[Blog #3] Small venture | Bicycle ride, Old bridge & Mud

in #travel6 years ago

Hooray Readers! How are you? Another blog showcasing a small bike adventure near my city, 40 km and loads of mud. Enjoy!


Since I bought my bike I just can't stay home, my legs start tickiling and I jump out of bed, open the window and that it is; Beautiful sun outside, a fresh breeze and the empty streets on a Sunday morning. Why haven't I bought a bike before, I think...

This blog is delayed since I planned to post it yesterday after the journey, but man! I'll tel you... I was so tired when I came back home that I just replied all the amazing comments I've got, took a well deserved shower, ate a gigantic plate of spaghetti (cycling turns you into a hungry Lion, true!) and logged off from life.



It all began last week, I had discovered about a 'hidden place' near my city, hidden because not everyone is aware of it and the ones who know don't go there, it is a centenary wooden bridge called Galateia, deactivated since 2009.

I'm not going through all the history of my city, Pelotas, because that is widely available and better written on the internet but I'd like to sum it up so you can understand the terms used and how that little bridge represents part of our history.

So, one of the most important economic activities in Pelotas back in the 19th century were the farms, where amongst all the goods, they produced salt-cured meat called 'Charque', hence the industry name 'Carqueadas'. The 'Charqueadas' were located on the banks of the Pelotas stream (the one I've visited), Santa Barbara, Moreira and São Gonçalo.  The cattle, raw material, came from all the regions of Rio Grande do Sul (my state), was the result of the multiplication of breeds brought by the Spaniards to the Banda Oriental in the early 17th century. The cattle were introduced in Pelotas, entering through Passo do Fragata and sold in Tablada, a large site of auctioneers in the Três Vendas region (this places are now neighborhoods, near the bridge I've visited).

It may be confusing reading  this history, but it all sums to the history of that simple old wooden bridge. The Galateia bridge, over the Pelotas stream, was deactivated in 2009 on a strong flood. And now became a visiting site only for the strongest. You'll see why.

Over it has passed the cattle that used to go to the Charqueadas region, below it boats loaded with salt-cured meat have passed, leaving the charqueadas to travel to Brazil's northeast. They were the main economic source in Pelotas during the Empire of Brazil.

Now the riparian forest is reclaiming its space and the little wooden bridge is slowly becoming a hidden place, mostly frequented by crazy people like me or fisherman who seek for some peace.

My journey then, consisted of a 20 km bike tour (one-way) over a gravel road, quite easy and peaceful ride passing by some of the famous Charqueadas and rice plantations. Then it suddenly ended, on the distance I could see the riparian forest.

- I may be near - I thought.

The road turned into a trail with some mud holes, I downshifted my bike and faced it with full determination. Sometimes I was beautifully sliding all over, putting my feet on the groud meant loosing my shoes. The trail getting more dense, but I've kept on going. Just after one kilometer of mud I was finally at the best spot ever, shadow, nice breeze, the stream and the bridge.


Rest of the Galateia bridge


- Ok cool... Now I need to go back through the trail. - I thought

My dad was coming by car (I'm trying to convince him to buy a bicycle) with all the food to spend the day and I had to inform him that it was not possible to reach the bridge by car. And there I went, sliding like crazy on that mud again... poor bicycle.

Since I was not enough dirt. Have you imagined? I went back though the trail AGAIN, now with my dad. Bloody mud.


The old bridge is now just a pile of wood

Result: Mud everywhere!

Round-trip map by bicycle


But I just can't complain, we've spent one very good day enjoying a barbecue below some nice shadows.

Back home I gave my bike a nice bath and it's ready for the next adventure.

Have you ever discovered any cool places near your home town? It's incredible, the more I travel around the world, the more I end up loving what I've got here.

Hope you've enjoyed reading this small venture, don't forget to comment! I love talking to you all.



I'm Arthur. I blog about Brazil, Adventure Stories, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tunned for more info and tips.

YOU MAY ALSO WANT TO READ:

Live Outdoors: 10 REASONS TO TRY STAND UP PADDLE

Live Outdoors: 3 ESSENTIAL ITEMS TO GO CAMPING

Live Outdoors: HOW TO CHOOSE A TENT FOR CAMPING

Live Outdoors: 3 TIPS TO BUY A SLEEPING BAG

TRAVEL: 5 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD HITCHHIKE

TRAVEL: PROS AND CONS OF BICYCLE TOURING

TRAVEL: HEALTHY NUTRITION ON THE ROAD | BACKPACKERS - BIKE TOURING - WILDERNESS

[PART 1] Travel Story: Coast of Uruguay by Bicycle | Planning

Travel Story: Exploring an Abandoned Mine | The Guard

Travel Story: Stuck in the middle of Patagonia with Sushi

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Super! Thank you.

Looks lovely. That bridge could do with some repairs though he he he x

It indeed needs some small repairs haha, but I doubt the city council cares =s and now with the riparian forest growing back around it only the 'strongest' go there.

Looks like a lovely spot...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80