[Books] What's In Your Library Challenge: Let's Share Knowledge

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Heeeeello Readers! How are you? I've been tagged by @riverflows to show my library. So here we go!


Hands on wooooooork!

In this post I've been tagged by my dear friend @riverflows to participate in the challenge by @wizardave, in which we are supposed to show our libraries. Amazing, thanks for the contest idea and for the tag guys!

To continue Kylie's (@riverflows) idea of tagging 3 people, I'd like to summon my friends @fjorenca, @shasta and @rossfletcher to show us their library. Come on guys xDD

I gotta say I find it astonishing that, just by looking at the books, I can not only reflect on what I've read, but also on my life itself. I've never been an avid reader, despite hearing my Dad saying when I was a kid:

Read! Read as much as you can, those who don't read tend to repeat its history! Knowledge is the only thing you'll always have.

But I was always too lazy or too busy doing other stuff, that reading ended up relegated to the last stages of boredom. I remember reading books for school eventually, but it was never by my own desire.

Now... my first experience devouring a book nonstop happened when I was around 20 years old. My first girlfriend broke up with me and I'll tell you, that struck me hard on the chest, poor me, at that time I didn't know exactly how to deal with rejection and was feeling trashed.

The solution? Reading!

I read at that time the brazilian classic  Dom Casmurro,  a romance written by Machado de Assis, published in 1889. Right after I read  Mutiny on the Bounty, a novel from 1932 by Charles Nordhoff and James Norman. From there I've started to get more appreciation for reading and forgot about my broken heart.

Enough talking about my past life, let's talk about the book collection!

The books at my house are not as organized as they should be and many of them are missing due to friends borrowing them forever. Also, most of them are my brother's, but I'll include them as well.


The Living Room Shelf


Those are all my brother's, even though some of them I've read before. Most of them are in Portuguese, there are some titles in English and one or two in German (that only my brother can understand). As you can see we also like to collect old image devices, there are two video cameras, an old tape projector and two photo cameras.

Let's do a close up so you can see better.

As you can see organization is not our thing haha

From all the books in this shelf, the one I haven't read yet, and that is a classic, is this one.

One Hundred Years of Solitude is a landmark 1967 novel by Colombian author Gabriel García Márquez that tells the multi-generational story of the Buendía family, whose patriarch, José Arcadio Buendía, founds the town of Macondo, a fictitious town in the country of Colombia.

It's a classic of latin american literature and It's a shame I haven't read it.

The other one in there that I want to read is the Fight Club, but let's not talk about the fight club, all right?

Worth mentioning are the three old guys piled here. They were my grandma's books and are pretty cool and useful; One of them talk about all the medicinal plants in Brazil - Where to find & what they do -, the other is about diseases - Symptoms & how to treat -, and the last one is about important world history facts.

I have to remember to 'steal' the one about medicinal plants when I finally decide to go around the wold hihihi.


My Bedroom Shelf


Now... this is my own mess, the place where most of my crazy stories are brought to you and where I throw all kinds of stuff.

As you'll notice my taste for books is pretty different than my brother's, even though I read some of the living room books sometimes.

Biography and travel everywhere!

Game of Thrones, the one, the legend! The only frustrating thing in the Game of Thrones series is that Martin does not want to release the next book. Is it part of the plot to kill all the readers of anxiety? Come on, Martin. Book 6 please!

Besides being crazy about travel, I'm also grazy about old rock and blues. In my library you'll find the history of Rock, the biography of Mr. Eric Clapton and Keith Richards and a couple DVD's and Vinyls of the good ol'd Rock'n'Roll

Here from left to right there's a box of The Beatles DVDs, a navigation book and more history of Rock (Led Zeppelin, The Beatles and Rolling Stones).

The 4 books after that are old university books; Calculus from the engineering course and Math and Chemistry from the school times (you never know when you'll need them to produce explosives or cook meth hahahahah)

The one entitled 1942 is a pretty good book on the participation of Brazil in World War II. Did you know that Brazil has been in that war too?

The travel books, my favourites! In my shelf there are 3 of Amyr Klink's books, you can check a bit about that in my dedicated post HERE. The other two I recomend for those who like a good travel story are: Expedition Kon Tiki and Into The Wild.

To finish it all there is this box with a lot of magazines, most of them were distributed by my university and talk about inovation and technology inside the campus. I honestly don't know why I keep them hahaha, maybe because it looks cool.


I think this is it. Some books that are not here and I'd like to read are the Sailing Around the World by Joshua Slocum and Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage.

Let's see if these two convince me to finally move to a sailboat.

Hope you've enjoyed the ride.

~Lova ya all, Arthur


Did you like going through my book collection? If yes, consider your upvote for a hot coffee and most importantly leave a comment, I love meeting new people.



I'm Arthur. I blog about Brazil, Adventure Stories, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tunned for more info and tips.

YOU MAY ALSO WANT TO READ:

[Blog #1] Adventure with Dad | Exploring day, Guards and Work

[Blog #2] Small Venture | Bike training, Lake & Funny Pic

[Blog #3] Small venture | Bicycle ride, Old bridge & Mud

[Blog #4] Bike Training | Beautiful day, 32 km ride & Strava

[Books] My Favourite Writer | Amyr Klink | Sailor & Adventurer
Sort:  

Hey Arther thanks for introducing us to your lovely bookshelfs and the books you keep that inspire you.
Your grandmothers books look like keys to some valuable knowledge and well worth cherishing.

While reading your post a thought came into my head that you would love to read a book called 'call of the wild' by Jack London i wont spoil it for you if you have not read it, all i say is its a pretty amazing read!, another book i would recommend to read after reading that You like myself admire the feats and endurance that poor Mr Shakleton went through.
The other side of the story is told so well and its called 'the mutany on the bounty' by John Boyne. The hairs on my arms were just shivering while i was just writing these words to you then! 😊
These are two fantastic books i know you will put them down after reading and say.... Wow!!

I will upvote this post for you a bit later when my power returns to 100% too bro and i wish you great day and good luck in both contests 😊

Thank you so much for the comment @happysmileyman

Yeaaaaah I'll check "Call of the wild", I've never heard of that one!
As for Shakleton, I went to the library this week to buy it, but apparently they are not available anymore, I'll have to try to find a used one.
And maaaaaan "The mutany on the bounty", I read this one some years ago, it was one of the first books that I read non stop, it really catches us. Now I want to read it again.

A great week for you too, a week full of reading!

Thanks for sharing @mrprofessor. Nice collection you have there.

I started Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage recently and it is iiinnnntttteeennnssse. It is sooo good. You will definitely enjoy it when you get around to reading it.

My gf had to read it for a leadership class she took in her masters program this semester and she recommended it to me. I can see why someone would have to read it in leadership class. That Shackleton really had some skills.

Keep up the good work, man.

I don't know if it will exactly encourage you to buy a sailboat though, hahaha.

Shhhhhhh don't tell me AAHAHAH. I'll buy it today!

The only thing I know about Shackleton is that he was the most successful sailor, which never finished a mission hahah

Amyr Klink, my favourite brazilian writer and sailor was heavily influenced by Shackleton, Amundsen, Joshua Slocum. If you like sailing adventure you should check these out.

Thanks for the comment my friend.

Entry #7 for the contest
Good luck!

  • Your Grandma's books are way cool!
    • I've always wondered who came up with the idea that music I grew up with is now classic rock?!?!?
      I'm 58 haha and like all those you mention!
      Probably ZZ Top is my #1 all time favorite band...
      • I really like your cool old electronics, too.
  • Thanks for sharing and passing it forward!

Thank you for the contest @wizardave, it's really fun!

That old Grandma book is quite useful, there's always a plant to solve minor problems, especially stomach, it comes in handy.

You know, I don't understand the term Classic rock either... for me those are Rock period.
And Billy Gibbons, the man, the legend! He looks soo cool. Doesn't he?

You're welcome. It IS fun @mrprofessor!

  • Yes, very cool beards!
    • I worked with a guy whose Mom lived in Texas right down the road from I'm assuming Billy. When Mike visited his mom, he would occasionally see the semis and buses go past her house to their ranch. He ran into some of them a few times in town.
      • I had all their cassettes and vinyl records. Now I have most of their CDs and all of their mp3s and videos on my hard drive. I saw them at a small fair in Florida around 1980.
        Very fun concert!
    • They have some of the coolest videos is probably why I like them so much...

OH my goodness, where to begin! Thanks for sharing. I love the way you introduce your books and what a romantic you are, I can imagine you crying into the pages of these books haha!!

100 Years of Solitude is one of my absolute all time favourite books ever. I loved it so much - we studied it at uni. Also, your brother has Never Let me Go and Everything is Illuminated - two great books that made me totally bawl my eyes out. They are three of my faves!!!

Oh Martin - responsible for me wasting a whole summer reading and watching everyone die. But all men must die, yes?

Led Zeppelin and the Stones I love. I was brought up on the Stones and Dad has every single one on vinyl. A bit of Orwell and Bukowski too. And I love Shackleton's story, thought I heard he took a lot of unneccessary risks. Those adventure stories are awesome. One of my favourites is 'Batavia's Graveyard' - that's a totally nuts story, if you ever come across it, by Mike Dash.

Thanks heaps for sharing - it's so good to learn more about you through books, and I love love love the way you write about them!

Love your comment Kylie,

Thanks for taking the time to carefully inspect my shelf to notice all the books and to compose such a beautiful comment.
When I heard that Steemit has a unique way to connect people I didn't believe it, I thought... "nah just another social media". I've never been so wrong in my life hahahaha
It is thrilling to meet people with the same ideas all over the world!

I can imagine you crying into the pages of these books haha!!
Duuuude that phase was tough! But I'm glad I had to pass through that, it's the best way to learn, right? Now I see it as a positive thing, I've learned a lot since then.
Oh Martin - responsible for me wasting a whole summer reading and watching everyone die. But all men must die, yes?
I just hope Mr. Martin doesn't die hahahahahha I'm still waiting for book 6.
Those adventure stories are awesome. One of my favourites is 'Batavia's Graveyard' - that's a totally nuts story, if you ever come across it, by Mike Dash.

Wow, wow, wow! I quickly checked on google, sounds amazing.

This post was upvoted by the Steemit Book Project! The project exists to help make books more available to the world and to promote book-related content on Steemit.

You can read more about the project here. If you write book related posts, head over to our Discord server (https://discord.gg/h93nHMu) and pop your book post links in the #curation-requests channel.

Hope you have a wonderful and bookfull day!

Thank you for passing by @steemitbooks

I quickly read your project, sounds amazing! I'll read it more carefully once I get home.

We do need to spread knowledge, it's the only way we'll overcome all the ignorance and intolerance in the world.

An incredible day for you too my friend!

Love your grandma's books!! Was she into medicinal plants or did she buy it just for you?
I have 100 years of solitude on my shelf too, but it's in Albanian! One of my favorites from high school, I dragged it all the way from Albania when I was younger. My style and life experience has changed so much that I would be curious how I would find it if I reread it now. Has that happened to you before or perhaps you haven't been reading for so long to experience that yet?

Thank you for tagging me, I look forward to writing about this!

Heeeyho Flo, thanks for participating and taking your time to comment!

Love your grandma's books!! Was she into medicinal plants or did she buy it just for you?
It was my grandma's or grandpa's book, I'm not sure. On the cover it says 1960!

When my grandma passed away my brother and I kept some books. Most of them are part of some sort of series, like an encyclopedia. This one in particular come in handy, it has almost, if not all, the medicinal plants in Brazil.

Has that happened to you before or perhaps you haven't been reading for so long to experience that yet?
To be honest I was quite lazy to read when I was younger; always busy riding my bike somewhere, or getting lost at the farm hhahaahah

I'd say I haven't been reading for so long. It was necessary a gigantic kick in the butt by my ex 10 years ago for me to start reading, and you know... it was the best thing to happen 'cause I ended up stronger than ever and discovering/living fantastic stories ever since.
Sometimes we just need a little kick to function hahahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70771.68
ETH 3814.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46