My Thursday Favorites #24 Contest Entry - Herbs!

in #esteem5 years ago

e1s6dwzzyk.jpg

I never ate herbs when I was morbidly obese and thought getting them was a waste of money. What good is a small amount of greens in the larger scheme of things?

The fitness trainer I was working with to lose weight had different ideas, and he was the one who got me to try them. He advised me that there were more health benefits in food that is vibrantly colored.

I later found references to say that strong color idea was true, so I always go for the darkest green I can find. I don't really care which herb it is. I love them all now!

This first photo is from my early days of getting healthy in California. This batch of Italian Parsley came from the Coronado Farmer's Market and I did a photo shoot to show how I made sure to prep them after buying. It's no good to let them rot in the fridge!

Here I am washing my purchase in baking soda. Herbs have a lot of dust and dirt on them, so they must be washed before you do anything else.

19 thurs fav Thursday green 21 fitinfunfood  greens washing.PNG

Now my parsley is washed and picked off the biggest stems. I have since learned to use kitchen scissors for this instead. Much quicker!

25 thurs fav Thursday green 11 fitinfunfood  greens to chop.PNG

Herbs get a lot smaller in volume once you cut them up.

30 thurs fav Thursday green 31 fitinfunfood  fitinfun cut greens.PNG

I learned to dry some of my herbs in my oven overnight. I did not turn the heat on. I stirred a few times and the greens would be dry in a day or two. Then I used them in soup and stew.

53 thurs fav Thursday green 41 fitinfunfood  drying greens.PNG

Oh my goodness. I miss this! Bangkok herbs washed and ready. A whole new world of yummy, cheap and healthy food opened up to me when I arrived in SE Asia. I do get herbs in Malaysia now, but those in Thailand are superior.

65 thurs fav fav herb green 1 fitinfunfood Greens for dinner Bangkok Thailand.JPG

Are these herbs? I have no idea, but you wrap your protein and rice up in these delights and pop the result into your mouth when you eat at my Thai friend's house in Bangkok.

70 thurs fav Greens ready to eat bangkok thailand fitinfun.JPG

Here is one of the first times I got dill when I arrived in Bangkok a few years ago. I was crying with joy, and couldn't believe my luck.

75 thurs fav fitinfun dill steemit 7.JPG

And look at this fabulous Thai dill With a lime for scale. You see maybe two thirds of the amount I got for 60 cents usd.

80 thurs fav  Vegan monday 1 fitinfunfood fitinfun dill steemit 3.JPG

And next you see maybe 50 cents worth of herbs from Northern Thailand. I lived there for a few months and the herbs were even cheaper than in Bangkok.

I paid 30 cents usd for a bunch that would be as big as my arm. Then I would get many of them and have trouble carrying the weight out of the local market.

I was out in the middle of nowhere, and the market came twice a week. The vendors spoke no English and loved to see me. I was thrilled with their huge bundles of herbs.

They must have thought I had 50 people eating with me somewhere for how much I bought from them each time. Each pack was only five or ten cents!!! How could I stop? I couldn't.

60 thurs fav Udon greens color challenge fitinfun.JPG

Here is a short video I took of this same bounty wondering what I was doing with all this for only one person!

In my video I describe what I got and you can also see a bit of the scene up there in Thai paradise. I say in the video that I have $1.50 in value there, but my math was faulty! I need a calculator for such difficult arithmetic.

My post is for the Thursday ccc contest by @marblely where today's theme is - "My Favorite Herbs". I hope I will not be disqualified for not really having just one :)

Here is the call for entry post, so that you can enter too:

https://steemit.com/actifit/@marblely/actifit-marblely-20190523t144416648z

= =

Minnow Tips!

My Newest Minnow Tips Updates:

General Ideas of how to do better on STEEM
Places to comment for Upvotes and More Goodies
Who will upvote my posts when I am new on STEEM?
How Can I Solve My Low RC Problem on STEEM?
Using @dustsweeper on STEEM
Enter contests on STEEM and win!
Do your replies fast with with SteemReply
You should be freewriting if you are a blogger

Here is my last big minnow tips post before the update if you struggle here at steem.

These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

= =

dApp Reviews

All recommended!
ginabot
esteem
Share2Steem with Twitter Tips

Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp before I used it
Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp with tips to do better

And here is an update on @fitinfunfood. I just started this blog in Jan 2019, so you can find out what I am doing to grow my new baby here:
fitinfunfood Update Post

More about using SBI:

https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/my-steembasicincome-update-spoiler-i-love-sbi

Great post from @brittandjosie, with all kinds of help for new people. Definitely worth clicking every link!

Hey Have You Met!

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet is my son's blog, and I am so grateful he has returned.

We all post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We all follow back, because we love you. This is the power of STEEM.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

I login to magic-dice daily and roll one time. Is this giving me luck and good fortune? Join me and try for yourself!
https://magic-dice.com/?ref=fitinfunfood

= =

Before and after later that same life fitinfun.jpg

How is your journey to better health going?

Is your fitness equipment out handy? Are you on a "diet?" Soon we will be in Bathing Suit Season. Are you ready?

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. No tricks, just doing a bit better every day. I started on October 10 one year, and did not give up. Four years later, on October 5th, there I was - thin and healthy for the first time in my life. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Just wanted to let you know your shares are registered and the autovote on steemauto is set for this account from @minnowbuilder4. As a thank you for your support I'm adding a little thank you upvote from my account.

You are awesome, @thedarkhorse. I put the first account this one and 2 into my ginabot so I will try to get in when they open in future.

Also - I notice the votes I get from these come in with really high power - Often way over 95%. Maybe you can adjust the vote weight for better curation and support.

Love this program. Thank you so much!

Maybe you can adjust the vote weight for better curation and support.

It's late, maybe I'm missing what you mean here. You mean try and cast more votes to keep the VP down?

If so I'm more worried about giving everyone as large of a vote for their money as possible. We switched to selling votes at 97 or 98% power based on the account to avoid hitting 100%. Previously I was manually casting lots of cross votes between the MB accounts, but it was way to much time for 1-3c per vote. Love helping everyone out with account growth, but my Wife was ready to kill me for spending so much time on Steem and a lot of it was managing these tiny votes to avoid wasting VP.

Great post. I've been meaning to ask you, why the baking soda? I wash all my fruits and veggies with either vinegar or soap, but I think I remember your saying that you use both vinegar and baking soda to wash some things.
And that the water is so clean "come for the water" give me the chills. Most, American water can no longer be drunk without filtering. It's good to know there are places on the planet where the water is still clean.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Oo I have never thought about washing veges with baking soda. Thank you @fitinfunfood. Something to try next time :)
I’ve had slow juiced pasley with carrots and celery, so green it tastes but feels good after drinking. And yes, thai herbs are so yum, especially with their tom yum and curry noodles! I have never tried dill actually. Do you plant these herbs at home? For me, mint grows really well but the rest not really :P

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64578.03
ETH 2533.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64