Stuck In The Rain - Blind Contour DrawingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing5 years ago (edited)

stuckintheraincatcombo.jpg

It's Time Again ..

For another blind contour drawing. This time I gathered my inspiration from one of my not so recent posts. You would have to dig way back to find it, so I decided to just place it below. The poor cat never knew that she was going to be the inspiration for not only a poem, but a drawing that would embrace her miserableness of having been stuck in the rain.

The Following Poem and Photo ..

Were taken from a post I created last year sometime. Since it was the source of my recent inspiration, I thought I would re-share it. Sorry for the somber and melancholy feel to this poem. I must have been depressed when I wrote it.. That's my excuse.

Waiting Here Wondering
~ A Short Poem By BDMiller ~

Sitting
Staring
Crushing
Crying
Wiping
Waiting here wondering why you ignore my attempts at silence

Walking
Listening
Choking
Gasping
Believing
Pushing forward knowing your emotions are in the palm of my hand

Wasting
Wanting
Wishing
Hoping
Expecting
Disappointing to know something and nothing at all exists just for you

Selecting
Articulating
Intensifying
Embellishing
Explaining
Everything I know has come to a head now and I'll deal with it later

Moving
Entering
Drinking
Numbing
Forgetting
Understanding that tomorrow will come and it will be just another day

Stuck in the rain E2.jpg
Photo by BDMiller

Jamaica 2014 - I call it 'Stuck In The Rain'

Poor cat was pissed off because it got stuck in a downpour with little to nowhere to take shelter except for some thinly layered foliage. Of course she was not happy I was documenting an obvious low point in her day.

No Worries Though ..

The our friendly kitty soon dried off when the sun reappeared. She found a nice warm spot on a piece of smooth concrete, where I am sure she napped the afternoon away.
P1010105.jpg

Such a cute cat ..

Appeared to be well fed, given her healthy weight. There was a place very close to this spot where they were cooking jerk chicken and other BBQ for the tourists. Lots of scraps and handouts to be had!

Now For The Blind Contour Drawing ..

'Stuck In The Rain', like all of the other blind contours I have created, blind contour drawing.. One continuous line, drawn without ever lifting the pen from the paper and while only looking at the subject. I ONLY look at the drawing when I think it is finished! This one was a bit simpler than the last one I created, 'Mangled Wrangler'. From start to finish, the drawing took about four minutes. I used a thicker type Sharpie this time, rather than the thin fine point pen. I drew it on a larger piece of paper as well; 11 inches by 14 inches. There was no particular reason for this, it just happened that the inspiration came and the pad was the closest one in reach. I started the line at her back, and finished it at the left corner of her mouth. As you can see below, sometimes I like to throw a line or two below the drawing for interest. This represents the foreground and helps to give it some depth. It can also really mess you up if your not quick about putting it in. I've lost my place a few times this way and had to toss a drawing or two for this reason.

Here's The Finished Drawing ..

IMG_4824.JPG

Now That It's Done ..

I am not quite ready to shade it. I think it needs some shading, but not sure how I want to go about it. I will definitely use the charcoal, that I know for certain. Once I figure it all out and get working on it, I will post an update post on it. For now, the kitty will remain in a sort of an artistic one dimensional state. It suits her.. Being a simple island cat.

Below Are Some Of My Most Recent Blind Contours ..

You can view more about each one by following the links below. They are drawings that I have blogged about in the past. If you enjoy this weird style of art, then possibly these are worth a look.

9F085A81-38F9-4C5A-9B14-DBD1B228BB65.jpeg
Mangled Wrangler

91C13466-5220-4805-AF3C-445DA2551EBA.jpeg
Odo

1E1A4E97-3543-48AA-8156-303619DC3FF9.jpeg
Expression of Cabernet

3B8B6D8E-62BC-4552-B95A-14A1C026EC05.jpeg
Nadi

4BA174AE-C6D9-4EDE-AB39-463994B1CAB1.jpeg
Blind Folded Rolls

651A0530-089E-4071-8B2F-941AB88F8C93.jpeg
Chuck

AC9F99B4-11FF-4762-9B24-D7DBC0A44C18.jpeg
Six Bottles Of Beer

57EBD8DE-2E94-495B-8167-F63BA1EB06D3.jpeg
Pepperdoodle

C10EE67E-5386-4126-94D3-43FF855336D4.jpeg
Smoking Lady

366E3292-DF51-4D50-B0E0-7675BE80734D.jpeg
The Man In The Shadows

2F808892-97F7-4831-83AC-896285BDE971.jpeg
Dobby The House Elf

5BDF9DD1-3E09-4D18-BC21-34A43D4BBDFF.jpeg
My Blue Guitar

47E627F8-311B-4D7C-A229-860BF51A1798.jpeg
Blind Wine

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

~ B D Miller

Sort:  

You've been chosen to be featured in @creativecoin's 🔥DAILY BURN🔥 post!

These are strangely... good. It's like I can't stop looking!
Imma give this blind contouring thing a shot. I'm sure I'll be amazing at it. 🤣
😍@carrieallen

You are so sweet @carrieallen - Thank you :-)

I hope you do and I want to see the results!
Thank you for the support and curation. It is inspiration all of it's own :-)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @carrieallen.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank you sooooo much @carrieallen and @helpie. The support is very much appreciated.

I love how the shading completely transforms the mangled blind sketches - love the idea to take something blind and then add a new layer of intent on top of it

Thank you for the awesome insight. It makes me happy to know someone can see a little creativity in these pieces. I appreciate you taking the time to tell me as well. Thanks for the support!! 😁

bdmillergallery, I Need Your Help!

Both @ArtTurtle and @Artopium (and perhaps soon @thejollyroger) are being needlessly downvoted by themarkymark. The more the delegator bots
are downvoted the less they will be able to upvote your content so this is an indirect attack on you! This is happening out of
pure vindictiveness as you know these bots are not spam and are powered by your steem power. Please help out by upvoting this comment
in order to counteract themarkymark's downvotes. Then please use your new downvote pool to downvote themarkeymark. He is a witness
and is abusing his power as such. Please unvote him for witness here.
He creates blacklists of thousands of Steemians he deems "inappropriate". I believe he is a majority cause for the drop in
the price in steem as he wrecklessly downvotes random content causing people to want to leave Steemit. Since he has over 500,000 SP
he can do quite a bit of damage, so it's going to take a concerted effort to get him to stop. Thank you!

You've just received an upvote of 54% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79