Six Bottles Of BeersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing5 years ago (edited)

As A Child ..

I remember our family taking road trips. We would hop in the car, my parents and three of us kids. The open road and a destination ahead of us. Before the age of readily available and affordable electronics to keep us occupied for countless hours. To keep ourselves occupied, we would talk, eat snacks, stop for pee breaks at rest stops or overlooks, argue as children will do, cry, make up, play silly travel games and laugh. Eventually the destination would arrive. The worst part of the trip was the trip home. It always seems to take longer.

Remembering All Of These Trips ..

The one common thread was our ability to play road games we would make up (or so we thought) or sing never ending songs (man I feel for my parents). One of those songs was '99 Bottles Of Beer'. Now there are several variations to this song, but the one we always sung went as follows:

99 bottles of beer on the wall, 99 bottles of beer.
Take one down, pass it around, 98 bottles of beer on the wall...

As far as I know, its an anonymous folk song. At the end of the song we would sing about going to the store to buy more beer.

The Long Trips or the Song about Beer ..

Must have had some hand in shaping my inevitable future with by love of beer. This influence was the inspiration to this piece of art I am sharing with you today. Its another Blind Contour Drawing.. Blind Contour Drawing is when you look only at your subject while you attempt to draw what you see. You never lift the drawing tool off of the surface nor ever look at the drawing until finished! So the process is referred to as ‘Blind’, and contains ONE continuous line. As far as a subject goes, I have a variety of beer usually hanging around in the fridge. Some of it I bought, and some was brought by friends and left here. I simply grabbed this and that and set them in a line. Six bottles total and if I remember right, I had Michelob Ultra, Corona, Dogfish Head, Flying Fish, Blue Moon and something else I can not remember and most likely drank.

Six Bottles Of Beer ..

sixbottlesofbeer23.jpgPhoto and art by BDMiller

I Do Not Have ..

Progress photos, but I do have plenty of beer here if anyone would like to partake in the consumption of a cold brew! hehe. The blind continuous line drawing took about 3 or 4 minutes. I spent a bit longer, roughly 35 to 45 minutes, on the shading. I really thought I took a picture of the drawing before shading was added, but I guess not. I searched for it with no luck.. Use your imagination.. hahaha. The shading added quite a bit of definition to this piece. When the drawing is done, that's about the point I look at it and say "this is crap" and just about trash it. Then I decide to take a little extra time and apply some shading. Then I am glad I did.. Most of the time at least. Six Bottle Of Beer definitely went through the whole this is crap to this is wonderful thought process. It's a bit colorless, but full of interesting tonal values (in my amateur opinion):-)

So When Your In The Car ..

Feeling board and dreading the long trip ahead of you.. Don't! Just remember this awesome piece of art created by yours truly, and most definitely remember the lyrics to '99 Bottles Of Beer'. When you get to "Six bottles of beer on the wall", I am sure you'll be thanking me for helping you pass the time. hehehehehehe...

Keeping on the topic of Blind Contours ..

I have a combination photo of some of my past blog posts containing other blind contour drawings of mine.

blindcontoursfive_1572094060.jpg
All Art by BDMiller

You can check the out here:

Pepperdoodle
Smoking Lady
The Man In The Shadows
Dobby The House Elf
My Blue Guitar

If you have time to kill, these may be fun to check out. Eventually I will film the entire process. It's on my winter to do list for sure.

As always, THANK YOU for stopping by and taking the time to read my post! Have a great day/evening!!!!

~ Six Bottle Of Beer ~

sixbottlesofbeer23.jpg

Music and Lyrics ..

7AM2h.png

Source

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Goodbye For Now! (I'm thirsty)

:-)

Sort:  

Hello @bdmillergallery, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you bdmillergallery! You've just received an upvote of 40% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69048.48
ETH 3765.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43