The Man In The Shadows

So Today I Bring You ..

'The Man In The Shadows'. He was derived using a method that I have used often in the past called blind contour drawing.

Man In The Shadows - Art and Inspiration combo.jpg

For those of you just tuning in and wondering what I am talking about, Blind Contour Drawing is when you look only at your subject while you attempt to draw what you see. You never lift the drawing tool off of the surface nor ever look at the drawing until finished! So the process is referred to as ‘Blind’, and contains ONE continuous line.

I Found My Inspiration..

As I was browsing the several thousands of pictures on my phone and came across one I took several years back. There were several of us out at a brewery in South Eastern Pennsylvania.. having a good old time too! When I looked over at my cousin and he was sort of sitting back into the shadows. All I saw was his eyes, teeth and beard hairs reflecting the light in a neat subtle way. I captured the moment quickly before he noticed I was taking the shot. He's not one that likes his picture taken.

Inspiration Photo ..

IMG_7794E - Man In The Shadows.jpg

So I Have My Inspiration Gathered ..

A rather cool shot, or so I think, and a need to sketch out another blind contour drawing. I gather what I need for this small exercise; One 7"x11" piece of paper, one black standard point Sharpie, one eraser, one rag/paper towel, my box of charcoal, and a little bit of enthusiasm! :-D I've got it all covered. I am ready to begin..

Materials Close At Hand ..

manintheshadowsmaterials.jpg

First I Pick My Starting Point ..

By choosing a facial feature, for example an eye or some other basic feature. Now I usually start someplace I know I will not have to backtrack too much from. I really do not want to do that. I start with the eye on this piece and slowly move my hand in sync with my eyes. I trace all of the major features using this method; as my eyes move so does the drawing instrument. When I think I am finished, I take my FIRST look at the finished product! It looks good!! Yes a bit grotesque, and possibly a little creepy, but neat.. at least in my opinion. Sometimes I attempt a blind contour and end up tossing it out, because it looks like nothing but a bunch of squiggly lines on paper. I may of had a bad eye hand coordination type of day when that happens. No biggie, I just try again later.

Starting Point Chosen ..

IMG_1851.JPG

Now That The Drawing Is Complete ..

I move on to some shading. There are times when I just leave the drawing be and frame it as it is, But this time I want to just apply a little shading in order to highlight a few features. It will appear more like the original inspiration picture now as well. Not that this is my goal, just saying it may. hehe. I think the drawing comes alive a little bit more now.

Completed Blind Contour Drawing ..

IMG_1862.JPG

I Am Using My Antique Charcoal Pieces ..

to layer in shading to allow the tonal values to pop a little. I have found it hard to get layers of charcoal to build up. I get to the point where I try and lightly blend the shades and just succeed at NOT creating the value change and depth I was looking for. I just can't get the dark areas dark enough. I do not have a lot of experience in using them, so thus I do the best I can. In the very final stages of shading, and when I think I am just about finished, I use an eraser to remove some of the charcoal to create highlights. It is SOOOoooooo hard not to get charcoal where you don't want it, so an eraser will become a good friend to you. You would be surprised to know that it takes the charcoal up pretty easily without too much pressure asserted.

Shading Progress ..

IMG_1863.JPG

IMG_1865.JPG

IMG_1867.JPG

I Finish The Piece ..

By placing my signature on it and will apply sealer when the first nice day rolls around (it dries a tad quicker in warm weather). Sealing these charcoal pieces is almost essential to its survival. Otherwise the charcoal will smear or wipe off with the gentlest of touches. I don't want that to happen.. so hands off till I seal-er up!

Man In The Shadows - Art and Inspiration combo.jpg

The Whole Process ..

Here are all the photos in one in case you want to see them all together. I like making these so you can get a quick look at things, instead of scrolling all through them again.

Man In The Shadows - Progression Photo.jpg

Thank You For The Visit!

I hope you like my creepy guy in the shadows. Let me know what you think!


If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).


Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg


All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

Sort:  

I have actually never heard of blind contouring, but, what a cool rendering of how your brain sees what your eye doesn't (or does, depending on how you see it)

From start to finish, you took me along and I appreciate learning just a little bit more and the direction you took. Gotta love that smile! I can see your really his smile! It does have a rather infectious look to it.

Thank you for sharing this with us!

!tip

Awe thanks. His smile is contagious. Great guy too. I am glad I could introduce you to something a little different. You’ll see a few of these type of art pieces out of me. I enjoy seeing what, like you said, my mind translated to my hand. My profile image I actually created using the same method.

CCD0BAC9-C125-4ED5-A140-3BC1662FF472.jpeg

Thank you for the tip. That is very kind of you.

Truly a pleasure!

This is so cool! I have occasionally tried to doodle something without looking at the paper, but never while looking at the subject, and never tried shading it afterwards. What a fascinating technique you have! Bravo!

Thanks. The kind words made my day. You should definitely try it! You may surprise yourself

:-)

Blind contour drawing eh? That sounds pretty difficult, but great job in finishing it and then documenting the process so thoroughly that we can follow your steps.

The result is pretty interesting and reminds me of an art movement style, though I don't know which one because I don't go to art school.

Hehe. I don’t know which movement either. No school here either. Oh well. Well just have to remain curious. I am glad you found it interesting though. I like to keep things interesting. ;-)

Seems pretty hard just to draw in one continuous line. A unique art technique which is very challenging. I myself couldn't even draw but I love art in all forms. Now I learned something new today. Cheers!

Thanks for the compliments and checking this out. I am thrilled that i was able to introduce something new to you. That always makes my day :-D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks @c-squared and curation trail. Thank you @veryspider!

Thank you bdmillergallery! You've just received an upvote of 47% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 comments. Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Blind contour drawing always generate such interesting pieces, dont they? I think they are kind of showing how our inner eye sees things and how we are translating those signals to our hands. Hand to eye coordination, as they say, is an actual skill !

I think you captured the vibe of the reference, Brad :) That toothy grin is great XD

🎁 Hi @bdmillergallery! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84