[Blog #4] Bike Training | Beautiful day, 32 km ride & Strava

in #cycling6 years ago

Hooray Readers! How are you? Another blog showcasing a day in a bike, 32 km and a beautiful day. Enjoy!



Oh man! How many times do I need to question myself on why did I take so long to buy a bike again...

My first bicycle was stolen in 2008, I used to ride it every single day until the day I bought a car. After it was stolen I've moved to a new city and many circunstances in life pulled me away from cycling again.

It wasn't until my friend and I decided to travel Uruguay by bike that my enthusiasm came back and I do everything on a bike now, no need for a car anymore.

You can check that trip on steemit: [PART 1] Travel Story: Coast of Uruguay by Bicycle | Planning

To keep the momentum from that 400 km trip I try to train 3-4 times a week, plus I ride the bike every single day to go to work and to do everyday duties. It's incredible to notice what our body is capable of, I can feel my legs getting stronger and my breath getting better, I even enjoy my city much more now. Those are the pros of riding a bicycle; going everywhere you want, exploring new places everyday.

Next step: Alaska by bicycle? Who knows!

So, yesterday I wanted to post one of this trainings, but I had so much work to do at school that steemit ended up forgotten. Better late than never, right?

I've also discovered this amazing app called Strava, where you can record your tour and save all the informations, you can follow people you like (my profile) and many other features. It's has some sort of competitive vibe - that I don't like that much - but you can simply ignore that and use the info to keep a record of what you are doing.

Remember: The secret for long bicycle trips is consistency. If you can keep yourself motivated and your body well fed, I can guarantee you will increase your travel distances feeling less pain. Today will be better than yesterday, and tomorrow will be better than today.

Yesterday's Training


Those are some basic information I've printed from Strava (Distance, Time in movement, Elevation, Avg. Speed and Máx Speed), there are much more detailed info that I need to learn how to handle. Isn't it cool?

If I keep this good pace my next big trip, in July, will be easy peaky!


Some photos

Pelotas stream, as always beautiful

This strange looking fella

The army was giving a presentation at the beach

Motivation was so high after the ride, that I made this bread


This is it for this blog my dear fellas, I just wanted to share a simple day but super positive one! How easier it is to work after having such a beautiful morning,

That just comes to prove that you don't need incredibly humongous expectations, just enjoy every day the way it is.

I'm also planning to purchase an action camera, to record how it is to ride a bike in my city, hope I can gather the money for that=s

~ Love ya all, Arthur.

Hope you've enjoyed reading this small venture, don't forget to comment! I love talking to you all.



I'm Arthur. I blog about Brazil, Adventure Stories, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tunned for more info and tips.

YOU MAY ALSO WANT TO READ:

Live Outdoors: 10 REASONS TO TRY STAND UP PADDLE

Live Outdoors: 3 ESSENTIAL ITEMS TO GO CAMPING

Live Outdoors: HOW TO CHOOSE A TENT FOR CAMPING

Live Outdoors: 3 TIPS TO BUY A SLEEPING BAG

TRAVEL: 5 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD HITCHHIKE

TRAVEL: PROS AND CONS OF BICYCLE TOURING

TRAVEL: HEALTHY NUTRITION ON THE ROAD | BACKPACKERS - BIKE TOURING - WILDERNESS

[PART 1] Travel Story: Coast of Uruguay by Bicycle | Planning

Travel Story: Exploring an Abandoned Mine | The Guard

Travel Story: Stuck in the middle of Patagonia with Sushi

[Blog #1] Adventure with Dad | Exploring day, Guards and Work

[Blog #2] Small Venture | Bike training, Lake & Funny Pic

[Blog #3] Small venture | Bicycle ride, Old bridge & Mud

Sort:  

Very nice post and great photography! I used to travel to Brazil frequently. Beautiful place, beautiful people!
Congrats on the daily spotlight

Thank you @mhm-philippines! I'm glad you like it.

That's so cool, what parts of Brazil have you visited?

Mostly Sao Paolo and a place called Extrema. One 4 Day road trip with a fellow who spoke no English and I speak no Portuguese, we traveled 800 km in the country. Not sure where all we were.

Ooh. Be very careful with strava. It is addictive as hell. Before you know it you will be racing down roads to better your own time or to beat the time of some random stranger who happens to train on the the same paths as you. It sucks you in like an addictive video game. The difference is, you need to use your body to move up the leaderboard!

Cheers and have fun!

Thanks for the comment @twowheeledmonkey!

hahaah that's true, it is what I'm trying to avoid since I'm more focused on traveling by bike and not on competition. But I gotta say it adds some adrenaline to the training, to know that I could do better.

Another thing that is addictive as hell are the bike upgrades! I know my bike is more than perfect for what I need, but maaaaan... all those parts out there.

Yes. This happens especially when you join a cycling club. You see your mates buying new shiny stuff for their bikes and sooner rather than later, you jump in the fray.

And cycling might cost no money when you ride. But become a cyclist and it is one expensive hobby!

Absolutely, I see a loooot of vanity in cycling. Guys with super expensive equipment to ride on the streets, come on.

I have a strict rule for myself: Invest in safety first and only upgrade when something breaks.

That's amazing!! Thank you so much for helping me, you have no idea the gigantic surprise it was when I woke up and saw your support.

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of 21 April 2018!

Your bread looks great... whats in it?

Thaaaank you Kylie
It is pepperoni sausage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65513.09
ETH 3404.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16