Snow in The Netherlands! Finally.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

We finally got some snow in the East of The Netherlands! It was after midnight, but we went out to enjoy a walk in the fresh snow, because here, you never now when it will be gone again, and I love snow.

I did notice that I should have parked the car inside, though, it took some doing before I could drive it the next morning, it already looked like this after 30 minutes of snow:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 35mm, ISO200, f4, 1/40s, built-in flash

The next day, all inspired, we went to a local farm to get some real Dutch winter food: kale. We Dutch are convinced it tastes best after a frost, and freshly picked:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 35mm, ISO200, f2.8, 1/60s

Traditionally, we make a mash pot with kale here we call boerenkoolstamppot, and we did so this time. It seems you can do other things with it as well, look here for a recipe by @englishtchrivy.

I also went back to see what the Wissinks möl (a local windmill) I posted about earlier would look like under a bit of snow, hoping for something really photogenic, but I was too late, the snow had already melted off the mill.

But still: snow, snow, real snow, happy, happy, joy, joy! It's almost all gone now, but I enjoyed it! It even made me post under "food" for the first time ever.

Sort:  

Here is rainy seasons

Congratulations! :D

Nothing like a bit of boerenkoolstamppot to waken up a household.

But can you pronounce it? 8-)

No problem. I grew up in South Africa

@ocrdu hey the heaven's not fair! we didn't have any out here. I'm also from the East aren't I?
Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow, here, too hahaha

thank you for the additional info I didn't know about the "after the frost" the kale is more delicious. So, did you have stampot? :)

No snow in Arnhem? That's a shame.
Everybody tells me kale tastes better after a frost, but I don't know if that is true or just folklore 8-).
Yes, stamppot met worst!

@ocrdu no, but it was sunny so maybe it melted faster. My car was outside and hub's inside the garage but no trace of snow on it either.
It's not the last I hope

Kom naar ons, is er veel sneeuw! =)))

Wow! You should start exporting snow! 8-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95