Story - Alice - Part 2

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Hey SteemFam!

Here's Part 2 of ALICE.

To read Part 1, please click here


The next day I met up with Jacob in school and told him about what had happened. He too deduced that I was only imagining things. Afterwards he recounted his tale of how he escaped the cops. As he ran out onto the streets, the cops spotted him and chased him for about five minutes till they got exhausted. According to him, they let him slip away because he was just a kid.

I think he’s right. They only just needed to give us a good fright.

On our way back from school, I decided to go back into the same alley to check if I might find that girl there.

As I expected… she was nowhere to be seen.

I turned away from the alley, and as I began to walk I heard a faint “hello”. Not only was it faint, but it was also quite eerie… almost like an echo with no source. It sent a number of chills down my spine all at once, like a bucket of cold water had just been poured over my head.

I looked back slowly, and saw nothing. I continued to walk and then I heard the “hello” again, but this time more distinct. It sounded like it was coming from the alley.

I turned and made my way towards the alley.

I froze upon reaching the entrance. There was something in there… I could feel it.

“Hello” I said, after mustering up my courage.

Suddenly, I heard a really loud ringing of a cycle bell. It startled me and I turned immediately to face the source. It was just a bunch of kids cycling in the streets.

I laughed at myself for getting freaked out so easily.

I smiled nervously and turned to face the alley again… my heart skipped a beat. I held my breath as I stared at the apparition in front of me with disbelief. I was standing face to face with the girl I saw before, the one I almost ran into. Only, she looked more like a hologram than a real person.

I could tell that there was something abnormal about her.

I did not know what, till she faded away right in front of me.

“……and the cat got hit by the car and everyone was screami-”

“What?”

Alice stared at me with a rather annoyed look.

“Nothing happened. There was no cat.” She continued.

“I just said that to get your attention. You zoned out again. You do that a lot you know. It’s very rude... not to mention, annoying.”

“Someone at some point of time, must have informed you that you have a sick sense of humour, right?”

I was appalled by the fact that she would say something like that when she knew that I was sensitive when it came to animals.

“It wasn’t a joke. Do you see me laughing?”

Can ghosts laugh?, I thought to myself. Do they have emotions like we do? I mean they did at some point, right? When they were still alive?

“I should have found someone else to haunt.” Alice exclaimed. “You’re boring”

She went on ahead of me, trying to get someone else to notice her as she went by.

No one could see her.

No one but me.

To be continued...


Some illustrations may be uploaded later.


I recently held a short story writing contest, sponsored by @voiceshares, Just ended.

The winners will be announced soon.


I recently finished writing a short story, based on Netflix's Stranger things. If you would like to read it, please check the links below:

Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 1
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 2
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 3
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 4


Thank you for reading 🙂

Please upvote, resteem and follow.


Check out my other works below

About- Wild Fire
About- Red and Gold


Click here button to follow me and stay tuned for more to come.

Sort:  

You have a talent! Keep on going!

Thank you 😊

Congratulations @andreanoronha! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76