[Books] My Favourite Writer | Amyr Klink | Sailor & Adventurer

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello there readers! I'd like to share today about what I like to read and recommend this amazing writer, Amyr Klink.


Photo by César Viteri on Unsplash


I've noticed lately that my story posts are getting much more attention than my photo posts, and I like this feedback a lot. Either my photos are bad or the public here on steemit is composed of people who enjoy more reading than just pictures, wich is great.

From this understanding I thought I could talk about books and other travel stories, not only mine. Who here doesn't like some good reading? I do!

I love adventure and travel books, we are always in some way or another influenced by what we read; some people find encouragment to finally go and fight their fears, others like to feel as part of the story, others are protagonists. The important thing here is that we all share the same hobby, reading.

One of the writers that has inspired me a lot in many ways is called Amyr Klink. He's is a brazilian explorer and sailor well known for his maritime expeditions and boat constructions.

His first well known achievement happened between July 12th and September 19th, 1984, when, in 100 days, traveled alone on a rowing boat across the Atlantic Ocean. The 7.000 kilometers route from Luderitz (África) to Salvador (Brazil) yielded the writing of the book  Cem Dias entre Céu e Mar (100 Days Between Sea and Sky).

In 1989 he traveled towards Antártica in a sailboat especifically constructed to that expedition, the Paratii. In that expedition he wanted to stay in Antartica's region for one year, being stuck in the ice for seven months at the Dorian Bay. The funny thing is that his boat had an autonomy for 3 years, so after one year in Antartica he's decided to spend more time traveling and from there he went all the way to the North Pole, returning to his starting point (Paraty - Brazil) afterward. This story is written in the book  Paratii entre Dois Pólos (Between Two Poles)

From there, he's started to plan a circum-navigation on board the Paratii sailboat . This trip happened between 1998/99 and aimed going around the Earth through its shorter, faster and most dangerous route. To fulfill the challenge, Paratii left the South Georgia island, and sailed continually in a straight line until it hit that point again. This is beautifully written on the book  Mar Sem Fim (Endless Sea).

Well.. I'll not write every single one of his feats here, but if you are a reader seeking for adventure books, I definitely recommend anything written by Amyr Klink. From rowing in the hot waters of the Atlantic to the cold waters of Antartica, you'll feel as part of the journey.

All I can say is that when I've read the first of his books a few years back, he influenced me to do what I do now.

I'd like to finish this post with one of his quotes, and the one I always have in my mind.

 "A man needs to travel. By his own means, not by stories, images, books or TV. By his own, with his eyes and feet, to understand what he is. To some day plant his own trees and give them some value. To know the cold to enjoy the heat. To feel the distance and lack of shelter to be well under his own ceiling. A man needs to travel to places he doesn't know to break this arrogance that makes us see the world as we imagine it, and not simply as it is or may be. That makes us teachers and doctors of what we have never seen, when we should just be learners, and simply go see it." - Amyr Klink

Don't forget to have fun!

Love ya All ~ Arthur


Would you like to share your favourite adventure writers? Just comment down below, I'd love to know.

If you liked this post and my reading sugestion, please, consider an upvote, that helps me a lot.



I'm Arthur. I blog about Brazil, Adventure Stories, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tunned for more info and tips.

YOU MAY ALSO WANT TO READ:

Live Outdoors: 10 REASONS TO TRY STAND UP PADDLE

Live Outdoors: 3 ESSENTIAL ITEMS TO GO CAMPING

Live Outdoors: HOW TO CHOOSE A TENT FOR CAMPING

Live Outdoors: 3 TIPS TO BUY A SLEEPING BAG

TRAVEL: 5 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD HITCHHIKE

TRAVEL: PROS AND CONS OF BICYCLE TOURING

TRAVEL: HEALTHY NUTRITION ON THE ROAD | BACKPACKERS - BIKE TOURING - WILDERNESS

[PART 1] Travel Story: Coast of Uruguay by Bicycle | Planning

Travel Story: Exploring an Abandoned Mine | The Guard

Travel Story: Stuck in the middle of Patagonia with Sushi

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45