Want to be a Successful Author? Burn Any Rule Book You Find

in #writing6 years ago

In a crowded marketplace, more of the same is not going to stand out.

This post began life as a comment on @cheah's recent contribution: How to Make More Singaporean Writers. If you're an aspiring writer, his no-nonsense, tough-love blog is a great place to look for inspiration and good advice.

Short version: plant your ass in a chair and pump out the words, bucko!

RoyalSignetQuarter.jpg

Even though @cheah writes from a Singaporean perspective, his thoughts on fiction writing as a business are universal. The publishing scene has changed so much, with print on demand and Kindle publishing, that doing things the way they used to be done is suicide.

I really wonder how the traditional publishing world is going to hang on for the next decade. Authors like Sean Platt, David Wright, and Johnny Truant of the Self Publishing Podcast churn out engaging entertaining books each year, while supporting themselves and a growing company of dozens of employees. And they do it without dealing with the likes of Penguin and Random house.

So just what service are traditional publishers offering?

Let's consider what happens when you start shopping around a manuscript the old fashioned way. You send it off to agents and wait months for a response. If it's good (and frankly most early manuscripts from beginning writers just aren't) it might find a taker after a couple years of rejections. Then the agent begins the process over again with the publishers.

Three or four years after you typed THE END, you might be offered an advance for a few thousand dollars. Months after that your book will be printed and distributed to stores, where it will sit among thousands of other titles for a couple of weeks.

Now you'd better be ready to put on your extroverted self-promoting hat on and pitch the hell out of it over every channel that's available to you, because these publishing houses don't fire up their promotion machinery for any except their star authors. If your book sells enough copies to earn out that advance, you'll get royalties of 10% or so, which you'll have to wait more months to receive.

And if it doesn't sell enough to earn out your advance, you'll have an even harder time placing your next book.

In fairness, those publishers put a some effort into making your book shine. If you sign that contract, you've got professional editors at your disposal, and typesetters and designers, and cover artists - although you'll have absolutely no say over what the cover of your book looks like. But is that worth giving them 90% of the value of your book?

TypewriterShiny.jpg

It's not really more work to self-publish.

If you self-publish, you'll have to do all that work yourself.

Yeah, you'd better hire an editor, and maybe a graphic designer. That cover art? It's all on you, too.

But amazingly, all these services aren't really that expensive any more. Services like Fiverr and 99designs have artists compete to design your cover and let you choose the one you like best. As for editors and designers, paying one yourself is going to be a lot cheaper, in terms of time-cost, than waiting for the publishing house to do it.

Is your self-published book likely to fail? Statistically speaking - almost certainly!

But the odds aren't much better for traditionally published books.

You can fail faster if you do it yourself. You can fail for a fraction of the time, money, and aggravation. Then you can fail again and again until you get it right. And if you decide the writing life isn't for you (no shame in that), at least you haven't sunk half a decade into a bitter process.

Now, if you're good - you tell an engaging story, you write exciting prose, and you polish and edit until you've got a package that makes people feel like they're buying something from a professional - you probably will find some success. And with self-publishing, even a little success means something. For most ebooks sold on Amazon, the authors receive 70% of the money, direct-deposited just 60 days after the sales.

IMG_4437.JPG

Outside opportunities.

You can also share your work on Steemit before you publish, earning some Steem upvotes and building publicity at the same time.

Traditional publishers won't touch a book that's been shared anywhere else before they get their hands on it. Unless, of course, it's already a success! 50 Shades of Grey comes to mind, and Diary of an Oxygen Thief, and Amanda Hocking's young adult fantasy. Isn't it odd what all these breakout bestsellers have in common? They were all self-published books that exploded due to the efforts of their authors - and then got gobbled up by major publishers.

It's really a mystery why traditional book publishing even exists as a business today. I love books as much as the next worm, but I have a hard time walking into a chain and paying nearly $20 for a paperback. Then I've got to store the thing, and lug it around with me every time I move.

The book shed at my local dump provides a rotating stock of reading material that could keep me turning pages for the rest of my life, and I've already got enough on my shelves at home to last for decades.

These are luxury products that nobody has to buy. And increasingly, nobody does.

BackSpace.jpg

The Book Mystique

We have such an emotional investment in the idea of books. They're perceived as the pinnacle of culture.

People use reading as virtue signalling. (Hey, I'm guilty of this. I read 60 books last year! Aren't I smart?) So kids go off to school and enroll in creative writing programs, and graduate with a bucket of debt. When they get tired of working at Starbucks (There's no shame in being a Barista, but you don't need a college degree to do it.) they take on more debt to spend a few more years in an MFA program.

As many as 4000 students graduate with a creative writing MFA every year. Now, how many new novels do you think Barnes and Noble can fit into their "New Fiction" display?

Here's an interesting quote from a New York Times article, Why Writers Love to Hate the M.F.A.:

The monthly magazine Poetry receives 100,000 submissions a year and publishes 300 poems. “The number of writers has increased, but the number of readers has not,” says Joseph Harrison, senior American editor for Waywiser Press.

As a result, the role of the MFA graduate stops being to write and becomes to teach, which fills the universities with more and more professors and administrators desperate to keep this weird, creative Ponzi snowball rolling.

Those that can, write. Those that can't, teach. And those that can't teach... go into publishing.

Am I in a position to give advice to aspiring writers? Hell no. With three unpublished novels sitting in a drawer and reams of scribble-saturated notebooks, I've discovered that I have a lot more fun writing on Steemit. And reading on Steemit is why I haven't finished a single book yet this year - and we're four weeks in, already! But I think it has taught me something worth sharing.

Meaningful writing needs readers.

And there are a lot more writers than readers these days. (I was only half-kidding about this yesterday morning.)

I'm certainly not crapping on anyone's dream of "being a writer" someday.

If you have this dream, you've obviously got something to say. There's that song inside of you that won't stop even when you cram earbuds in and stare at your phone. Watching TV won't kill it. Drink won't kill it. Going to work at the nine-to-five might injure it for a while, but then it crawls back and knocks at the inside of your skull in the wee hours of the morning.

So fuck it. Go write something.

But don't go looking to anyone else to tell you what you should write, and how you should share it. Not publishers, not consultants or industry "experts," and for the love of God, not universities.

These people make their living making sure everyone keeps doing what's been done before. If you take their advice, you're condemning yourself to obscurity. And worse: boring prose.

You still need editors, though. Hire yourself some good ones, and listen to them.

MontyRoyalType.jpg

Divider3.jpg

What do you think? Are you an author? What has your experience been with traditional versus self-publishing? Do you think the traditional publishing houses might still have something to offer? Let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

I see self publishing as my opportunity into the market. Like most people, it's a long shot, but at least it allows me a cost effective means, and gives me more control. Steemit to me is part of that strategy.

Having short stories published in magazines would be an effective promotion steeping stone, but traditional book publishing just seems too closed off these days.

Yeah, it's strange how self publishing used to be like leprosy - if you self published a book, an agent wouldn't touch you even if you were submitting something new. Now many of them want to see proven track records of self publishing, and a vibrant internet presence, before they'll consider taking someone on.

But at that point - what do you need them for?

I wonder about that too. They wont touch you unless you can prove success. But if that is the case, then the onus should be on them at that point to prove why you need Them. We are on the pivot point of a great change in the industry. Some have seen this in advance and are well out in front. And good for them.

And thanks for the link to the Self Publishing Podcast - that is new to me, but I plan on listening to them and learning.

Thanks for the great post! I'm totally following you now...😎

A few years ago, I would've agreed with you 100% on all these points. That's because when Kindle direct publishing first came out on Amazon, it was incredibly hot. Authors did make a lot of money because it was new & exciting for people to discover indie reads on their mobile readers. But I don't think anyone was prepared for how much KDP self-publishing has exploded so FAST. And the one thing that made it so popular with authors is now starting to choke it down: It's just too easy to self-publish, so EVERYONE is doing it.

For example, I was talking to an avid Kindle reader the other day. She said, "I read all the time, but I'm just not into going through those free books on Kindle Prime anymore. Some of them are so bad, & I just don't have the patience to sort through them & find good ones. I'd rather pay for an ebook that i know will be a good read."

I experimented with helping my friend self-publish on Amazon, and it was a tragedy to watch. She followed all the classic advice and worked on her book for a year before publishing it online and offered it for free to "build an audience." But the thing is, the audience never came. Despite all her networking, blogging on other websites and all of it, we realized that Amazon had basically used her and many other indie authors as part of their hack into an almost endless supply of content they need not pay for to get and don't even care if they sell. The point is that they have it- so much of it that they can afford to advertise the hell out of themselves & sell more Kindles with endless things to read on them.

New authors today really don't have a clue about how much more competitive publishing has become on every side of the fence. You can't just be a good writer and eventually make some money. You have to work years at both the writing craft and networking yourself at the same time now - that's true both for self-publishers & those who sign on for traditional publishing.

Today, traditional publishing has established itself as sources of "higher-quality" reading, which it often has because of the incredible amount of editing and work they put into their books. The amount of work that goes into producing a bestseller is enormous, and it shows. No Tim Ferris can fake their way into a bestseller on any publishing platform-- & I have it on good authority that it's only because Tim doesn't consider networking or self-promotion as "work" that he has a 4-hour "work" week. But don't be fooled- he networks like a maniac in almost all of his spare time.

I see Steemit as an interesting middle ground for publishing. Here we have a place where authors can publish freely and make money at the same time. A place where good-quality stuff is rewarded, albeit sometimes very slowly due to the extreme growth of this platform too. Because Steemit is more social, I see that we can have more potential here as authors to make money writing our stories than we do even on Amazon.

The whole Steemit fiction-writing movement is inspiring. That's why I started posting chapters of my just-for-fun comedic retelling of Pride & Prejudice on my Steemit blog - "The Devil Plays Mr. Darcy."

Through this series-posting, I'm trying to see how much I can engage with readers as the story progresses to even make changes along the way depending on people's replies. It's fun to see what they like & don't like, which is so important to helping any writer grow.

It will be crazy to see what happens once Amazon jumps into the crypto currency market. What effect will that have on their self-publishers? Only time will tell.

Thanks for taking the time to write such a thoughtful reply. It's really interesting to hear different responses from people who have given it a try.

I'm sorry your friend had such a bad experience with self publishing. Even with tremendous talent and all the marketing you can muster, luck is still going to play a huge role in things. Certainly we see that here on Steemit too, with low effort posts getting big payouts and thoughtful stuff getting ignored.

There is definitely a ton of self-published crap on Amazon, and that's probably the only reason I do occasionally visit the bookstore. It's refreshing to think, well, someone had to care enough about these books to print them. But I'm increasingly bored by what's sold as literature these days. All of the fun to be had is in the genres.

So the question for the self published writer who's done something truly great is, how can I let people know this is different from all of that garbage. So there's still a gatekeeper, and it's just as fickle, even if it's decentralized. It's audience time and attention, which is turning out to be the most precious commodity there is!

I have two "Successful Author" friends from high school, one traditional, the other self-published. Both are tireless, fearless self-promoters and networkers. Maybe I should interview them both and write up a comparison of the paths they've taken.

My wife is a huge Jane Austen fan, so I'll point her to your Darcy stories!

Thanks!

That's a great idea to interview your 2 successful author friends. Please do! It would be really interesting to hear about their journeys and see what about their careers is the same and what about them is really different. I would love to read that!

I wanted to write when i was younger...and the urge hits me here and there. But as uve said it...steemit more or less fills up that need. Same for reading. And I have to agree....its like nowdays everyone has something to say and feels the need to say it to everyone.

All of our poor books will get dusty!

And sometimes I feel like nowadays everyone has nothing to say and still says it to everyone!

Love that line about everyone and nothing...so very true. At times, it rings true in my own head. But then, ya' still gotta get it out of the mind and onto the page now and then. No matter what.

Thanks for this eye opening post... I already choose to self publish (when I get good enough) rather than get a publisher BUT I thought getting a publisher was less hassle for the authors.

Meaningful writing needs readers.
And there are a lot more writers than readers these days. (I was only half-kidding about this yesterday morning.)

I agree... While I read more than I write, I don't read other people's fiction as much as I write them (Though I read classics which I think are better.)

What do you think? Are you an author?

Sadly not yet, for now I'm just a hobbyist writer. But I try to be better writer/author with many published works in the future.

Best of luck! I do think you're smart to pursue self-publishing. It gives you a lot more control over the work you have to do anyway.

So fuck it. Go write something.

This speaks to me. Fucking awesome post - all the best people fail and fail. The ones who don't haven't tried a thing.

Thank you - so glad you enjoyed it!

The only thing I know about publishers is that some of the books I like the best have authors who have only had a very few (sometimes only 1) books published. I once found the address and emailed one of these authors, hoping that I'd misses a title somewhere and he told me (to my despair) that the publishers didn't find enough market to publish any more of his books. I was so disappointed! I have the copies of those and the few other books in a spot where I can easily find them again for the next time I can't resist them.

I do find that the newer process of leaving book reviews online is very helpful though. A lot of books that I would never have found (many by self-publishers) show up as 'recommended by people who liked this book' or 'books similar to this'. Amazon and iBooks are good for something!

What a shame. I think a lot more voices can be heard today, which is a great thing. At the same time it's a little scary how much power Amazon has! And getting a good number of reviews is key for these self-published authors.

In the end, writers are stuck with the same dilemma - how to get their work in front of readers who will pay for them. But at least now they can appeal directly to those readers!

Please leave reviews! I've been published for two years now. I have seven reviews. I've sold a few hundred copies, and given away hundreds more. The first time I made it free for a few days, I got in the top ten of one of my genres.
Amazon will start putting me in those "if you liked this" recommendations at twenty five reviews.
Reviews mean the world to a self published author!
PS: also, ask for them at your library! I asked about donating copies to the library, and they said that doesn't mean it will get on the shelf, they might just sell it. But if patrons request it, then it has a chance.

I've heard that too. Without reviews your are dead in the water. Beg, borrow, steal or cheat to get them!

My friend K R Conway is a wizard at getting into libraries and independent bookstores with her self published teen paranormal stories. She had the release party for her last book at the local library and 100+ people showed up. She offers storytelling workshops at local schools too. And this isn't even her full time job - she drives a school bus!

I would never be able to match her energy, but if I ever get a manuscript together worth sharing, you can bet I'm keeping her on my team. Maybe you could try asking what self published authors are represented at your library and look them up. Lots of them love talking about their journey and sharing what worked for them.

That's my thought - it's far from perfect but there is a small shot that wasn't there before.

I wonder with platforms like Steemit if 'publishing' will even come to mean something different. It is odd, here, however that after 7 days your work is gone unless linked. Will the concept of Novel change in the next 100 years?

Well it's not really gone, but the potential for vote-driven earnings is lost (except that you can still upvote new comments on old posts.) And at least that old content still sticks around, like back-issues of magazines to be perused at leisure. I suspect it won't be long someone starts to develop an easy-to-use archiving service to make personal websites out of Steem-post links, like my archive.

I love the direction publishing is going in. I've been writing a long time, but ever since Amazon first introduced the Kindle, I've been the one writer in any gathering of writers who is gung-ho about self pubbing. Well, I'm not the only one anymore...I've got a couple of fellow self publishing enthusiasts to join me now, but a lot of my writer friends are those MFA kids you mentioned, and most of them would never think of spurning traditional publishing.

Hey, I'm working on a post about the age of decentralization. It'll be out either tomorrow or Sunday, and I think I'll refer and link to this post somewhere in there. :)

I self published. It's not perfect; there still exist two or three typos I caught after having edited it six times. I made a style choice on the paperback that people probably presume is padding (Kindle publishing has you format double spaced. I didn't change it when I sent to Create Space for paperbacks. I got the first proof and went, oh shit, I'd better fix that. But I was showing it off because MY FIRST PROOF YOU GUYS and had several people, including my aunt with MS who can't really read books anymore because her eye muscles jump around or won't focus, I'm not sure, said, "wow ...it's so much easier to read like this!" So I left it double spaced.
I also did the cover, and am not a graphic artist but I got a photo of two torcs (which are appropriate to the story) from the guy who makes the jewelry for the show Vikings (I follow him on Facebook and figured it couldn't hurt to ask and he said yes!), and I love it.
In short, it was entirely a one man show and I am still so super proud because it's the best thing I've ever done in the world.
Of course, not a lot of people buy it, but for like the first year I checked those stats almost every day and every time someone borrowed it from the Kindle Unlimited library, I could tell it was one person who read it in a day and I would get a thrill, because THAT MEANS THEY LIKED IT (KU borrows show up as page counts, so it would be zero, zero, zero, 421, zero, zero... ).
You don't get that in a report from a publisher, hey?

Great thoughts on the publishing world. I've never delved into it, as Steemit is the only place I've ever gone public with anything I've created. (Except a letter to the editor, which didn't get published. I should put that on here..)
I've been dabbling at the computer, well into the night for quite some time, but most everything just sits in the machine and carries on conversations with the other writings that languish in the chip-works.
(Like you, I have idea books all over the place. There isn't enough time in the future of humankind to ever get to all these notebooks. But they're sure fun to read now and then. "When did I write that?")

But Steemit has been great. An impetus to actually finish writings, and put them somewhere to be read. It is a nice feeling, to have some creativity finished and 'out'. Even if no-one actually reads it. The process is still very rewarding. Yes, some monetary gain is great, but the interaction on here is more worthwhile to me.

Another thing I love about Steemit, is that it is what I call the writing/photo ecosysytem of creativity. It allows any number of photos and writings in the same article. Which I absolutely love. Sometimes a series of photos triggers the writing idea, and sometimes the other way round. Whatever the impetus, it is SO much fun to write and photograph together in a creation.

Well, I've ambled on down the page here in all sorts of directions like a fence-less herd of heifers, but at least I had fun on a Saturday night (: Thanks for the food for thought on writing.

An impetus to actually finish writings, and put them somewhere to be read.

I've loved this about blogging for ages. Before that, it was just self indulgent rambling in journals. Now it's self-indulgent rambling, but in public! But blogging did teach me to edit, finish, and share, and to get a conversation going.

Steemit does ramp things up somewhat with the potential for earnings, and sometimes I have to remind myself that I used to do this stuff for free, for years.

I agree about the interplay between photos and text. Every time I think, "I'll just share this photo real quick..." I find myself going on for 1400 words or so, and then thinking, "too much text, needs more photos."

Is this a vicious cycle, or a virtuous one?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51