Blind Folded RollssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing5 years ago

7AE362FE-393E-4ACC-92C5-83D159CB6636.jpeg
‘Blind Folded Rolls’ - Art By BDMiller
Source of subject photo used to create blind contour drawing

So I had a bit of a moment ..

I think, quite possibly, almost every artist has a moment like this. This was a moment where I said, “This is crap.” At that moment I folded the drawing in half and in half again, then threw it into the wastebasket. This was another quick head clearing Blind Contour Drawing, that I perform to just reset my thoughts and practice my eye hand coordination. (Blind Contour Drawing - A drawing done in one continuous line without looking at the drawing, only the subject) Most of the time I just toss these drawings into a pile and never look at them again, being that they are only for practice. Sometimes I really like them and may even finish them with some shading or even color.

Not this time ..

This time I got frustrated with it. For some reason I just couldn’t see any beauty in it. I wasn’t satisfied with what my hand blindly put down as a grotesque interpretation of the subject. What was I really expecting? I wasn’t expecting a masterpiece in three minutes, so why did this bother me enough to trash it. Maybe I am having a bad day, or maybe I put too much pressure on myself to turn out perfect work. I am not perfect. Nothing I say, do, or create is perfect. So after I said this to myself a few times, I reached into the trash and unfolded the drawing. I placed it with the others and simply moved forward.

E513E802-51EC-4023-B84C-94DBC6DC8340.jpeg
Photo of the trashed drawing.. Small piece of paper missing was taken to write some notes on. It wasn’t enough I threw it away.. Haha. It was still salvageable.

The more I thought about it ..

I decided to blog about it. Why not? I feel everyone has moments like this. I know that I have trashed things in the past for this exact same reason. Usually I do not place them kindly aside in order to wait it out to see if I change my mind or not. Nope.. I destroy them so that there is no going back. Am I alone here? I know the answer to this one already. :-)

2B251C47-E8DD-459D-8831-57B91D3A48D4.jpeg
Finished Drawing by BDMiller

So I will name it ..

‘Blind Folded Rolls’ .. I feel like I owe it a name, being that I brought it back from the dead. That's as far as I am going with it right now. If I get bored later, I may add a little shading and see if my mind comes around on it. Who knows, I just may surprise myself.

6A9D92C9-D58B-49C0-B54C-7D5E5BD9546F.jpeg

Photo of a 1932 Rolls Royce Roadster ..

Source
This was the photo I used for the subject of my drawing. I placed the Sharpie onto the paper and turned my eyes to the photo above, never looking down until I thought the single line drawing was finished. I have been hammered with things today (typical Monday) so maybe my mind was not in the right place for this exercise today. I’ll try again another day, hopefully with more self satisfying results.

Thank you for your continued support!

031C8D5A-C527-4D6E-92D4-395D9E9D2960.jpeg

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

.................................

Sort:  

Hello @bdmillergallery, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you bdmillergallery! You've just received an upvote of 33% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69015.38
ETH 3758.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45