Blind Contour Corner - 'Smoking Lady'


IMG_1850x_edited.jpg

So I Want To Start Something New ..

Called 'Blind Contour Corner'. Since I like drawing these Blind Contour Drawings, why not share them on a more regular basis. At least we can all get a kick out of them.. and hey! who doesn't need a good smile or laugh once in a while. I know I sure can use one daily :-D So here we goooooo-----> I am going to post at least once or twice per week a new blind contour drawing of something or someone I come across while muddling along on my daily routines. I will post them either shaded or not depending on my mood or which I thinks satisfies my artistic spirit. I may even make up some sort of quaky story to go with it if I get creative enough.

Today's Blind Contour Drawing - 'Smoking Lady' ..

It was absolutely beautiful out the other day. Temps were in the 70's and the breeze was blowing like a summers day. I was sitting in my car outside of a Taco Bell and glanced at the car down the way from mine. Parked a bit crooked and containing a lady dressed in pale white. She had her eyes lightly shut with a cigarette resting precariously between her lips. It was unlit as she appeared to be deep in thought, almost like a prayer was being given. Her lips slightly moving as the words were trying to form and escape from them. In her hand she kept a tight hold of a piece of paper, folded over and over and worn to shreds. As I would glance back several times I wondered what she was thinking and telling herself. I pondered what was written or not written on the folded paper damp with sweat. She never did light that cigarette before opening her eyes, starting the car, and driving off into the day. Soon the 'Smoking Lady' was gone from sight.

Finished Blind Contour Drawing ..

IMG_1850x.jpg

Finished Blind Contour Drawing .. INVERTED (for fun!)

IMG_1850xbwinvert.jpg

She Gave Me Just Enough Time ..

To sketch my vision of her deep in thought. I created this blind contour drawing in about 5 strange minutes. I say strange, because she did not know I was sketching her. I tried not to look like that creepy guy sneaking a look at this interesting human behavior before my eyes. For all I know, someone was watching me as well. What a surreal thought. hmmmm. Now I feel bad. Oh Well.. The sketch came out pretty cool. The tools were pretty simple, a single Sharpie and a piece of paper. I am going to leave this one un-shaded but may get the hankering to add some shade later on down the line. For now the creation is complete!

'Smoking Lady' - With Border

smb1234.jpg

Have A Great Night Everyone!!

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

.................................

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

Sort:  

I really love what you have going on. I am one of those that likes the written word paired up like this. I use it as a tool with my photographs, but, it is more powerful here, in my opinion.

Without even looking at the words, I could tell it was an elderly lady and by the angle of the cigarette, a long-time smoker. I can look at this and inhale the scene.

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thanks @dswigle!! I always get a kick out of what others feel after looking at my creations (whether good or bad). I am with you on the fact that words paired with our photos or art are an important factor in painting a bigger picture for those viewing them. In my opinion, for what it's worth, it's essential for blogging. I can google a word or phrase and look at pictures all day.. Here I want to read a little something about where the picture was taken, about the inspiration or just something completely random. It's refreshing and I SUPER APPRECIATE you taking the time to tell me this. It boosted my self esteem a little today :-D That's always a nice feeling! See you around soon!!

It is always my pleasure!

I love it!!! I really like this kind of art, but is really difficult to me to try xD I love what you do.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awe.. thank you. I appreciate the kind words and compliments. It’s a great boost for the old confidence. Thank you for the resteem and support. I also saw you posted it in the resteem relay :-D I’m full of smiles.

It was worth a resteem! I really love see this kind of art on steemit. Hope this post gets a lot of support :3

Posted using Partiko Android

:-) much thanks.

It looks pretty cool! I have some ideas for messing it up next time if you know some digital editing...ink splats and custom background textures feel like something that will work well with art like these.

I actually never had the courage to draw something directly with a sharpie (or anything that does not allow me to erase or undo), maybe I'm just too timid for that haha.

Yea sure! sounds like fun.. I have a digital app I use from time to time. Sounds like your mind works well like that. I use cheaper paper, so if it doesn't come out as a recognizable piece.. I toss and try again. Some of them look like nothing while others look cool.

Cool!
I love to hear the stories behind the picture, that is often what makes it for me.
Thanks for sharing!

Glad you like the story and the drawing.. Makes my day to hear from those who appreciate the words and also take the time to read them :-) THANKS!!!!

You're welcome! It was very creative idea and made for an interesting image!

What a great sketch. You're fabulous. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Why Thank you!! I appreciate the words of encouragement and the support @wonderwop. :-D

@bdmillergallery,

BD ... interesting. My first impression of the drawing was, "OK."

But after I read the backstory, the drawing became far more intriguing. I found myself studying it for clues ... What was she thinking? And what was on that paper?

I became ... engaged.

I have frequently recounted an insight I had decades ago: "If a picture is worth a thousand words, how come they need captions?" The combination of pictures and words is something I believe more visual artists ought to consider (I'm a poet ... so word-bias disclosure). :-)

Quill

Hahaha. I hear ya. It looks like a terrible sketch, but pretty good for not looking until the end. One continuous line too! She was a character. I suppose the whole pice of paper could be very romantic or very sensible. Maybe the note of tragedy or that of a grocery list. If it was a grocery list.. I wonder what was on it. Lol. Guessing matches or a lighter since she never did light that cigarette. I can still see her lips ever so slightly forming words. I am glad you took a chance to click on the post to find out there were words as well. I am a firm believer in giving more. I believe it does help bring the viewer to a more personal level and give them a glimps into my wacky mind.

Word-bias disclosure

Hehehehehe. Awesome!

These contour drawings are really interesting, Brad and I love how you write about the inspiration that prompted these into creation.... What do you use to make these drawings? I think they might look a bit more artistic if you use something with finer tip?

And I wonder what she was thinking..... hmmm... she never did light her cigarette? :O Maybe she's struggling to quit smoking???

If that was the case, she won that particular battle, maybe? Hahaha~

I used what I had in my truck at the time. A standard Sharpie. I’ll try with a fine tip and see what things look like next time. Thanks for the advice!! Good idea. I think maybe she was a bit mental, but what do I know. She was definitely mumbling something to herself. Maybe the cigarette is just there for support. Either way she never did light it. At least not in the moments I saw her. Got to love human behavior.

I'm a smoker myself, not something I may want to declare openly but when I look at your portrait, I realised just how awful I may look and just how bad it must seemed the impression given to others.
Don't get me wrong, your portrait is perfect. It's just how I see myself sadly :(

It was a realization I had a while back that smoking went from being the cool thing to do, to delivering a somewhat more negative appearance. Me personally.. I grew up with a father who smoked and having lot of friends who smoke.. I still think it looks cool. I know its bad for your health.. but hey it looks cool. In this particular situation, she didn't even light the cigarette, just kept it resting on the edge of her lips. Strangely wild.

I appreciate your comment and never wish my art sadness to anyone. I apologize if it made you sad :-( Just look at it as a lolly pop instead. hehe. Thank you for the support though!!! :-)

Such a cool drawing @bdmillergallery, but I have to say I love the story attached to it even more! I love watching people and creating "stories" about their lives. You got a great one there :)

Thanks. I always wonder if anyone reads anything I write. I’m not the best writer but I like to do it. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for letting me know as it really does boost my confidence and ignites the fire in me to create another. :-)

You are most welcome @bdmillergallery :) And yes, there are a lot of skimmers around here haha, but I'm glad you find my response encouraging!

Thank you bdmillergallery! You've just received an upvote of 50% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Thanks @artturtle! The support is very appreciated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36