Story - Alice - Part 1

in #fiction7 years ago

Hey SteemFam!

This is a story I had written a few years back and like many others, it is unfinished.

I recently went back and redid some of it and also decided to continue writing this piece, as initially I thought of cutting it short. I really wanna see where this story can go.

Please bear with me... LOL


“How much longer are you going to take to finish that book?”

I didn’t reply. I thought it would be best if I just ignored her.

“They never get together because the girl dies in the end”, she said after a long pause.

I sighed with frustration as I slammed the book shut.

I had been looking forward to reading that book till the very end. I even set aside my weekend especially for reading it. And now my weekend was ruined.

I kept the book aside and pressed my palms against my face as I tried to gather my thoughts and figure out what I was going to do next.

“You can’t ignore me forever you know?”, she said again.

I finally looked up at her. Her pale visage gave me chills as I did. She sat on the bed right across from me, gazing at me defiantly.

“Doesn’t hurt to try” I said, greatly upset that my weekend was now ruined.

“Well... now that you’re done reading the book we can finally go out”, she said with a smile that was impossibly radiant.

“I don’t want to go out Alice, I’ve told you that already” I protested.

“Oh c’mon, let’s go out. The fresh air will make you feel a whole lot better”

I was in no mood to argue with her so I gave in to her demands.

I didn’t speak much to Alice… not because I didn’t like her, but because after all this while I still doubted her existence. I wasn’t sure if I was hallucinating or if I was slowly losing my mind.

I also did not want people to think that I was some crazy person, talking to myself.

I met Alice 2 months ago, when my friend Jacob and I thought it would be “cool” to investigate a rumoured haunted house in my neighbourhood.

The neighbours of the “haunted house” heard us breaking in and called the cops. We were too busy with our investigation to notice that a cop car had pulled up in the drive way. We realized we were in deep trouble when we heard the cop call out for us to come out. Frightened, we made a run for it. As we made our great escape, Jacob and I got separated, he ran out into the street while I ran into the alley.

I had only gone in halfway when I saw this freakishly pale looking girl standing in my way. I tried to slow down to avoid crashing into her, but I was going too fast. I closed my eyes and braced myself for the impact.

I felt nothing.

I opened my eyes as I came to a halt. I felt a chill go down my spine as it had suddenly gotten very cold. I turned around to face the girl who was in my way, but she was gone.

I thought I had just imagined her, as I had never seen her in the neighbourhood before and I knew everyone here pretty well.

To be continued...


Some illustrations may be uploaded later.


My contest, sponsored by @voiceshares, Just ended.

The winners will be announced soon. Please stay tuned.


I recently finished writing a short story, based on Netflix's Stranger things. If you would like to read it, please check the links below:

Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 1
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 2
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 3
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 4####


Thank you for reading 🙂

Please upvote, resteem and follow.


Check out my other works below

About- Wild Fire
About- Red and Gold


Click here button to follow me and stay tuned for more to come.


Sort:  

Congratulations @andreanoronha! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I like! Waiting to read what happens next. Btw, the 'I' in the story is a girl or a guy?
Couldn't figure that out.

Hahaha... thanks ☺

Stick around and all will be revealed 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69020.66
ETH 3731.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65