Story - ALICE - Part 5

in #fiction7 years ago

Hey SteemFam!

Here's part 4 of ALICE.

To read Parts 1 through 4, please click the links below:

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4


We got to the "haunted house" just before sundown. Now all we had to do was wait for the next-door neighbors to turn in for the night. My parents thought that I was at a friends house for a sleepover. They pretty much let me do whatever i wanted because they knew that I was responsible... in hind-sight, maybe they should have kept a closer eye on me. But for now, I was safe.

"How long do we have to sit among these bushes?"

"Just a little while longer... why are you so fidgety?"

"I do not enjoy bugs crawling on me"

"Well hold on for a little longer would ya?"

"I could just go and find out if the place is haunted or not you know? Hahaha... I guess it will be haunted once I go in there"

I gave her an "are you kidding me" look. How was I supposed to explain to Jacob how I know whether the place is haunted or not? I'm not psychic!

"How else are you able to see and talk to me?"

I looked at her... confused. Did she just read my mind?

"No way"

"Huh? Did you say something?"

"I-I think I saw something move inside the house..."

"Oh man this is awesome! I told you it was haunted. I can't wait to see what's in there."

"That was close", I thought to myself.

"Nice one."

Oh shut up!

"Well looks like the last of the neighbors has turned off all their lights. Let's wait a few more minutes and then go."

"Wait... are you guys breaking and entering?"

"Okay! Let's go"

Jacob and I made a bee-line for the back door. Everything seemed so still. We looked around to see if we were noticed... we weren't.

"This is wrong... you can't just break into someone's home"

"If you can read my mind... SHUSH!"

Jacob reached into his pockets and pulled out, what I assumed were, his lock picking tools. I'd never see him use them before. He didn't want me to learn how to pick locks. He said he didn't want me investigating houses without him.

"Got it!", he whispered.

"Don't expect me to break you out of jail."

We snuck inside the house like a couple of rats. Alice, of course, didn't have to... but for some reason, she did.

"What do we do now?"

"We need to stick together... search every room. Did you get the recorder?"

"Got it in my backpack."

I took off my backpack and took out my recorder. Apparently, it can record ghosts' voices too.

"Oh no... if it can pick up ghosts' voices then..."

I turned around to tell Alice to be quiet... but she was gone.

To be continued...


Some illustrations may be uploaded later.


My contest, sponsored by @voiceshares, just ended.

Click here to find out who won.


I recently finished writing a short story, based on Netflix's Stranger things. If you would like to read it, please check the links below:

Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 1
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 2
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 3
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 4


Thank you for reading 🙂

Please upvote, resteem and follow.


Check out my other works below

About- Wild Fire
About- Red and Gold


Click here button to follow me and stay tuned for more to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44