Archie's Little Golden Orb

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Archie had before him something that shivered with life, glowing with the stuff.

It might have been considered an ordinary day for Archie, standing upon a wooden stool while lowering a pawn shop gold chain into the top of a swirling orb, a mysterious little eddie that seemed to dance nervously upon the workbench before him.

His hand trembled, and he murmured into the air a jumble of faint lines, as if recalling the words of a lost play:

”Take this, as it is all I have to offer-- will you teach me how to live?”

With a sigh, Archie withdrew the chain from the orb and sat with a thump, cradling his chin with one hand, peering down into the swirl.

IMG_2177.jpg

There in the glow were the throngs of tiny beings, hurrying about in their little orb as usual.


Archie had always been mesmerized by the golden light that seemed to bathe their little world-- it was no wonder the inhabitants hardly noticed his shiny gold chain-- the heavy trinket was to them only a reflection of their own natural glow, and they perhaps saw the chain as a mere illusion if they saw it at all.

”Where does that light come from, and what makes it all spin? How is it that even your voices flow together into tiny songs that tickle the ethers, as easily as bees make honey?”

Archie had surrounded himself with darkness so that the tiny world would show, but as his day quickly unfolded, we can begin to see that Archie is alive but doesn’t know it. As the day ticks on, we can see now that Archie is as harmless as a mechanical boy, animated with just enough juice to putter around the darkened workshop where he thinks he was built, but that he is actually alive.

An intense curiosity seemed to drive Archie, as if an understanding of his own origins and purpose might be found in the vibrant sphere that played before him there in the shadowy room.


Archie had become enchanted by the tiny world, and had even come to learn some of their tiny flowing songs by ear, the faraway melodies bringing a touch of joy to his heart.

Something stirred, and all it took was a tiny song, a golden light, and one tiny spinning golden world, and now Archie focused on the gold chain again.

The tiny people of the tiny world were not interested in chains, and their very existence was golden.

Existence Itself is Golden

Some might say it was the pawn shop chain that led Archie to the light, showing him that his existence was as bright as any tiny world, and indeed Archie probably got a few bucks for the gold chain later that day, but when he returned to the workshop, the orb had vanished, and he knew what had to be done. He would try existence.

Archie decided to simply exist for a moment, and as we look into the golden orb that he has generated, as we listen to the little golden song that he hums as his sphere shimmers in response, we might offer a gold chain and gently lower it into the ball, and perhaps Archie will teach us how to live as well.


watercolor above by me, 2018- for more artwork, stories and variety, click below these birds:

IMG_2143.jpg

click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

Excellent post i don't think my comment will make a good value to you content but thanks for sharing it

You always add value to my posts, thank you for commenting. I'm happy to know that you liked it.

Our artists is a multitalanted one, so from his bag of art we enjoy the beautiful creations. Thanks for the great share, have a great day my dear friend.

Thanks @maya7, I always appreciate your support! May you have a great day too.

I am really digging your writing @therealpaul. I'm curious, do you create your art first, and then write a story around it — or is it the other way around? Or something entirely different? You don't have to answer if you don't want to reveal your process … I'm just curious. 🙂

It seems to be different every time. I rarely know how these stories will end, and it's always a surprise for me. Sometimes the stories will begin writing themselves as I draw, and other times I'll just start a story, then add the art later, like this one. It's a pretty haphazard process, if it can even be called a process!

that's the creativity everyone love to see but only few has : )

It's there in everyone, maybe just covered in dust, but it is there.

It's there in everyone, maybe just covered in dust, but it is there.

Wow that's pretty awesome. You really brought Archie to life. I can totally imagine the world that he lives in.

The hard part about drawing Archie was that I was trying to make him look like an Archie as I went along, just hoping that he looked the part when I finished.

Well I can think of two Archies. I can think of Archie from the Archie Comics who was recently brought to life in the Netflix original Riverdale. I can also think of Archie Bunker.

When I look at this kid I definitely see Archie as well. You did a great job.

I forgot about Archie Bunker, but I had to be sure not to draw that other Archie from the comics!

Great example of a true artist

Thanks @tokoya, I appreciate that.

you are obviously an exceptional person.Your creativity is so vast.
This is an authentic art.I wish you were a famous artist.
Thanks, @therealpaul for sharing us your creativity.I expect we all are inspired your creativity.
@Resteem & follow has done.

Thanks for saying that I inspire, that is what I always plan to do here.
I'm not a famous artist, but I play one here on Steemit!
I appreciate your support, thank you.

You are most welcome,sir.

i just got lost in this amazing world wow nice post this is

There is a style to this that resonates beautifully. And it is so suited to the subject matter. Archie's wondering about the Orb, the little people, the golden light, existence - all threaded together seamlessly. I truly enjoyed this piece.

Thanks for commenting, I like to try to capture these little moments like this.

I have a very deep connection with Pinocchio. This story touched me in a special way!

Awesome! I couldn't help but think of Pinocchio as I wrote this one, there was a similarity there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62405.22
ETH 2436.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62