Mangled Wrangler - A Blind Contour DrawingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing5 years ago (edited)

Mangled Wrangler - By B D Miller

38DFDC23-7D5A-43BB-B427-1777C26CCB30.jpeg

Some Of You May Know ..

That I have a thing for Jeeps, especially the Wrangler. I have owned a handful of them over the last 20 years or so. My favorite of the group is the Jeep Wrangler TJ, and is the one that I currently own. The reason I have grown to love this particular model so much is that it contains some conveniences and comforts that models in the past did not. These changes did not affect the ruggedness and barebones feel of the Jeep. I want to feel like I could go well off road if I choose or travel in comfort down the highway if desired. The heat is great and I can not tell you about the air conditioner; the top is either down or it’s too cold and I need the heat.. Sometimes both. My favorite stylistic aspect of the Tj is hands down the grill and headlights. I absolutely love the round headlights. It reminds me of my old CJ7, also with round headlamps. Again, this one is my favorite out of the three that I’ve owned. I would buy another, but I don’t think my heart nor my wallet could handle it.

These are the three Jeeps that I had owned/own ..

67E267B6-2414-46C3-9032-A1FEFCD66462.jpeg

The White Jeep Wrangler TJ..

Happens to be my latest inspiration for this next installment of blind contour drawing. I chose a funky but fun name for it. I think the name of this piece is fitting, since the Wrangler depicted in the finished drawing, is a bit Mangled in appearance.. Plus it sounds catchy to me!

This is a photo of my Wrangler TJ that I used for my inspiration.It was needed in order to complete the drawing ..

16073353-2CC9-4712-B6E4-E152FD461F80.jpeg

I Thought It Would Be Fun ..

To draw the Jeep from the perspective of standing and looking at it from the side. It’s a little more complex than drawing it from the front or rear. I created a drawing of the Jeep from the front, some time ago. I feel like it was a tad bit easier than this one. I wanted to challenge myself with this piece, so I chose the side angle photo as my subject reference. Once I had settled on the photo I would be working from, I printed off a small 4”x5” print to stare at for the next 5 or 6 minutes. I laid out all of the items I would need; my art pad, my fine point pen, a pack of pencils, an eraser, blending stick and the drawing clipped to the pad. Now I was ready to create something grotesquely spectacular (smile smile)

Here are all of my supplies laid out and ready to be put to creative use.

D1D7AE4B-87DF-499C-8E5C-04290753F416.jpeg

In Roughly 5 or 6 Minutes ..

The blind drawing portion of creating this piece is finished. No further lines will be drawn. This one very long line is enough, and I wouldn’t be able to call it blind contour if I added to the line and tried to fix anything. I’ve grown to appreciate these drawing for multiple reasons, but the one that really presents itself to me, is the quirkiness or uniqueness of the finished drawing. The messiness always intrigues me. It’s goofy enough to find humor in, and complex enough to find artistic value in.. at least in my biased opinion.

This is the finished blind contour drawing.. One continuous line, drawn without ever lifting the pen from the paper and while only looking at the subject. I ONLY look at the drawing when I think it is finished! .. No shading just yet.

BDDBBD93-A96E-4001-A62C-C25611BFA0C9.jpeg

Like Every Other ..

Blind contour drawing that I have created before this one, it came out a bit unpredictable. Even though I was a bit unsure about the original drawing (before shading was applied), In the very end I was quite satisfied with the finished piece. I think this one was more of a challenge due to the amount of details involved. This had a direct effect on my spacial awareness and left me questioning (often), “where am I in this drawing?” I also found myself asking, “Did I already draw that part of the Jeep?” It is important to remember what you’ve already drawn, but it’s not as easy as you may think. Short term memory plays a big part in the process when one of your senses is taken away (sight, thus ‘Blind’ contour). This is evident in certain areas where you will see duplicate areas of the Jeep drawn. Luckily, since my line was a bit off today, the duplicate parts were spaced out enough to go almost unnoticed.

Here is a small example of duplicate drawing .. Come On! I’m better than this!! hehe...

4EC19A2F-D1DD-4A61-9BBD-5746C1C85341.jpeg

It Needs Some Additional Character ..

So I arm myself with a #6 shading pencil and get to work. My goal at this stage, is to add a bit of tonal value to the piece in order to bring a little dimensional life into it. I don’t want to go crazy adding lots of shading, thus covering up the majority of the line. I would lose the very essence of the piece by doing that. The loose lines and grotesque cuteness would be covered up by blobs of dark graphite. I have to constantly take a step back from it and assess the progress, making sure that I am not taking it in the wrong direction. So while you glance through these next several shots, keep in mind that there are challenges to be encountered, even when shading. You may even notice, from one frame to another, that I may have changed my mind on the level of darkness applied. I even erased some shading here and there, when I thought I was losing the originality in a certain area.

Progression Shots ..

I hope you enjoy these progress shots. It always surprises me, when I look back through them, noticing the magnitude of changes that occur with just a little shading and blending.

099079D8-615E-4720-80C7-462FE5E2A4C8.jpeg

F7633FE4-FADC-4440-B5A8-83EB62D88DBF.jpeg

1CF7A377-DCFA-4D61-B4C1-05D44F97FF00.jpeg

DA5B2C7F-1A5E-4CF5-BC9A-F6938831734E.jpeg

ADAA3CB7-F7A8-4338-A5E8-367C9CE9AC3A.jpeg

AEEA4F37-DD6B-4BD1-80B2-430413577EDA.jpeg

45D0B4FB-69BD-45E0-B83E-3FDE31F080ED.jpeg

The basic shading is complete ..

And I am ready to just darken things up a little. I also want to add some tonal values to the foreground.

78E8A4A8-B036-49EB-837B-5B8D6FA31FB4.jpeg

4E6FF73F-FFE4-4466-B503-BA788A4C77E3.jpeg

After stepping away ..

From it for a while, I made a decision to add a bit of background shade. You will notice how I gently applied the pencil then lightly buffed it into the paper. I wasn’t going for perfection; there are rough lines and grafite marks on purpose. I wanted to keep the distorted and rough appearance intact. I think I was pretty successful in that aspect. I can not lie though, I am tempted to darken up the background more, but so far have held off. For how long? I can not say.. Haha

6B4F4921-571B-4093-94A9-2A3235AC40E8.jpeg

C59B4FE9-EA1E-4CA1-8E2A-5DC852F8C29C.jpeg

Well There You Have It! ..

Another installment of blind contour drawing. I enjoyed the challenge that came with creating this piece as well as the satisfaction I feel now that it’s complete. I am happy that I did not just toss it aside after the drawing portion was over. I am glad I gave it a chance to shine. The shading, I think, brought this piece from just another line drawing to a rather cool art piece. For an added bonus, it has personal appeal to me, because I love the subject. Looking forward to my next one!

Here Is A Summary Photo ..

Makes it nice to see the whole process in one single photo. Easier to compare things :-)
05F070C5-08CD-422C-84F5-C19B2613D0D1.jpeg

Mangled Wrangler - By B D Miller

9F085A81-38F9-4C5A-9B14-DBD1B228BB65.jpeg

BF9A4209-519A-4E76-99A3-82CC1DDCFE54.jpeg

Below Are Some Of My Most Recent Blind Contours ..

You can view more about each one by following the links below. They are drawings that I have blogged about in the past. Possibly worth a look.

91C13466-5220-4805-AF3C-445DA2551EBA.jpeg
Odo

1E1A4E97-3543-48AA-8156-303619DC3FF9.jpeg
Expression of Cabernet

3B8B6D8E-62BC-4552-B95A-14A1C026EC05.jpeg
Nadi

4BA174AE-C6D9-4EDE-AB39-463994B1CAB1.jpeg
Blind Folded Rolls

651A0530-089E-4071-8B2F-941AB88F8C93.jpeg
Chuck

AC9F99B4-11FF-4762-9B24-D7DBC0A44C18.jpeg
Six Bottles Of Beer

57EBD8DE-2E94-495B-8167-F63BA1EB06D3.jpeg
Pepperdoodle

C10EE67E-5386-4126-94D3-43FF855336D4.jpeg
Smoking Lady

366E3292-DF51-4D50-B0E0-7675BE80734D.jpeg
The Man In The Shadows

2F808892-97F7-4831-83AC-896285BDE971.jpeg
Dobby The House Elf

5BDF9DD1-3E09-4D18-BC21-34A43D4BBDFF.jpeg
My Blue Guitar

47E627F8-311B-4D7C-A229-860BF51A1798.jpeg
Blind Wine

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

~ B D Miller

Sort:  

Looks like a few jeeps in Alaska that have had one to many rock crawls, and one to many, oops 4 wheel drive does not mean four wheel stop on snowy icy roads. But being a jeep, just jump out set it back on the wheels and continue on the way.

hahaha.. How true is that! Most of the Jeeps I see are beat up pretty good. Every once in a while I spot a gem.

Manually curated by the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

bdmillergallery, I Need Your Help!

Both @ArtTurtle and @Artopium (and perhaps soon @thejollyroger) are being needlessly downvoted by themarkymark. The more the delegator bots
are downvoted the less they will be able to upvote your content so this is an indirect attack on you! This is happening out of
pure vindictiveness as you know these bots are not spam and are powered by your steem power. Please help out by upvoting this comment
in order to counteract themarkymark's downvotes. Then please use your new downvote pool to downvote themarkeymark. He is a witness
and is abusing his power as such. Please unvote him for witness here.
He creates blacklists of thousands of Steemians he deems "inappropriate". I believe he is a majority cause for the drop in
the price in steem as he wrecklessly downvotes random content causing people to want to leave Steemit. Since he has over 500,000 SP
he can do quite a bit of damage, so it's going to take a concerted effort to get him to stop. Thank you!

You've just received an upvote of 9% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44