Blind Contour Corner - 'Pepperdoodle'

Step Right Up And Gather Around ..

(cough cough.. A bit of street sales humor) What we have here today is a drawing, but no ordinary drawing. Oh no! This drawing was created using the finest of paper and the best marker money can buy (all lies). It's a drawing that holds pure unconstrained mystery and bewildering enchantment. It's clear to see that this drawing is unlike any other you've ever seen or will ever see again! Well, okay.. quite possible not and furthermore, maybe it is just another installment of my Blind Contour Series. But isn't it soooo Exciting??!!! Another WACKY goofball of a drawing. Try to contain your pleasure while I dazzle you with the details ;-)

pepperdodle combo inpiration.jpg

Summery Of What Blind Contour Drawing Is ..

Where the artist draws his or her subject, while never looking at the paper and never lifting the drawing tool. I like to trace the major details, of my subject, with my eyes while simultaneously moving my hand. My favorite part is the big reveal to myself.. That first look at what you just drew :-O It will either look cool or like garbage.

Today's Subject ..

Is no other than my doggo Pepper! So it is only right that I call this piece 'Pepperdoodle'. Do not confuse this with his breed. He is straight up Shih Tzu.. no poodle. I was thinking doodle, meaning a quick and careless drawing. The photo was taken quite some time ago. I am not really sure when exactly, but a while ago. He was just doing what he normally does, sitting and staring at me.. and of course whining. I had these play glasses out on the table, left there from a recent party where they were brought out as entertainment (I am sure alcohol played a role). So we have Pepper sitting there like a good boy, the glasses sitting there and collecting dust.. "so why not" I think to myself. Lets put them on the doggo! He's such a good sport about it too. I taught him to balance a ball on his nose at an early age, so this may have helped in delaying the urge for him to immediately shake them off. He was a perfect little boy. He sat still and waited till I took the photo before nodding his head and dropping the spectacles to the floor. GOOD BOY PEPPER!

IMG_E4026.JPG

I Have My Subject And Begin To Draw Blindly ..

Just as fast as I started the drawing, the drawing is finished. It took me about 3 to 4 minutes to trace him out. Unlike my last blind contour drawing post, 'Smoking Lady', this time I wanted to shade the piece. That took a bit more time, adding an additional 20 minutes to the process. I did not want to over shade or get to detailed with it. Over shading or too much detailed shading can ruin the loosely grotesque vibe these drawings exude (at least in my opinion). I felt like the drawing needed a little something extra. Something to enhance the strange lines a little. Do you have a preference? To shade or not to shade, is the question ;-p

IMG_1901.JPG
IMG_1905.JPG

The Tools ..

My tools for this style and thus this drawing, are very simple. I gathered and utilized, one 5.5" by 8.5" piece of card stock, one fine point Sharpie, one #2 standard pencil, and my quick whit and imagination.. oh yea, almost forgot.. a steady hand (bahahahaha..yea right!) I don't think I need to explain how I used each one. We'll chalk it up to being understood :-) by my audience. With these 'Tools' in hand, I begin my short but satisfying journey toward another complete blind contour drawing.

IMG_1908.JPG

The Progress Shots ..

There are never many of these, less if I don't shade the drawing, due to the nature of what I am doing. If I can't stop to look at the drawing, then I can't take any progress shots. I really need to get something figured out as far as video goes. It would be cool to record the process. I'll work on it, but in the meantime I am open for any advice or suggestions, when it comes to video (ie, recording devices, editing media, upload file type, yada yada). Thank you in advance!! Until the day that happens, ENJOY these photos as a compromise.

IMG_1901.JPG

IMG_1902.JPG

IMG_1903.JPG

IMG_1904.JPG

'Pepperdoodle' - The Final Creation ..

IMG_1905.JPG

A Combined Photo For Easier Viewing of the Process ..

pepperdodle combo progress.jpg

Inverted Versions For The Fun Of It! ..

Pepperdoodle combo invert 1.jpg


Pepperdoodle combo invert 2.jpg

Side By Side of My Inspiration and the Drawing ..

pepperdodle combo inpiration.jpg


If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).


Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg


All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

Sort:  

Oooh I like it! This method sound really fun! I'll try it some day. I love how your doggie looks like "ehmm why are you putting this on my face, help" xD hahaha SO cute!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly! I torture him for my own benefit! poor guy.. oh wait.. he;s got me wrapped around his little paws. He is the master, I am the pet ;-)

Thanks for the compliments @zaidagrilli!!

Haha I looove your drawing, that's for sure....but I love even more that doggie dog :D he's suuupercute :D

Thanks @matkodurko! He is a cutie and my little shadow. :-)

Blind drawing? I can't even draw with "full sight" drawing and you do it without looking at the paper. Miraculous!
Well done my friend and a great story about little Pepper.
Blessings!

hahaha.. It's not to hard. I think the better your eye/hand coordination, the better the drawing will look in the end. I like the grotesque look of them :-)

Thank you bdmillergallery! You've just received an upvote of 48% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

I don’t get on much but always looking forward to hearing you posted somthin. I need to get in touch with you for a few pointers on this whole Steem thing. One last try before I give it up. Hey dude I’ll see you on the 4th.

Thanks Pete! You better get your butt in gear and take this seriously. When we get together, I'll talk more about it with you. I am willing to delegate you some SP too in order to give you a little boost. I'll talk to you on the 4th. See ya soon man!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared, curation trail and @veryspider! :-D

Hahahah pepperino~ what a good boy! My dog wont sit still for a second if I put anything on their faces :3

You're really having a lot of fun with these blind contour drawing pieces you are doing, arent you? :D

I like the one with the shading, I think the pencil adds a lot ! :D

He is so good at tolerating my antics. I am having fun with it. I don't have enough time to pump them out daily, but enjoy the break from reality that it provides my stressed brain.

I agree with you on the pencil shading. What I need to do is locate my pencil set so I can get some darker shades like 4b or 3b. hmmmmmmm... where did I put them???

HARRY POTTER?!!!

I didn't know that Pepper is a Harry Potter who turned into a doggo :O.

Great blind contour drawing, the doggo and the art are both adorable.

HAHAHAHahahahah... Yes!! He is Harry Potter. I suppose this Harry Potter theme is following me around lately. hmmmmm.. I appreciate the compliments and will pass them along to Pepperoni although I think he will just look at my and wonder who you are and if you will be feeding or walking him. lol

Thank the lord for sharpies and that dog !

AMEN! Thanks!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64834.92
ETH 2540.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67