell- but neither could I.

But… moving on…

She was wearing a tulip in her hair when she confirmed what my gut already knew to be true. A bright red tulip that had no business shining it’s happiness and cheer at a time like this. The fucking tulip just stared at me. Mocking me. haha my owner is fucking your husband. You couldn’t even hang on to a man!

Maybe it’s because I hated tulips?



He’s always hated my work. Well, the advice column anyway. He says he loves my other writing, but I suspect he’s lying. Saying that just to keep the marital confines at peace.

The thing he does with the newspaper is what sealed her fate.

He doesn’t even like flowers. Never gardened a day in his life. And now he’s lovingly wrapping tulips for the winter. Using my advice column to keep their immoral little roots warm from the crisp fall air.

That tulip. Staring me down. Mocking my everything. All I had worked for. My job. My marriage. My life.

She had to go.

They had to die.

My mind played a fun little film of her being melted by the flames. She knew why, I could see it in her eyes.

I hadn’t checked. She very well could be in the house.

I drove home. Shut the door behind me. Walked up the stairs and set my purse and coat on the chair. While the shower warmed I stepped into the bedroom to gather my pajamas and stopped.

There, peeking out from under my pillow.

A red tulip.



This is my entry to the Weekend Freewrite challenge held by the ever impressive @mariannewest. A freewrite is when you set your timer to 5 minutes and write about the prompt without thinking.

This weekend freewrite is a bit more intensive. And fun! You get your first prompt, write for 5 minutes, then click for a second- continuing your story with the new prompt for 5 minutes, then finally get your third prompt and for the final 5 minutes finish your story with the new conflict.

If you love a challenge or love to write, or just want to exercise your creative talents join the Freewrite! It's a total rush!

If you haven't done the challenge yet and want to, DO NOT READ FURTHER! Click HERE to begin the challenge with the first prompt :)




My prompts for this challenge were:

  1. I put tulips under the pillows and then I set fire to the house.
  2. I cheated on my spouse and it wasn't the first time.
  3. The thing he does with the newspaper.

This was super fun! I am so happy I found the Freewrite challenge and @mariannewest :)

Write on my friends <3 Let's start this week out with a bang! Own it- it is yours after all :) Happy Monday!

images via pixabay



I appreciate your support :)

With Love and Light and Good Mojo to my Tribe!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 Prepare for Economic Collapse
~
You Can Save the World
~
How To Lead Them to Focus on the Positive with Science!
~
A Very Cool Thing Happens When You Visualize Success
~
Shoe
~
2:30am, Can't Sleep
~
The Ocean Claims Her Own
~
How to Place Images at the Sides of Your Posts
~
Use Colors as a Tool for Your Happiness and Success
~
Beware of Online Predators
~
Black and White 7 Day Photo Challenge Day 1 WWII Dock
~
Black and White 7 Day Photo Challenge Day 2 Summer Ocean

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

@arbitrarykitten You are so talented and your writing is letting that Talent shine through................

Much appreciated my friend :)

Love it. I have about 5 people on Steemit whose stories I really enjoy and cannot wait to read. You are one of them

That makes me smile :) I'm happy you enjoy them <3

Great words. I hope this wasnt a real story. I was like oh my... i love how you played all 3 topics into one!!! Upvoted and resteemed

Thank you!

MuAhahHaaa

Lol! No, total fiction ;)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Very nice and iteresting. Keep it up.

I'm glad you enjoy it :)

So cool!!! And the end!!! Will be back with a vote. Trying to keep it high for you all :)
do you have a recent post where you explain your editing services? Or when you write one, let me know. I like to share it to the group......
Today's : https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-32-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-scream

Awesome, thanks hun!

I'm writing Scream as soon as my headache stops screaming ;)

go away headache!!! sorry to hear that!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98