Nadi ~ Blind Contour Drawing Inspired by Fellow SteemiansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing4 years ago (edited)

'Nadi' ~ A Blind Contour Drawing

The subject and inspiration of this installment of Blind Contour Drawing, is two fold.

Nadi Blind Contour inspiration photo and finished.jpg

First ..

Most of my inspiration came from my Steemit friend @gooddream 's profile picture.. his beloved doggo Nadi. Head over to his blog and definitely follow for an awesome mix of daily posting. While your there, check out his super cute profile picture. Okay, that sounds weird but you'll know what I am talking about when you see it. It always makes me smile, so why not .. Perfect for my next installment.

Capture.PNG

Stolen snip of @gooddream's profile picture.. my source and the inspiration for the drawing.

Second ..

The next part of my inspiration came from this new small sketch pad I purchased. I needed something for my lunch time head clearing 5-10 minute blind contour drawings that I occasionally create. Today I see it sitting there next to my desk and in front of me is @gooddream's blog. I was reading away and was looking at Nadi's picture with her tongue sticking out. I smiled and knew what I was going to do! She was going to be the subject of my next blind contour drawing.

IMG_4090.JPG
IMG_4092.JPG

Here's the new sketch pad.. roughly 5 inches by 9 inches and the perfect size for these quick small works. Travels easily with me as well.

So Here We Go .. 'Nadi'

I started off armed with six items; my new sketch pad, my very old charcoal sticks, a smudge stick for blending, and eraser for erasing, and a tissue for when the drawing comes out sucky and I am crying.. hehe.. no, for wiping off my fingers when I blend and soften the charcoal.

IMG_4101.JPG

Here are all the items spread out in front of me

Now the next step is quick ..

In about four of five minutes, I create the blind contour drawing. I find a good starting spot on the paper (pen in hand), focus on Nadi's picture and pick a starting point just below the left ear. Then the magic begins as I start to move my eyes along her major features while moving the pen along with them in sync. I don't look down at the paper until I think it is finished (Blind Drawing). I end up with one continuous line, hopefully forming a somewhat recognizable drawing of the subject. I love these types of drawings because you never know what you'll get in the end. In my opinion (and it's okay if you hate them) the results are beautifully grotesque. Nadi came out looking a little pissed off, but that's cool. I liked the way it came out.

Nadi Blind Contour before shading.jpg

These are the pictures of the drawing before the tonal shading was added

IMG_4094.JPG

The finished Blind Contour Drawing and before shading

The Next Step in the Process ..

Was adding the shading. Sometimes this tonal addition adds a lot of dimension and even character to the drawing. Other times I add the shading and don't like it and wish I would have left it alone. I felt that poor Nadi needed a little shading in order to forgive me for making her pissed off looking. I am glad I shaded her in a little. The drawings don't need much shading, just a tad. I don't want to loose the originality of the original blind contour drawing.

Nadi Blind Contour progress shot.jpg

Here I sum it up nicely in this combined picture, so you can see how it evolved. I added a few layers of charcoal, paying close attention not to blur the original blind contoured line.

The Final Step ..

Will be to apply a fixative to the finished art piece. This will help the charcoal to stay in place, otherwise it will eventually get disturbed by the flipping of pages. If desired, it can be placed into a frame.

IMG_4102.JPG

Like So :-P

(sorry about the slightly blurry picture)

Additional Photos ..

Nadi Blind Contour progress shot 2.jpg

Just another way to look at the start to finish without all the other stuff

Nadi Blind Contour Start to Finish.jpg
This is one photo that sums everything up for you.

Start to finish .. Inspiration to Art ..

That's what you have here today. It's nice to recognize how Steemit and my Steemit friends find there way into my life outside of blogging. This creation was a lot of FUN and I can't wait to find more inspiration. I am happy you took the time to tune in and check out this creative process. Some of you will like it, while others may not. That's fine with me; blind contour results are not for everyone. I appreciate the support and upvotes! Thank you!!

Thank you @gooddream and Nadi ..

For the inspiration needed to get this sketch pad off to a good start. Keep that tongue out girl!! (Smile smile) :-)

Nadi Blind Contour inspiration photo and finished.jpg

If You Liked This One ..

Maybe you would be interested in checking out my other blind contour drawings, I have blogged about in the past. Here are my previous blind contour installments ..
Blind Folded Rolls
Chuck
Six Bottles Of Beer
Pepperdoodle
Smoking Lady
The Man In The Shadows
Dobby The House Elf
My Blue Guitar
Blind Wine

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


.................................

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

~ B D Miller
.................................

Sort:  

Oh my god... it's framed! I love it. That just made my day buddy. hahaha.

If you put that up for sale at an auction I have faith it will pull in at least 20 million Vietnamese Dong.

😳 wow! I looked that up. It’s roughly $860 USD. Not bad not bad. What’s a good Vietnamese auction site???? Lol.

Thanks for the support!! I knew you would get a kick out of it. I shouldn’t have shaded it so much, but oh well. Nadi!!!

Thank you bdmillergallery! You've just received an upvote of 48% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64